English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 April 2017, 21:08   #1
Boojakascha
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 7
my Kickstart Switcher collides with the keyboard

Hello

On my Amiga 500 my kickstart Switcher stands out so high, that it collides with my keyboard. This causes the system to crash rather often. Can somebody of you recommend a product that will fit inside the 500 without collusion? I plan to get a new switcher and two more kickstarter chips.

With kind regards
Ben
Boojakascha is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 April 2017, 00:25   #2
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,777
maybe a A500Flash 1M - not really cheap. look for the video at buttom of page - different resellers.

the 5k version come with 512kb flash ram - so you cannot have kickstart 1.3 and 3.1 together ( 256kb + 512kb).

#1) looks like you need one original rom chip, so lets say kick 1.3 - and additionaly you can flash a 3.1 rom image, which you can find on the web and flash it.
or you have original 3.1 rom and can flash 1.2 and 1.3 rom so it may be big enough.

someone else can say something about this switcher?

#1) you may also attache some closeup images of your kickstart swicther - some expert may give you some advice to fix it.

Last edited by emufan; 11 April 2017 at 00:43.
emufan is offline  
Old 11 April 2017, 08:53   #3
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,020
Look for a switch with a ribbon cable.
idrougge is offline  
Old 11 April 2017, 21:10   #4
Boojakascha
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 7
Thanks a lot emufan and idrougge

My problem "solved itself" as now I lost an audio channel :-( :-(
I think I am simply going to buy another Amiga 500.
Boojakascha is offline  
Old 11 April 2017, 21:37   #5
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,777
hmm, maybe a capacitor replacement is all your board needs.
maybe on your own or a electronics workshop may do this.
emufan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kickstart switcher atha New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 15 August 2016 09:50
Troubleshooting a kickstart switcher jman support.Hardware 10 25 September 2013 18:52
Trying to get a REALLY OLD Kickstart switcher to work Computolio support.Hardware 1 12 May 2007 06:47
Free: A kickstart switcher....! keropi MarketPlace 5 07 February 2005 18:29
Kickstart Switcher Uukrul support.Hardware 7 08 March 2002 05:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11450 seconds with 11 queries