English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 July 2017, 16:55   #161
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by ex68k View Post
We should probably make a thread specific to the MisTer ...
No reason to do that, there is a MiSTer thread at atari-forum, and he is doing his stuff very much like Apollo Core is doing their stuff. You want want to license Apollo Core for the DE10-nano, then go ahead
kolla is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 July 2017, 16:57   #162
Gorf
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munich/Bavaria
Posts: 162
Quote:
Speaking of something that gives you very high speed sometimes and other times not - Apollo Core is just like that.
How is that?. (not speaking of the SoftFPU).
A 68k-core on FPGA gives you a very predictive and constant behavior.
Gorf is offline  
Old 02 July 2017, 17:09   #163
ex68k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: co, usa
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
The question should be - is it the FPGA or the ARM CPU that has direct access to the DDR3 RAM? There is where the CPU should ideally be.
MiSTer uses extra SDRAM for the CPU emulation, and the DDR3 is on the ARM
ex68k is offline  
Old 02 July 2017, 17:12   #164
ex68k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: co, usa
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
No reason to do that, there is a MiSTer thread at atari-forum, and he is doing his stuff very much like Apollo Core is doing their stuff. You want want to license Apollo Core for the DE10-nano, then go ahead
Not really interested in Apollo Core. Like to see MiSTer progressing, it is open and seems to be fun ;-)
ex68k is offline  
Old 02 July 2017, 17:13   #165
Gorf
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munich/Bavaria
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
The question should be - is it the FPGA or the ARM CPU that has direct access to the DDR3 RAM? There is where the CPU should ideally be.
Both do. As Sorgelig wrote:

Built-in DDR3 memory has hardware controller and it's shared between ARM and FPGA. ... DDR3 still has its useful potential. Some systems are not tied to exact RAM timings. Such systems usually can have different CPUs on board and thus RAM speed from CPU point of view is varying. These systems are Amiga (only for Fast RAM), PC. So, Amiga(minimig) can get a big boost from DDR3 if core will be tweaked to use it.
Gorf is offline  
Old 02 July 2017, 17:22   #166
Gorf
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munich/Bavaria
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by ex68k View Post
Not really interested in Apollo Core. Like to see MiSTer progressing, it is open and seems to be fun ;-)
I don't care about the name or the team behind a core.

To be useful whatever 68k-core, needs to be fast and complete. Complete meaning all instructions from MC68020+MC68882+MMU.

If it is not faster or incomplete: UAE4ALL ist the better solution. (for me that is - just my opinion - please don't start a flame war over this!)
Gorf is offline  
Old 02 July 2017, 18:05   #167
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,934
MiSTer sounds insane. I wish Amiga could run off that.
Akira is online now  
Old 02 July 2017, 18:07   #168
ex68k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: co, usa
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gorf View Post
To be useful whatever 68k-core, needs to be fast and complete. Complete meaning all instructions from MC68020+MC68882+MMU.
If it is not faster or incomplete: UAE4ALL ist the better solution. (for me that is - just my opinion - please don't start a flame war over this!)
I disagree in only one minor point: MC68030+MC68882+MMU

But we should let it go, it has nothing to do with the subject line anymore ;-)
ex68k is offline  
Old 02 July 2017, 18:29   #169
Gorf
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munich/Bavaria
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by ex68k View Post
I disagree in only one minor point: MC68030+MC68882+MMU

But we should let it go, it has nothing to do with the subject line anymore ;-)
But isn't that the most complete definition of the ISA? the 030 did not bring any new instructions
Gorf is offline  
Old 02 July 2017, 19:13   #170
meynaf
68k wisdom
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon (France)
Age: 44
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gorf View Post
But isn't that the most complete definition of the ISA? the 030 did not bring any new instructions
Most complete should be 68040+68882. But we're never gonna get that.
meynaf is offline  
Old 02 July 2017, 20:02   #171
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
MiSTer sounds insane. I wish Amiga could run off that.
hmm, if i'm not totaly wrong, he already ported Minimig AGA to the MISTer board, and some more.
emufan is offline  
Old 02 July 2017, 21:10   #172
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
hmm, if i'm not totaly wrong, he already ported Minimig AGA to the MISTer board, and some more.
Hmm!
Is somebody building those boards? I cannot work with those components yet unfortunately.
Akira is online now  
Old 02 July 2017, 21:31   #173
Gorf
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munich/Bavaria
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Hmm!
Is somebody building those boards? I cannot work with those components yet unfortunately.
The Terasic Nano comes as a full board of course.
And some emulators will run without any additions hardware.

For Minimig_AGA you would need the SDRAM_board. You can download files for a PCB-manufacturer and get it done for 10$ for 10 boards.
So there might be a good chance that someone has some left over at the atari-forum.
ok ... than you need to find someone with a little bit of soldering experience.
Gorf is offline  
Old 02 July 2017, 21:49   #174
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,934
That[s fucking fantastic then.
I saw the supported hardware list. I never had one of those reconfigurable computers like the C-One, so this would be perfect to own.
Thanks! This might just be what I was looking for
The only thing I can't do is SMD, but I can have a friend with a hot air station that can help me.

So do I just search for Terasic Nano 10D?
Akira is online now  
Old 02 July 2017, 22:19   #175
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 49
Posts: 915
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthey View Post


The 110k LE Cyclone V is already much bigger than the 40k LE Vampire Cyclone III (those LEs may go further with other resources built into the Cyclone V). I expect it would be big enough for dual core, 68k compatible FPU, virtual MMU, (maybe even integer 128 bit SIMD unit) and of course enhanced Amiga custom chips.
Vampire 2 FPU secret solved for me. 40k LE only. No space for full 68882. Even no space for 68040/68060 FPU style. Too many extra modules for standalone version. Only very easy FPU and incompatible FPU can be added. But it has no sense for me. The only good enough FPU solution for Vampire 2 is SoftFPU (full 68882). Because this is FPGA exist also second option, created different flashes for Cyclone III, one can contains FPU, but without other module(s). Apollo CPU has about 16.5k LE, 68882 FPU (68040/68060 style only) about 10k LE. Only 13.5k LE for other modules in FPGA.
Don_Adan is offline  
Old 02 July 2017, 23:09   #176
Gorf
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munich/Bavaria
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Adan View Post
Because this is FPGA exist also second option, created different flashes for Cyclone III, one can contains FPU, but without other module(s). Apollo CPU has about 16.5k LE, 68882 FPU (68040/68060 style only) about 10k LE. Only 13.5k LE for other modules in FPGA.
Marcus Sackrow (FPC, Mapparium) suggested this on apollo-core .... it did not end well at all.

We better not engage in what should be in the Vampire or not, to avoid flame wars....
Gorf is offline  
Old 03 July 2017, 14:02   #177
ex68k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: co, usa
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
Most complete should be 68040+68882. But we're never gonna get that.
You need two FPUs?
ex68k is offline  
Old 03 July 2017, 14:07   #178
meynaf
68k wisdom
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon (France)
Age: 44
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by ex68k View Post
You need two FPUs?
Yes i need a gazillion fpus
(But of course I meant 68040 + everything in 68882 that's not in 68040).
meynaf is offline  
Old 03 July 2017, 14:26   #179
ex68k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: co, usa
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
Yes i need a gazillion fpus
(But of course I meant 68040 + everything in 68882 that's not in 68040).
So, what about calling it a 68030 & 68882 & MMU?
I always like this combination, because compilers know it.
If we make a bastard like '40 & 68882, you need to program in assembler again ...
ex68k is offline  
Old 03 July 2017, 14:53   #180
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
Most complete should be 68040+68882. But we're never gonna get that.
That is what uae4arm gives you.
kolla is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vampire 1200 HanSolo support.Hardware 55 19 June 2017 10:15
Vampire x2 600 drusso66 support.Hardware 11 26 March 2017 10:18
Vampire 2 shipment 8bitbob Amiga scene 16 03 December 2016 11:30
Vampire II - Who is first? JackLeather support.Hardware 2 26 January 2016 13:56
Vampire game name Galder Looking for a game name ? 2 12 May 2014 22:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25501 seconds with 12 queries