English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 April 2017, 09:48   #1
jarp
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Posts: 171
Audio filter mod

Hi all,

I've been wanting to modify hardware audio filter from my Amiga 600 due to lacking highs when playing music. Amiga 1200 does not have this problem due to higher cut off frequency and I was planning to mod Amiga 600 and rise cutoff frequency to Amiga 1200 levels. I am not electronics engineer so perhaps somebody could kindly verify that I am doing the right thing?

So I've been studying schematics of Amiga 500, 600 and 1200. They all are implemented equally, it's just a simple low pass filter implemented by using opamp, resistor and capacitor per channel.



So cutoff frequency can be calculated using formula 1/(2*3,14*R*C). According to schematics different Amiga models uses following values:

A500: 0.1 uF, 360 Ohm -> 4,4 kHz
A600: 3900 pF, 1.5k Ohm -> 27 kHz
A1200 r1: 3900pF, 1.5kOhm -> 27 kHz
A1200 r2: 6800pF, 680 Ohm -> 34 kHz

So actually Amiga 600 should already have quite nice cutoff frequency - however schematics are wrong. I have three Amiga 600 from r1 to r2 and all have 360 Ohm resistors and according to RMAA measurements cutoff frequency is ~4kHz so I suspect that filter in Amiga 600 is equivalent to Amiga 500. Somebody else also said on other thread that schematics are wrong.

So to change cutoff frequency to match Amiga 1200, one can change resistors and capacitors to match Amiga 1200, but that would alter gain also, no? So alternative is just to replace capacitors and calculate suitable value using that formula 1/(2*3,14*R*C). That should keep original gain but alter cutoff, did I got it right? I calculated that when resistor is 360 ohm using 15 nF capacitor will produce 29 kHz cutoff frequency and using 22 nF capacitor will produce 20 kHz cutoff frequency. 20 kHz should be plenty, but one could use 29 kHz also since A1200 r2 uses 34 kHz, no?

Am I on right track?

Thanks a lot!

-J
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	amigaaudiofilter.png
Views:	899
Size:	10.6 KB
ID:	52865  
jarp is offline  
Old 22 April 2017, 11:05   #2
jarp
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Posts: 171
I just had to test this already. I replaced filter caps with 15nF caps (only problem was that my 0805 caps were a tad too small to replace original caps, had to place them extremely carefully to avoid shorts) which should produce that 29 kHz cutoff frequency.

Here frequency response before mod (oops seems my input levels were way off, I calibrated levels using VU meter on my preamp but that probably did not take such agressive low pass filter into account):



And here's after mod (be aware of the scale, it's different on both pictures):



I call this success. Frequency response is actually better than on many 1990s sound cards Please notice that channel imbalance is probably due to my pre-amp which has a bit... sensitive pots. It seems, though, that audio will still be cut off at about 10...15 kHz, must be limit of Paula chip or something? So using 22 nF even 27 nF capacitor would be just fine...

Ps. RMAA says that noise level is 83 dB and dynamic range is 77 dB. I think this is amazing when taking Paula's age into account? Distortion is high though.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	amigapremod.png
Views:	713
Size:	3.5 KB
ID:	52867   Click image for larger version

Name:	amigapostmod.png
Views:	695
Size:	4.2 KB
ID:	52868  

Last edited by jarp; 22 April 2017 at 16:53.
jarp is offline  
Old 22 April 2017, 13:24   #3
ross
Sum, ergo Cogito

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 48
Posts: 1,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarp View Post
Ps. RMAA says that noise level is 83 dB and dynamic range is 77 dB. I think this is amazing when taking Paula's age into account? Distortion is high though.
Hi jarp, interesting results.

This can confirm feasibility for my thoughts:
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=1146073&postcount=6

We've log[2](4856)=12,25bit non-linear resolution (then more linearized), so a DR>73,72dB.
We cover 77dB with 12,79 Q-bit linear <- 20*log[10](2^Q)

There is somewhere on board a long discussion about real dynamics obtainable from 14bit Paula player.
Someone think 10, someone 11, 12, 13, full 14 Q-bit DR or better...

I narrow the field, my bet is somewhere betwheen 12,25 and 12,80 Q-bit
(which is absolutely an excellent result for a chip of the early 80s!)

Bye,
ross
ross is offline  
Old 22 April 2017, 18:17   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
I achieved the "A1200 sound" just by removing the two filters underneath the board, C331 and C321. I was thinking about adding a controllable cutoff filter on those points, but I never did. Maybe a project for one day!
So the A600 for whatever reason has those extra filters on top of the lowpass filter it already has (the LED one all Amigas have). Why? No idea.

More discussion on this subject here: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=57506
Akira is offline  
Old 22 April 2017, 20:21   #5
jarp
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Posts: 171
Yeah those C332 and C321 caps are those low pass filter caps from schematics above. By removing them I believe you will remove totally disabled low pass filter which is not exactly like A1200. AFAIK that low pass filter is for removing aliasing but don't know if it really matters in real life.

In any case beats me why Commodre had set it to 4.4 kHz. That is totally too low and cripples Paula's capabilities badly. Who cares if there are no aliasing when you cannot output frequencies higher than that!
jarp is offline  
Old 22 April 2017, 20:56   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
I'll do some recordings to compare, I never bothered, since it sounds really good to me.
Akira is offline  
Old 24 April 2017, 13:21   #7
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 679
I’d have assumed it was simply because the Amigas after A600 are faster and the highs would sound like crap with the slower models.
Are you able to produce a high audio sine and hear that on it’s own?
xArtx is offline  
Old 24 April 2017, 14:25   #8
ross
Sum, ergo Cogito

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 48
Posts: 1,683
I do not think it has to do with machine speed but with the available Chip memory.
In OCS/ECS Amiga normally we have 0.5/1MB, on AGA 2MB.
Paula do not have a fixed period output, so more high-frequency sampled audio (better quality) more Chip RAM is required.
In old models i'm constrained to use low-frequency samples and then a filterer output is a better compromise...
ross is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modified Audio Filter CHRIS-F support.Hardware 11 29 January 2017 23:42
Tools for set FILTER OFF audio jhonny82 support.Games 14 22 July 2015 16:06
A600 Audio Filter Always On! h0ffman support.Hardware 15 08 September 2013 22:29
Feature request (Audio Filter) DaveMB support.FS-UAE 16 20 August 2013 21:53
Audio filter force on/off switch TomCrazy Hardware mods 12 02 November 2012 14:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06982 seconds with 13 queries