English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 April 2017, 17:58   #21
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,270
...hold on,. it's not fixed yet. Hopefully later tonight
DamienD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 April 2017, 18:15   #22
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
a) The fact remains that you're using an emulator and also some "Afa OS" that hardly any real Amiga uses. This thread is about real Amigas.
b) What is more difficult about using the same script to mount an ISO?
We are OT if you want to talk about this open discussion, are you saying inaccurate things, the operating system that you saw in the video, and the system of my A4000/060 Real + AFA OS libraries, that "in attached"

[ Show youtube player ]

I'm sorry Damiano i close OT
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 18 April 2017, 18:22   #23
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
We are OT if you want to talk about this open discussion, are you saying inaccurate things, the operating system that you saw in the video, and the system of my A4000/060 Real + AFA OS libraries, that "in attached

Every time you talk about your "real" Amiga you are referring to some emulation config. stop derailing threads.

Last edited by Akira; 18 April 2017 at 18:40.
Akira is offline  
Old 18 April 2017, 18:34   #24
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,054
No answer !
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 19 April 2017, 02:23   #25
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,270
Phew, so found a solution!!!

...a bit more fiddly than what I had hoped; it was supposed to be just "extract and go" but given the 192MB .CDXL file it wasn't to be sadly...

Anyway, here is the required process. Follow this exactly to letter:

a) Download the "GeneticSpeciesAGA.lha" file from the EAB File Server under the directory "~Uploads/DamienD/LHAs".
b) Copy to somewhere on your Amiga's hard drive.
c) Extract to wherever you like.
d) Run a Shell, change into "<wherever you extracted to>/Genetics/Geneticspecies".
e) Enter "script".
f) After completion, just to clean things up, enter "delete script".

All good to go

I've tested this in WinUAE and all is working now without any issue

...please can someone with a real Amiga test and do let me know if it works / there are any problems
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 April 2017, 21:55   #26
Havie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aladin View Post
Genetics species need AHI for sound (ahi has a drivers "paula" if you have no sound carte)
I know this but even with AHI installed I get no sound - this is a common problem.
Havie is offline  
Old 19 April 2017, 22:18   #27
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,270
Works fine for me in WinUAE; I did install AHI v4.18 onto my .HDF though (tested on standard WB 3.1 and Classic WB 3.1 Lite)...

Are you talking on a real Amiga or emulation Havie? Also, what audio settings did you set after the intro; have you tried selecting something else?

I presume this means that the package was good and extracted without issue though? Anyone else (real or emulated) tested as yet?
DamienD is offline  
Old 20 April 2017, 16:32   #28
subone
Registered User
subone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: France
Age: 45
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Phew, so found a solution!!!

...a bit more fiddly than what I had hoped; it was supposed to be just "extract and go" but given the 192MB .CDXL file it wasn't to be sadly...

Anyway, here is the required process. Follow this exactly to letter:

a) Download the "GeneticSpeciesAGA.lha" file from the EAB File Server under the directory "~Uploads/DamienD/LHAs".
b) Copy to somewhere on your Amiga's hard drive.
c) Extract to wherever you like.
d) Run a Shell, change into "<wherever you extracted to>/Genetics/Geneticspecies".
e) Enter "script".
f) After completion, just to clean things up, enter "delete script".

All good to go

I've tested this in WinUAE and all is working now without any issue

...please can someone with a real Amiga test and do let me know if it works / there are any problems
The procedure of extraction and script works on mine (A1200, 3.0, Blizzard 1230-IV 32 Mo, ClassicWB)
But it doesn't reach the menu after the long intro, just go back the WB ... sound is OK. Maybe i missed something ?
subone is offline  
Old 20 April 2017, 19:38   #29
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by subone View Post
But it doesn't reach the menu after the long intro, just go back the WB ... sound is OK. Maybe i missed something ?
Hmmm, not sure off the top of my head...

After the intro you should get the AHI requester screen as follows:



Did you get this? Do you have AHI installed?

Finally, have you tried using "SnoopDos" to see what's failing?

The files in the package are all the original files straight off the CD-ROM.

In the HOL notes there is this:

___________________________________________________________________________


Recommended Specifications:

- Amiga or DraCo/DraCo Motion
- 68030/040/060 CPU
- 512K+ chipram, more fastram (i.e. > 8MB)
- gfx card (CyberGraphX/Picasso 96 supported)
- sound card
- 4xCDROM drive or faster (for smooth viewing of the 3D rendered intro animation)
- HD
- AHI Audio System (manually HD installed from the game CD, developer website or Aminet)
- RTGMaster (HD installed)
- RTGMaster PIP Sublibrary (HD installed, Picasso IV/CyberVision 3D gfx card + installation of GENETIC SPECIES V4605 Engine Update required for window play)

___________________________________________________________________________


I didn't install any RTG stuff or the GENETIC SPECIES V4605 Engine Update as when I did it requires the CD-ROM again...
DamienD is offline  
Old 21 April 2017, 05:39   #30
liviux76
Registered User

liviux76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: BO/Italy
Posts: 702
@DamienD
Hi mate!
I was able to extract the files from the new lha archive!
Thanks!!!
I'll test the game as soon as possible!!!
liviux76 is offline  
Old 21 April 2017, 10:15   #31
subone
Registered User
subone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: France
Age: 45
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Hmmm, not sure off the top of my head...

After the intro you should get the AHI requester screen as follows:



Did you get this? Do you have AHI installed?
You're right, it is probably the cause. Thanks for your explanations.
subone is offline  
Old 21 April 2017, 11:39   #32
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by subone View Post
You're right, it is probably the cause. Thanks for your explanations.
No problem, let me know how you get on
DamienD is offline  
Old 21 April 2017, 12:36   #33
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post

I didn't install any RTG stuff or the GENETIC SPECIES V4605 Engine Update as when I did it requires the CD-ROM again...
Damiano it does not seem to be a problem that is required CD or assignment but "File Is Missing" in the update package. Sin, with this update you could play on a 24bit window

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 28 April 2017 at 13:25.
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 22 April 2017, 12:28   #34
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,536
http://aminet.net/package.php?packag...1.lha#contents

What version is this on Aminet ?
whiteb is offline  
Old 22 April 2017, 15:31   #35
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,270
Regarding the GENETIC SPECIES V4605 Engine Update, there were good improvements so have now implemented this

I also updated the script which joins the 192MB .CDXL file; made this show a bit more information while running:



Grab this new file on the EAB File Server under the directory "~Uploads/DamienD/LHAs"

Same instructions as previous i.e:

a) Download the "GeneticSpeciesAGA.lha" file from the EAB File Server under the directory "~Uploads/DamienD/LHAs".
b) Copy to somewhere on your Amiga's hard drive.
c) Extract to wherever you like.
d) Run a Shell, change into "<wherever you extracted to>/Genetics/Geneticspecies".
e) Enter "script".
f) After completion, just to clean things up, enter "delete script".
DamienD is offline  
Old 22 April 2017, 19:11   #36
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,054
V4605 Engine Update with WinUAE UAE-Gfx/Picass IV does not work. Old library RTG Genetics "Non appropriate mode available" see screenshot, RTG My latest request prefs Ok but usually the error mentioned above, see screenshot.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 28 April 2017 at 13:26.
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 22 April 2017, 19:56   #37
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,270
I can't test / help you with this one AMIGASYSTEM

...I've never setup graphics cards and drivers / libraries in WinUAE / an Amiga.

The game must not like some of your Libs or other files I guess.

The patch mentions that it works with RTG, guess you could look at whats in this file "RTGMaster" and see what's different with your setup?
DamienD is offline  
Old 22 April 2017, 20:37   #38
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,054
With Amikit RTG Library Genetics works, But in the prefs of the game Drivers are not accepted.
Strange you do not have Never tried an RTG system on Amiga OS You could start with Amikit (already ready and simple to install)

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 22 April 2017 at 21:31.
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 22 April 2017, 22:15   #39
AmigaBill
Registered User

AmigaBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 60
Awesome DamienD! I will try it on my 1200 and report back!
AmigaBill is offline  
Old 27 April 2017, 10:22   #40
liviux76
Registered User

liviux76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: BO/Italy
Posts: 702
Hi DamienD!

Yesterday I tried the game and it worked flawlessly except for the warning about the RTG library before starting the game.

I've installed the RTG libraries but nothing changed so I started snoopdos before starting the game and it seems that the game "fails" when searching for cybergraphics.library .

However if you close the "warning windows" it goes ahead and the game seems to work perfectly on my system (OS 3.9 with 3.1 ROMs and Blizzard 1260/66)
liviux76 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[AmigaCD] The Strangers - .HDF & .LHA (for real Amiga users) DamienD Amiga scene 24 06 October 2017 01:52
[AmigaCD] The Big Red Adventure - .HDF & .LHA (for real Amiga users) DamienD Amiga scene 40 09 August 2017 00:49
[AmigaCD] onEscapee - .HDF & .LHA (for real Amiga users) DamienD Amiga scene 49 26 May 2017 02:46
[AmigaCD] UropaČ: The Ulterior Colony - .LHA (for real Amiga users) DamienD Amiga scene 2 18 April 2017 17:53
[AmigaCD] Foundation & Foundation Gold - .LHAs (for real Amiga users) DamienD Amiga scene 44 18 April 2017 17:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28184 seconds with 11 queries