English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 May 2017, 00:00   #1
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,823
64-bit WinUAE doesn't work on 64-bit Windows XP

The 64-bit WinUAE 3.4.0 executable fails to run on Windows XP x64. A dialog box appears saying "C:\Program Files\WinUAE\winuae64.exe is not a valid Win32 application."

For more information see http://www.tripleboot.org/?p=423

By modifying four bytes in the PE header as explained there I got 64-bit WinUAE to run on XP x64. Bytes to change:
Code:
Offset	From	To
0x1C0	06	05
0x1C2	00	02
0x1C8	06	05
0x1CA	00	02
Extracts from dumpbin /headers output for the 32-bit then 64-bit WinUAE executables:
Code:
dumpbin /headers winuae.exe
            5.01 operating system version
            5.01 subsystem version

dumpbin /headers winuae64.exe
            6.00 operating system version
            6.00 subsystem version
The real fix seems to be to set Minimum Required Version in Visual Studio Linker->System properties for the x64 build to 5.2, not leave it blank. [I'd be happy to test a build with that change of course.]


I tested the patched winuae64.exe by loading a DOC demo and it ran fine, except with no sound (there was sound with 32-bit WinUAE). But that may just be a bug/problem/issue with the VirtualBox sound driver?

winuae64.exe (fixed):
DS: DirectSoundCreate8() failure: 8878000A S=1 F=0878 C=000A (10)

winuae.exe (32 bit):
DS: 00140004 1:00000000 2:00000000 4:00000033 4:00000603 4:00000107 6:0000003F 6:0000060F
DS: 00000000,CH=2,FREQ=44100 'Primary Sound Driver' buffer 16384, dist 4096
DS: 2205 = (3969 - 1764)
DS: bs=128 w=10240 max=16384 tof=21845 tuf=29127
mark_k is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 May 2017, 09:34   #2
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 622
Buy a better PC with a better version of Windows.
ma693541 is offline  
Old 17 May 2017, 09:39   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,496
It is by design. 64-bit XP is not supported. I am not even sure if Vista 64-bit is supported but officially it is Windows 7 64-bit or later only.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 December 2017, 21:10   #4
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,823
Starting with 3.6.0b9, after patching the header as described above 64-bit WinUAE seems to work perfectly on Windows XP x64. Sound works fine.

Maybe this item in the 3.6.0b9 changelog fixed the no-sound problem???
- 64-bit only bad stack linker setting corrected, caused random crashes and caused file dialogs to crash if certain shell extensions were installed. (Thanks mutetus!)
mark_k is offline  
Old 23 December 2017, 10:03   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,496
Irrelevant. 64-bit XP or Vista is still not supported even if it appears to work.

EDIT: I especially don't want any reports/comments from XP 64-bit or Vista 64-bit users. No normal user uses those..

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 23 December 2017 at 13:27.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 December 2017, 12:49   #6
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 790
Who still uses Windows XP these days?? Support for it disappeared years ago!
Heck, I've only just recently moved off of Windows 7 after, well, seven years!
Foebane is offline  
Old 24 December 2017, 22:17   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
Who still uses Windows XP these days?? Support for it disappeared years ago!
Heck, I've only just recently moved off of Windows 7 after, well, seven years!
Yes (but XP 64-bit was different very special thing). But again, support.WinUAE is not for this topic.
Toni Wilen is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will Amiga Forever work with Windows 8 64-bit?... dave4shmups New to Emulation or Amiga scene 6 30 October 2014 16:23
Does WinUAE work in Windows 7 64 bit? flibble42 support.WinUAE 4 24 August 2014 11:07
Winuae on Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit ? weasel_ch support.WinUAE 6 02 September 2011 19:07
8 bit to optimized 6 bit palette histogram improvements needed NovaCoder Coders. General 0 14 April 2011 03:13
[Bug] Screen doesn't update in 32-bit window RealNC support.WinUAE 2 25 August 2007 11:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12949 seconds with 11 queries