English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 June 2017, 15:28   #161
AlfaRomeo
A1200 040 SAM440EP 667
AlfaRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lisbon / Portugal
Posts: 774
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberFreak View Post
Why does (lack of) FPU complaints has to pollute every single Vampire related discussion?
plus one for me, please....
and one for A1200 too
AlfaRomeo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 June 2017, 15:38   #162
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djole501 View Post
Because there is nothing else to complain about ?
I think that would be a good reason. Whether you like it or not, the Vampire is a major product for the Amiga so that also means that many people will have strong opinions about it.
demolition is online now  
Old 22 June 2017, 15:52   #163
Jeeg
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Le POUGET
Posts: 2
On this kind of project, it's normal to wait but from the moment payment is made, it would be nice to have an estimated delivery date. I'm waiting since more than 2 months and check my status every day with hope. :-)
Jeeg is offline  
Old 22 June 2017, 17:44   #164
Romanujan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szczecin/Poland
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberFreak View Post
Why does (lack of) FPU complaints has to pollute every single Vampire related discussion?
Because it is a serious drawback of this card, limiting the compatibility, and sometimes reducing the performance to less then 1/10 of the 68060 - https://blog.alb42.de/?s=%22to+fpu+or+not%22
Romanujan is offline  
Old 22 June 2017, 18:29   #165
E-Penguin
Banana

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 287
"Serious" for the tiny amount of software that relies on an FPU.
"Not an issue" for most people

The stock Amiga 500, 600 and 1200 also don't have an FPU. Is this a "serious drawback" for these machines?
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 22 June 2017, 19:52   #166
Mr.Flibble
Registered User

Mr.Flibble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 356
Storm in a teacup
Mr.Flibble is offline  
Old 22 June 2017, 20:00   #167
Romanujan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szczecin/Poland
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-Penguin View Post
"Serious" for the tiny amount of software that relies on an FPU.
"Not an issue" for most people

The stock Amiga 500, 600 and 1200 also don't have an FPU. Is this a "serious drawback" for these machines?
Yes - among several other things.

Besides, you are manipulating the facts. Lots of software which greatly benefits from Apollo Core power also greatly benefits from the FPU (or even require it).
Romanujan is offline  
Old 22 June 2017, 20:42   #168
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romanujan View Post
Lots of software which greatly benefits from Apollo Core power also greatly benefits from the FPU (or even require it).
Please make a list. I am interested.
Akira is online now  
Old 22 June 2017, 20:42   #169
E-Penguin
Banana

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 287
I'm not manipulating anything; an FPU isn't a standard part of any Amiga other than a handful of box-box Amigas, which I wager isn't the machine that most people had at home in their youth.

I don't doubt that an FPU offers a speed boost for certain productivity software, but you can't really categorise it as a "serious" defect when most people will purely use the Vampire to play whdload games on their big LCD TV.
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 22 June 2017, 20:47   #170
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Please make a list. I am interested.
Me too. I'm contemplating whether to upgrade my 030 card with an FPU, so a knock-out list of FPU only/friendly software would really help.
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 22 June 2017, 20:55   #171
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-Penguin View Post
when most people will purely use the Vampire to play whdload games on their big LCD TV.
Anybody using Vampire just to do that should be shot, Vampire taken to be sold to someone that will use it, and given an ACA1221EC instead
Akira is online now  
Old 22 June 2017, 21:45   #172
Kelv
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Bradford / UK
Posts: 18
You are an evil, evil person, no one deserves that level of torture !!
That accelerator is on the Geneva conventions hit list!
( I own one, 8 meg is just not enough ram )

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Anybody using Vampire just to do that should be shot, Vampire taken to be sold to someone that will use it, and given an ACA1221EC instead
Kelv is offline  
Old 22 June 2017, 21:49   #173
Romanujan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szczecin/Poland
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Please make a list. I am interested.
What??? Where were you the last 25 years?

- nearly all 68040/68060 demos
- Mapparium
- probably most 3D software, like LightWave, Real3D, POV Ray
- a lot of other graphics software, like TVPaint, some versions of PersonalPaint
- many MP3 decoders
- several datatypes (especially JPEG)
- FFMPEG
- probably every single fractal generator (if someone cares)
- StormMesa, Wazp3D
- several games from Aminet, like tongits, supoker, Descent
- ...
Romanujan is offline  
Old 22 June 2017, 22:16   #174
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,776
i guess HSMathLibs is a good example.
many datatypes comes with a fpu version, image decoding for webbrowsers and things.
emufan is offline  
Old 22 June 2017, 22:32   #175
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,456
Back to the very original topic:

Amigakit now states:

Stock Expected: Friday 30 June, 2017

We have a second small batch arriving this month- we are now taking pre-orders to fulfill this batch.
Predseda is offline  
Old 23 June 2017, 01:43   #176
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 645
FPU is not importan for 68030 CPUs, but any software written to 68040 or 68060 assumes that there is a FPU.

Quote:
The stock Amiga 500, 600 and 1200 also don't have an FPU. Is this a "serious drawback" for these machines?
Arquments like this makes me wonder :

- How many of us have just plain A500/600/1200 and if they are happy with them why they should buy Vampire?

Those who have 68030 acceleratos are propably happy with it, but we who have 68040/68060 acceleratos things looks different.

And sounds odly familiar from history, something like this :

Quote:
The stock Amiga 500, 600 and 1200 also don't have an hard drive. Is this a "serious drawback" for these machines?
utri007 is offline  
Old 23 June 2017, 15:52   #177
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romanujan View Post
What??? Where were you the last 25 years?

- nearly all 68040/68060 demos
- Mapparium
- probably most 3D software, like LightWave, Real3D, POV Ray
- a lot of other graphics software, like TVPaint, some versions of PersonalPaint
- many MP3 decoders
- several datatypes (especially JPEG)
- FFMPEG
- probably every single fractal generator (if someone cares)
- StormMesa, Wazp3D
- several games from Aminet, like tongits, supoker, Descent
- ...
Is that it?
You can keep them.
Believe me I've been here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
Arquments like this makes me wonder :
- How many of us have just plain A500/600/1200 and if they are happy with them why they should buy Vampire?
Exactly my thoughts
Quote:
but we who have 68040/68060 acceleratos things looks different.
And here I mirror my question to you, "if you are happy with them why should you buy Vampire?"

I think the main issue is for those who wanted a 060 forever and think this is a way to finally afford and acquire something of similar or better power.
Those who have 060s better stick to their 060s, those who are happy with their Amiga setups should stick to their AMiga setups.

This is just when thinking of the Vampire as an Amiga add-on. Standalone is a completely different thing.
Akira is online now  
Old 23 June 2017, 16:21   #178
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Is that it?
You can keep them.
Believe me I've been here.
it's easy to dismiss others preferences - there were to few good apps for the amiga anyway.
those in the gfx domain which would benefit from a fpu can still be usefull today,
while some 10000s compatible games just give u another highscore - noone will notice.

i'm curious about the bulk of new productivity software done for the smp/ht apollo core.
emufan is offline  
Old 23 June 2017, 17:03   #179
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
And here I mirror my question to you, "if you are happy with them why should you buy Vampire?"
Because the 060 cards are getting old and expensive to maintain and 060s are expensive to replace. The Apollo Core was supposed to fix this, but instead it introduces a new architecture.
kolla is offline  
Old 23 June 2017, 17:12   #180
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
while some 10000s compatible games just give u another highscore - noone will notice.
I'm not really dismissing preference, I'm just saying, that this is just like trying to make a go-kart race at F1 or something, or viceversa really!
Take this for what it is instead of trying to force it your way, especially because your way is not someone else's way and it apparently isn't, definitely, the developers' way.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Because the 060 cards are getting old and expensive to maintain and 060s are expensive to replace.
I am assuming the case of someone with a healthy, working 060 setup. Are 060s so feeble that they break often? I didn't think it was that way.
Akira is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apollo Team has new Cyclone 5 FPGA accellerator cards OlafSch Amiga scene 245 23 August 2015 19:48
Blizzard / Apollo SCSI Kit Cable amigakit.com MarketPlace 0 23 May 2006 14:29
Apollo 060/66 Accelerators for A1200s Echo support.Hardware 10 24 November 2003 09:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22576 seconds with 12 queries