English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

Thread Tools
Old 12 May 2017, 11:33   #1
Glen M
Registered User

Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 90
Theme Park is painfully slow

I have fond memories of playing in years ago on my then stock A1200 and it working fine but giving it a go last night on my A1200 with ACA1233N accelerator, running it from a HD install (not whdload) it was painful. Once I built a small park the game was running at 1 or 2 frames per second at times.

Any ideas?
Glen M is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 May 2017, 12:41   #2
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,584
Have you turned the speed up too far? Upping the speed means more calculations have to be done per frame, reducing the framerate (but increasing in-game elapsed time). This is especially noticeable with customers "warping" from point to point every frame, and even happened on an 060 with a busy park at the highest speed setting. So try turn the game speed down in the menu and see if it helps.

Alternatively, are you using the same version of Theme Park? The AGA version is more demanding than the ECS version so if you previously used the ECS version on your 1200, that could explain the difference.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 12 May 2017, 15:06   #3
Glen M
Registered User

Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 90
I had the speed set to normal. I think its the AGA version but I'll try the ECS version tonight to see if it makes much difference.
Glen M is offline  
Old 12 May 2017, 17:03   #4
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,915
It's terribly slow. Don't think the accelerator would make much of a difference.
Maybe try the WHDLoad version, it might have been patched to run better with an accelerator.
Akira is offline  
Old 13 May 2017, 10:40   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 121
playing theme park on the Amiga is basically masochism
is 20x slower than the PC version which is very smooth
add it runs in 640x480 while the AMiga version runs at 320x240 or so
Mrz is offline  
Old 13 May 2017, 11:47   #6
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,847
I dont remember it being that Slow on the CD32 but it was a long time ago.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 13 May 2017, 20:10   #7
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 45
Posts: 2,626
I played it on my A1200 (B1230-IV) and it wasn't slow.
However the whdload version ran at snail speed and was unusable.
As the game is normally HD installable, using its normal installer should do the trick.
meynaf is offline  
AdSense AdSense  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Painfully slow 5K/s LAN with 3Com Etherlink III & Amiga 1200 3.1 markpaterson support.Hardware 12 06 January 2016 19:44
ERROR: Theme Park AGA (Slow Downs) Chain project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 21 28 December 2014 02:38
theme park and theme hospital did i imagine this title on cd32 sian request.Other 1 07 June 2013 02:43
Xenon 2 CDTV painfully slow on CD32 lennonlives support.Games 8 18 April 2009 20:59
Theme Park CD32 JACK98 support.Games 0 11 October 2008 13:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:51.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13060 seconds with 11 queries