English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 March 2017, 23:21   #1
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,252
MF Tanks

Heya guys,

Anyone know how to get this game to show the title correctly in WinUAE???

Tried all disks in TOSECS and every A500 configurations but all I get is this:



Compare that with HOL screenshots...
DamienD is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 March 2017, 23:26   #2
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,638
and review link lead to nothing http://hol.abime.net/5065/review
s2325 is online now  
Old 14 March 2017, 23:31   #3
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,252
Bah... if I set an A1200 configuration then all is good... go figure
DamienD is online now  
Old 15 March 2017, 23:24   #4
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 828
Confirmed

A500+/600 = Bad
A1200 = OK

Maybe coz it shared a disk with 'Jungle Strike' AGA Demo ?

It is way too fast though
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 16 March 2017, 21:31   #5
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobby_UK View Post
It is way too fast though
Hmmm, I cant see much difference when comparing gameplay between an A500 and A1200. Well, at least nothing to worry about.

Mind you for my AGA configuration I set "Cycle-exact" to I guess, slow things down a bit...
DamienD is online now  
Old 16 March 2017, 22:30   #6
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 828
I did not mean compared to...
Just Generally.

Is not 'Cycle-exact' the default for a 'QuickStart' ?
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 17 March 2017, 00:11   #7
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobby_UK View Post
I did not mean compared to...
Just Generally.
Is not 'Cycle-exact' the default for a 'QuickStart' ?
No, not unless you move the slider to the far left i.e. Best Compatibility.

...99% of the time you should set this for A500 games but as Toni mentioned recently probably not for A1200 games. See this post.
DamienD is online now  
Old 17 March 2017, 16:08   #8
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,364
Seems it's a CPU issue!

If you use the default A500 config in WinUAE but set CPU to anything other than 68000 then it displays the MF logo correctly!
BarryB is offline  
Old 17 March 2017, 17:24   #9
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,933
It's funny, I never remembered this game having any graphic glitch, and now I know why.

I went and did some hardware tests.

First I tested with a 1.3 A500: just the issue you showed, Damien. Glitchy part of logo displayed.
So I then went to the setup I had when I was young, a standard A600. Here, there's no glitch, and no title. So I always thought the game was just like that, with no title screen at all!
Last, I went to my ACA620-powered A600, and true enough, the title showed up.

So something silly must be in the code of this game where only a 020 and up displays that logo. I'm sure someone can fix that, but it's also weird nobody ever noticed. I guess A1200 were so much the norm at the time this disk was released on The One that nobody cared, not even the devs.
Akira is offline  
Old 17 March 2017, 22:16   #10
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,364
Perhaps someone who knows Shaun Southern should ask him what spec Amiga it was written for, The One just says it was for 1Mb only, nothing else! It also says it's called BATTLE TANKS.
BarryB is offline  
Old 17 March 2017, 23:22   #11
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,933
Definitely not called Battle Tanks, but that wouldn't be a bad name, and even more reminiscent of the Atari arcade original Battle Zone on which this game is inspired (nay copied from :P).

It does work on a 1MB machine to be fair, it's just that the title screen doesn't display properly. The rest of the game works just fine.

And it wouldn't be the first time an Amiga games magazine writes al ot of inaccurate shit, especially The One. I loved The One but they made up a lot of shit especially at the very last years.
Akira is offline  
Old 17 March 2017, 23:27   #12
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,364
Well, The One Magazine said Shaun Southern specifically wrote it for their coverdisk and say it's called Battle Tanks: http://amr.abime.net/amr_popup_pictu...ilesize=439608
BarryB is offline  
Old 18 March 2017, 14:49   #13
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,933
Their own title screen begs to differ, so, what is it Shaun? :P
Akira is offline  
Old 18 March 2017, 15:51   #14
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,364
That's why someone who knows Shaun needs to ask him and get the proper story of this games release, and why the CPU issue?
BarryB is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tanks Furry Daedalus support.Games 0 05 June 2016 20:56
Tanks Furry warfalcon request.Old Rare Games 5 18 March 2016 21:33
Tanks Kenan Looking for a game name ? 5 06 May 2013 08:09
Like Scorched Tanks Enverex Looking for a game name ? 2 07 July 2003 13:49
Scorchend Tanks minded request.Old Rare Games 6 21 March 2002 23:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18832 seconds with 11 queries