English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 June 2017, 20:58   #181
sean_skroht
Gimmemore Commodore

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-Penguin View Post
To play devil's advocate a little; if you want to remember it the way it was, don't add a Vampire.
Yep good point. Unfortunately now that I've added one I can't un-add it. I love it. The speed has been great. Browsing the file system is snappy and instant, games like Civilization benefit hugely from it, a lot of the classic 3D games I play benefit from the speed. Plus the all the programs I use like Octamed etc etc still work fine. I had an ACA620 in there before which was nothing like this. Yeah I understand there will be compatibility compromises and It's taken me some time to adjust to that way of thinking, nevertheless, it won't stop me from trying to find the balance between speed and compatibility and advocating it.

Another appealing aspect of the Vampire is versatility. While I love the look of an Amiga on a CRT I'm not beholden to it, and like the idea that I can switch over to HDMI at a later stage. I want the best of ALL worlds but don't have the space to get a whole range of machines to satisfy that. I'm a bit of an oddity in that regard.

Quote:
Originally Posted by E-Penguin View Post
The team are creating a "new Amiga", effectively, going where Commodore might have done had they not gone bankrupt. For an unadulterated early 90s gaming experience, get an A500 + 512k and leave it as that.
Yeah exactly and I hope that's what they do and I hope they are immensly successful at it.

Yeah I could get an A500 but I've been spoilt by speed over time and would find it difficult to slow down again. I've only got myself to blame for that.

Last edited by sean_skroht; 22 June 2017 at 21:17.
sean_skroht is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 June 2017, 23:45   #182
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gorf View Post
Gunnar just enabled Hyperthreading in the Apollo-Core!
I'm not sure if Gunnar just hit epic genius levels of trolling or if its just all batshit.
Locutus is offline  
Old 23 June 2017, 01:24   #183
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,020
That should shut up all the whiners who whine about the lack of an MMU. Now you've got hyperthreading!
idrougge is offline  
Old 23 June 2017, 01:29   #184
gregthecanuck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 2
@Locutus

Gunnar has repeatedly stated that he intends to make the 68080 a modern upgrade to the 68K ISA. A hyper-threading implementation definitely makes sense in that context.

This announcement was definitely a surprise - a very good one.

Of course to take full advantage of the capability will be up to developer time and effort. However for once on 68K the hardware is now ahead of the software.

Cheers!
gregthecanuck is offline  
Old 23 June 2017, 07:24   #185
meynaf
68k wisdom
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon (France)
Age: 44
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
That should shut up all the whiners who whine about the lack of an MMU. Now you've got hyperthreading!
Hyperthreading doesn't replace an MMU and is useless for debugging, so no, whiners won't shut up.
meynaf is offline  
Old 23 June 2017, 09:28   #186
talybont
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
whiners won't shut up.
No sh#t, Sherlock.
talybont is offline  
Old 23 June 2017, 16:14   #187
Steve
Kickstarter Addict!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 2,110
I'd love to have a short video of Breathless running on this board and AB3DII at full screen 1x1 pixel.
Steve is offline  
Old 23 June 2017, 16:21   #188
Djole501
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Prijedor
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
I'd love to have a short video of Breathless running on this board and AB3DII at full screen 1x1 pixel.
AB3d RTG
[ Show youtube player ]
Djole501 is offline  
Old 23 June 2017, 16:31   #189
Steve
Kickstarter Addict!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 2,110
Nice, thanks.
Steve is offline  
Old 23 June 2017, 17:40   #190
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 805
Still waiting for a version of AB3D that runs fullscreen with 1x1 pixels... Never gonna happen though
Dunny is offline  
Old 23 June 2017, 17:42   #191
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
Still waiting for a version of AB3D that runs fullscreen with 1x1 pixels... Never gonna happen though
Wouldn't you have to redraw all assets?
If that's the case yeah, never gonna happen.
Akira is offline  
Old 23 June 2017, 18:24   #192
TrashyMG
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Vermont - USA
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
Still waiting for a version of AB3D that runs fullscreen with 1x1 pixels... Never gonna happen though


Hey a Dunny!

Maybe in 2 months™ ?
TrashyMG is offline  
Old 24 June 2017, 01:42   #193
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 805
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Wouldn't you have to redraw all assets?
If that's the case yeah, never gonna happen.
I don't see why - in a game that performs texture mapping by scaling all the graphics anyway, I'd be happy with them at the resolution they're currently at. If it's running at 320x256 (or 320x200) I reckon it'd still look pretty good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrashyMG View Post
Hey a Dunny!

Maybe in 2 months™ ?
HA! God, don't remind me. Order in '08 (I think it was), delivered in '11... two months later
Dunny is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 09:31   #194
Overflow
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 304
First SoftFPU tests with GOLD2 core

A very early Software Floating Point Unit bring-up for the 68k.

[ Show youtube player ]

Its based on the work by Jari Eskelinen, which is being discussed here;

http://www.apollo-core.com/knowledge...1&x=0&z=jWL3Fm

Last edited by Overflow; 29 June 2017 at 12:02.
Overflow is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 10:07   #195
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overflow View Post
First SoftFPU tests with GOLD2 core

A very early Software Floating Point Unit bring-up for the 68k.
Great news and nice work. Even though a soft FPU will never match the speeds that can be achieved by a hardware implementation, just having an FPU present will at least make it possible to run software which uses the FPU. Speed-wise I would be very happy if a soft FPU running on the 68080 could match the speed of a 60 MHz 68060 FPU and it may not be so far-fetched if it was optimized towards the 68080 core.
demolition is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 10:11   #196
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overflow View Post
First SoftFPU tests with GOLD2 core

A very early Software Floating Point Unit bring-up for the 68k.

[ Show youtube player ]
"but it's slower than 060" --- "it doesn't have 80bits precision, does it?" --- "it's an emulation of a CPU emulating an FPU" --- "why isn't it complete yet?" --- "my i5 is faster" --- "could the fanboys please shut up!" --- "it's all DPainted" in 3...2...1...
grond is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 10:21   #197
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 184
That's a great achievement !
TuKo is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 10:21   #198
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 35
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by grond View Post
"it's all DPainted"
You can tell by some of the pixels
indigolemon is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 10:24   #199
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by grond View Post
"it's all DPainted" in 3...2...1...
If I ever wore a hat, I would take it off for anyone trying to fake this by creating an anim in DPaint since that would take a lot of effort.
demolition is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 12:09   #200
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
Hyperthreading doesn't replace an MMU and is useless for debugging, so no, whiners won't shut up.
Come on, be realistic. How many applications use an MMU? Can you name any?

Hyperthreading, on the other hand, will immediately boost all Amiga applications thanks to FPGA power.
idrougge is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
vasm with Apollo Core 68080 and AMMX support phx News 11 17 February 2017 23:22
Apollo core and AROS 68k bounty TuKo Amiga scene 23 05 August 2016 20:25
Best way to do SuperAGA in Apollo core eXeler0 Amiga scene 64 27 February 2016 19:17
apollo-core forum HanSolo support.Other 4 16 September 2015 07:51
Work in progress. Cowcat Coders. General 7 18 February 2014 22:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25806 seconds with 11 queries