English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 June 2017, 22:37   #21
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,602
You are supposed to figure this out.



This is an old school game, the purpose of it is just to play for score. (Maybe it will picked for the EAB/Lemon Superleague someday? )

The game goes on up until you lose all lives. The stage counter will stop counting after 99 if I remember correctly, but the game keeps going on. It gets harder as you advance.

The Green Medals gives you 100 points when you get them. When you pick one, its value goes up by 10, the next one will give you 110 points, then 120, 130 and so on. If you miss one, its value is halved (It never goes below 100 though). In the level "between levels" (It's not exactly a bonus stage because you can die on it on level 8 and above) its value never changes.. it doesn't go up when you pick one but its also not halved when you miss one (since it's impossible to get all of them).

The yellow UFOs on top of screen also gives you points and its value goes up if you hit them in sequence, without missing one (There's a limit of UFOs that will show up at each level)

The score system is basically this. My personal high-score is around 440k

New enemies will appear as you advance.. there's an enemy that shoot aimed bullets as you instead of just shooting stratight down, and then there's another enemy that shoots a "homing" missile at you. Also there are the missiles that appear at the bottom of the screen going from one side to the other from level 9 onwards.

Last edited by Shatterhand; 27 June 2017 at 00:18.
Shatterhand is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 June 2017, 00:16   #22
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Also, as Tomislav mentioned, the game will not work from Workbench. Tried 1.3 / 2.0 / 3.1...
Damian also tested by the Workbench (To run the game must be executed by project icon "script+IconX"), Quasarius Works well even from workbench with WB 1.3 and WB 2.x, with WB 3.x there are still problems, i'm testing.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 27 June 2017, 00:58   #23
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
(To run the game must be executed by project icon "script+IconX")
Oh I realised that I could do it this way but didn't won't to be messing around with Shatterhand's original files...

...plus, why would you want to launch this from Workbench anyway when there's a perfectly working / self-booting disk no matter what version of KS your system has?
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 June 2017, 01:46   #24
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,057
Yes Damiano, i just did it for fun

It also works on workbench 3.x (with this system you have to assign DF0:Fonts)

WB 1.3 and 2.x just copy the Fonts into the system Fonts folder.

Quasarius Start Amiga WB 1x 2x 3x
[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 27 June 2017, 02:10   #25
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Yes Damiano, i just did it for fun

It also works on workbench 3.x (with this system you have to assign DF0:Fonts)

WB 1.3 and 2.x just copy the Fonts into the system Fonts folder.

Quasarius Start Amiga WB 1x 2x 3x
[ Show youtube player ]
On the 2nd part of your video the game also got the problem with wrong colors. What config were you running them? It seems to be a problem with Winuae, the other guy who had this problem also was running the game with an AGA setup on Winuae...
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 27 June 2017, 03:17   #26
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,602
Updated the file on my server, now the game works with KS 1.3 and OCS chipset

Thank you DamienD
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 27 June 2017, 10:04   #27
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatterhand View Post
On the 2nd part of your video the game also got the problem with wrong colors. What config were you running them? It seems to be a problem with Winuae, the other guy who had this problem also was running the game with an AGA setup on Winuae...
The problem occurs with all the configurations AGA but it should be tested on a real A1200 for confirmation.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 27 June 2017, 12:16   #28
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,021
Making it runnable from Workbench should be no more complicated than beginning the program with
Code:
WBStartup
idrougge is offline  
Old 27 June 2017, 12:31   #29
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,057
I think it is more convenient to run it from hardisk, maybe from a compilation.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 27 June 2017, 13:58   #30
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,057
Confirm the problem "Different color" it is caused by "ChipSet AGA", Even on an Amiga 1200 Real the boat has a different color (blue), WinUAE is perfectly equal to Amiga Real.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 27 June 2017 at 14:04.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 27 June 2017, 15:07   #31
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,602
Great.... I have no AGA system and I'd never think The game would have trouble running on AGA.... I'll try to figure out this, at least I can test it on winuae.
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 27 June 2017, 15:46   #32
PortuguesePilot
The Son of Luso
PortuguesePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Setúbal, Portugal
Posts: 342
Great little game! Thanks for pouring it out, Shatterhand. And for free, which is tremendously commendable in itself, in accordance with all the cardinal Socratic virtues.

I'm not sure if the colour issue is an emulation bug or something else (I'm having trouble with my Gotek'd A1200 at the moment: can't read ADFs), but if it's an emulation bug, you may have - inadvertently - come up with a way of detecting a bug on WinUAE's AGA display emulation.
PortuguesePilot is offline  
Old 27 June 2017, 18:13   #33
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,275
It's not an emulation bug PP.

AMIGASYSTEM has tested on a real A1200 and the same thing occurs, read 2 posts up from yours...
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 June 2017, 19:07   #34
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,980
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
AMIGASYSTEM has tested on a real A1200 and the same thing occurs, read 2 posts up from yours...
When Amigasystem says "real" he usually means an emulator config called "Real"
Akira is online now  
Old 27 June 2017, 19:24   #35
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
When Amigasystem says "real" he usually means an emulator config called "Real"
No, Real (Reale Italian) means TRUE, i did test the game by some Italian forum users.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 28 June 2017, 00:26   #36
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,275
@Shatterhand; I've added your game into my WinUAE collection

I did however, rename the .ADF to be more TOSEC appropriate: Quasarius (2017)(Raliza Software)(PD)[Blitz BASIC].adf

Finally, I made a donation via your website

...again; nice work and look forward to possibly more games in future
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 June 2017, 01:41   #37
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
@Shatterhand; I've added your game into my WinUAE collection

I did however, rename the .ADF to be more TOSEC appropriate: Quasarius (2017)(Raliza Software)(PD)[Blitz BASIC].adf

Finally, I made a donation via your website

...again; nice work and look forward to possibly more games in future
Damn mate... damn.. I have no words to express how grateful I am. Thank you a lot.

Since I got back to the Amiga scene the community showed nothing but greatness. It's really a great community.

And yeah, there will be more games in future for sure I am already cooking something else right now But now I must figure out this problem with colors in AGA machines, so I get back to work on this new game
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 28 June 2017, 02:57   #38
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,533
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatterhand View Post
Damn mate... damn.. I have no words to express how grateful I am. Thank you a lot.

Since I got back to the Amiga scene the community showed nothing but greatness. It's really a great community.

And yeah, there will be more games in future for sure I am already cooking something else right now But now I must figure out this problem with colors in AGA machines, so I get back to work on this new game
Can you include ASM code in Blitz?
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 28 June 2017, 03:25   #39
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 43
Posts: 891
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Can you include ASM code in Blitz?
Blitz supports inline Assembly.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 28 June 2017, 04:55   #40
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Can you include ASM code in Blitz?
Never did it because I don't know a damn about 68k asm but it does support it.
Shatterhand is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3d Construction Kit2 (and other game maker software) stuff fishyfish Retrogaming General Discussion 6 17 October 2014 19:50
SWAP; Massive Amiga game collection and many programms / tools / software UrokoSakanabito Swapshop 11 18 September 2012 23:07
Expose software rare game whitebird request.Old Rare Games 9 02 March 2008 16:10
Software Management Game EternalAmiga request.Old Rare Games 3 28 September 2004 00:05
Found -> Software Manager (Was: Kaiko's software manager game) Kodoichi Looking for a game name ? 1 25 January 2002 11:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29744 seconds with 12 queries