English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 June 2017, 06:33   #1
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,602
Quasarius - New amiga game by Raliza Software

It's here:
https://ralizasoftware.neocities.org/amiga.html

I actually begun making this game in December 2016 and finished it January 2017, it was like 2-3 weeks of development time (Including learning a shitload of new stuff, a lot of people here helped me, they are all thanked on the credits screen in the game )

But I had lots of personal issues coupled with a really shitty job the last few months that stopped me from being able to just creating a distributable file and finally release the game.

I unfortunately couldn't make work on 1.3 machines... it seems to be a problem with Blitz Basic 2. If anyone have any idea of what to, I'll be glad to release 1.1 version

Also, the game may have bugs, I remember I had messed with the source code accidentaly merging 2 different version of it, bringing old bugs back. I believe I had killed all of them, but if anyone finds anything please tell me and I'll add its correction to the 1.1 version

I am *very* excited to release an Amiga game for the public. This is like a childhood dream becoming true, even if it's a very simple game.

I want to keep doing Amiga games in the near future... and since I am out of the shitty job I mentioned above , I think I'll have some free time to dedicate to this again


Last edited by Shatterhand; 26 June 2017 at 07:36.
Shatterhand is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 June 2017, 08:21   #2
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,461
I have added an announcement to Lemon Amiga homepage news.
Predseda is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 08:35   #3
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 923
Not bad. The graphics could be improved a lot.
nobody is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 14:34   #4
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 34
Posts: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatterhand View Post
I unfortunately couldn't make work on 1.3 machines... it seems to be a problem with Blitz Basic 2. If anyone have any idea of what to, I'll be glad to release 1.1 version
Try removing deftype.b
Cobe is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 14:51   #5
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,481
Featured
http://www.indieretronews.com/2017/0...cade-like.html
Neil79 is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 15:03   #6
Tomislav
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Zagreb / Croatia
Posts: 78
It works on 1.3 machines. But on your diks:
- Add Ram-Handler that is in L directory from Workbench 1.3 (WB1.3) disk that your disk don't say "Can't find ram:".
- Replace diskfont.library from Libs directory from WB1.3 disk, otherwise it shows Guru Meditation 0B03800C.00000000 with provided library.

Can't run it from icon from Workbench icon with original WB1.3 floppy disk. Says "Software error - task held" and Guru Meditation 87000004.265F48F1. Can't run with original WB1.3 floppy disk from command line.

With my custom 1.3 configuration I can run it from command line from hard disk, but not from Workbench icon.

Last edited by Tomislav; 01 August 2017 at 19:00.
Tomislav is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 17:14   #7
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,653
[ Show youtube player ]
s2325 is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 17:45   #8
aszu
Registered User

aszu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Leeds
Posts: 94
i drew some ships some time ago:






maybe we could use them? if have some more gfx, if you are interested
aszu is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 18:30   #9
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
[ Show youtube player ]
What configuration are you running? Graphics have completely wrong colors in this video...
EDIT: well not "completely".. sprites , Raliza Software logo and Quasarius name on the title-screen have wrong colors. But now I remember at some point the title had this yellow color and I changed it to the current red..... is anyone else playing the game with the colors shown on this video? This is really curious...


Aszu, I am grateful for your offer, but this little game in particular I don't want to mess with anything else anymore other than kill bugs I don't like the idea of keeping working in a game (or any piece of software) indefinitely.. I had a goal, I achieved the goal and I am happy with it

IN THE OTHER HAND, I do want at some point to make a proper vertical scrolling shooter on Amiga, using the experience I achieved finishing Quasarius... then I maybe could use some help with graphics

Also, the main ship is a 4 color HW sprite in Quasarius, your ship is too wide and has too many colors for me to use

I'll also check Tomislav tips to try to make it work with 1.3 rom.
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 18:35   #10
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,602
That's how the game is supposed to look (This video wasn't done by me, so other people are having correct graphics)

[ Show youtube player ]
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 19:27   #11
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,653
It's not my channel, my have name same as on EAB.
s2325 is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 19:29   #12
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
It's not my channel, my have name same as on EAB.
I also asked about in on the youtube video itself.
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 20:24   #13
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,981
Thanks to Shatterhand for letting me make the music for this fun little game!
Had to try my hand at making very tiny module files which I never really did before. Whole music is less than 32KB.
Dunno if after conversion to MED the music is larger, though.

Let me know if you need a hand with that again!
Akira is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 20:39   #14
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Thanks to Shatterhand for letting me make the music for this fun little game!
Had to try my hand at making very tiny module files which I never really did before. Whole music is less than 32KB.
Dunno if after conversion to MED the music is larger, though.

Let me know if you need a hand with that again!
My pleasure mate, I am the one who should be thanking you for your help
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 20:47   #15
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,276
Heya Shatterhand,

Nice work and well done!!!

Attached is a new disk for you that runs on KS 1.3. It's as Tomislav said, you needed to use some files from WB 1.3.

Also, as Tomislav mentioned, the game will not work from Workbench. Tried 1.3 / 2.0 / 3.1...

Always get "Program Failed (Error #87000004)". Looked on EAB and there's similar stuff going on in this thread: Please help

As Thorham mentioned in the above thread:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorham View Post
Do you mean it shows a requester with the error message and the options 'suspend' and 'reboot' ? If so, then there is probably a flaw in your code. You could attach the source code to your next reply, so we can take a look at it, as it's pretty much impossible to tell what's wrong without looking at your code.
...followed by:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorham View Post
Before looking at any of your code, I tried the hello world program, and guess what, I got the same error. After taking a look at the code, I came to the conclusion it should be run from the shell. When I tried that, it worked just fine. Under amiga os, only programs which take the workbench in account should be run from the workbench, otherwise you have to use the shell. I've tried with one of my own programs, and it does exactly the same.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Quasarius (2017)(Raliza Software).zip (101.3 KB, 21 views)
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 22:14   #16
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatterhand View Post
I unfortunately couldn't make work on 1.3 machines... it seems to be a problem with Blitz Basic 2. If anyone have any idea of what to, I'll be glad to release 1.1 version
Ciao Shatterhand, made some tests (something changed) and the game has also started with Kick 1.3, i did not thoroughly test the game

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 22:19   #17
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,061
Sorry Damian i did not read your post well
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 22:21   #18
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,602
Thank you guys, I knew it should be something simple to solve. I'll update the version on my site soon, thank you a lot !
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 22:27   #19
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,061
I have replaced the diskfont.library compatible 1.3, i have deleted assign Fonts because there already exists fonts system directories, also deleted the assign a RAM it does not seem to serve the KS 1.3, but I can be wrongi.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 22:28   #20
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,276
A few questions / observations if I may:

a) How many stages are there?
b) What's the purpose of collecting the green circle objects?
c) Noticed when collecting the green circle objects that the count will go up from :100 but then sometimes drop back down to :100 for no apparent reason.
d) Collecting the green circle objects on the bonus stage (I guess) does nothing. The count doesn't go up ever.
DamienD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3d Construction Kit2 (and other game maker software) stuff fishyfish Retrogaming General Discussion 6 17 October 2014 19:50
SWAP; Massive Amiga game collection and many programms / tools / software UrokoSakanabito Swapshop 11 18 September 2012 23:07
Expose software rare game whitebird request.Old Rare Games 9 02 March 2008 16:10
Software Management Game EternalAmiga request.Old Rare Games 3 28 September 2004 00:05
Found -> Software Manager (Was: Kaiko's software manager game) Kodoichi Looking for a game name ? 1 25 January 2002 11:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.34309 seconds with 12 queries