English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 June 2017, 14:01   #1
KKR75
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Beirut
Posts: 2
Amiga 500 screen resolution

Hello,

25 years later, I just fired up again my Amiga 500, and I have a question regarding screen resolution / workbench package:

My Amiga 500 (rev 6a) had the 512k slow trapdoor RAM, 1.3 rom, ECS agnus, and OCS denise.
I have purchased an ACA500plus, an ACA1221EC accelerator, and an Indivision ECS VGA card to connect to my Samsung 24" LCD monitor.

All good, was able to install MagicWB 3.1 ADVSP on a 16GB CF card (after reading tons of pages on the net, very hard to keep track), without installing any other packages. The OS runs fine.

But under screen resolution, I can only chose PAL High Res or PAL super High Res, and the NTSC equivalent (I have a PAL monitor).
So I chose the PAL High Res version at 16 colors, since the super high res only supports 4.

1. Is this the best resolution my Indivision ECS can give me, on my current hardware?

2. If I can get better resolution (while still being usable/fast), what are my options?

3. If I procure myself a Super Denise ECS chip, would it help my cause at all?

Thanks
KKR75 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 June 2017, 06:04   #2
Gorf
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munich/Bavaria
Posts: 162
Hi!
Without being an expert on that matter, I can only say, that it surely wouldn't hurt to go with a Highres Denise in that case.
It offers you the Productivity Mode (640480 non-interlaced) ... and there are monitor files on Aminet that should tweak that to higher resolutions.
Have a look at HighGFX

But I don't know how the Indivision will will handle this screens....

Ok - On the Indivision page I see, it claims to offer all ESC resolutions also on OCS Denise ... so give HighGFX a try first.

Do you have the latest Indivision drivers?
Gorf is offline  
Old 05 June 2017, 07:32   #3
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 914
If you don't mind having only 4 colours, the HighGFX modes work reasonably fast and offer plenty of screen estate (this is an A600 obviously but it works the same):

ajk is offline  
Old 05 June 2017, 11:51   #4
Gorf
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munich/Bavaria
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by KKR75 View Post
My Amiga 500 (rev 6a) had the 512k slow trapdoor RAM, 1.3 rom, ECS agnus, and OCS denise.
Ohh - I overhead this before: 1.3 rom

You will need at least Kickstart 2.1 - try to get your hands on a newer ROM (3.1).
Maybe even a ROM-switcher-board, so you can boot both versions...
Gorf is offline  
Old 05 June 2017, 15:50   #5
KKR75
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Beirut
Posts: 2
Hi all,

thanks for your response

Gorf, I am using ROM 3.1, through the ACA500+ board, otherwise I could not have been running WB 3.1
I don't like the thought of having only 4 colours displayed, so I will most likely stick with the High Res PAL resolution which is fine of course, I just have to accept black borders left and right of my wide screen monitor.

I will try HighGFX for shits and giggles. Maybe even try installing WB3.9 just to see how it works, but I have my doubts as to how responsive it will be given my setup (68020 @ 28 MHz). Probably best to stick with WB3.1 and enjoy loading my games through WHDLoad.
KKR75 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
White screen at Amiga 500 power on? Saltaren New to Emulation or Amiga scene 16 14 February 2017 10:28
Amiga 500 Screen Gems Pack K1ngArth3r Nostalgia & memories 5 15 March 2016 20:52
Getting screen resolution Another World support.WinUAE 15 09 December 2008 21:59
black screen on amiga 500 albino support.Hardware 1 17 November 2008 06:07
Few games don't switch resolution from video card to native amiga resolution! digital support.WinUAE 12 14 March 2003 13:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12463 seconds with 11 queries