English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 March 2017, 14:51   #1
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 115
Wicher 500i classic turbo card for A500 (internal version)

Wicher 500i has been adapted to be mounted inside the enclosure Amiga 500.


[ Show youtube player ]

CPU: MC68000/68010
Max. clock: 50MHz
RAM: 1-8 MB SIMM 72 module (FPM,EDO)
IDE controller
SPI controller


Performance MC68000, cpu clock 50MHz (SysInfo 4.0, AIBB 6.5).
Mips: 4.43
Dhrystones: 4247
IDE transfer: ~3.1MB/s (using IdeFix97 ~5.8MB/s)
RAM transfer: ~6.99MB/s

Last edited by spidi; 08 June 2017 at 01:20.
spidi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 March 2017, 18:53   #2
meckert
Registered User

meckert's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Posts: 162
And traditionally a blog post with some more info:
http://tfardyretro.blogspot.com/2017...r-updates.html
meckert is offline  
Old 08 March 2017, 22:04   #3
1time
Amiga Lover

1time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 564
Great work! Keep it up!
1time is offline  
Old 09 March 2017, 17:21   #4
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1time View Post
Great work! Keep it up!
New video Frontier running on the Wicher500i 000@50MHz
[ Show youtube player ]
spidi is offline  
Old 09 March 2017, 17:26   #5
Signman
Registered User

Signman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 178
What, no Doom?
Signman is offline  
Old 09 March 2017, 17:32   #6
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Signman View Post
What, no Doom?
Currently I do not have.
spidi is offline  
Old 09 March 2017, 18:37   #7
KronusOfChaos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Montgomery, USA
Posts: 27
This is awesome. So many new project for the older systems like this. I'd love to see one for the big box systems like to 3000 and 4000.
KronusOfChaos is offline  
Old 10 March 2017, 00:14   #8
jack-3d
kLiker
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brno / Czech Republic
Posts: 266
Very nice! Will have to buy one more A500 now ;o)
jack-3d is offline  
Old 10 March 2017, 10:10   #9
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
Are these available to buy yet?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 10 March 2017, 14:33   #10
Signman
Registered User

Signman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 178
I believe they said April.
Signman is offline  
Old 10 March 2017, 18:45   #11
waldiamiga
Registered User

waldiamiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kraków, Poland
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by spidi View Post
Currently I do not have.
Take video of the Citadel/Cytadela. Best FPS working on A500/68000.
waldiamiga is offline  
Old 10 March 2017, 18:51   #12
ptyerman
Registered User

ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 53
Posts: 940
Quote:
Originally Posted by waldiamiga View Post
Take video of the Citadel/Cytadela. Best FPS working on A500/68000.
Oh man! I loved that game back in the day, even more than Doom.
You got me on a nostalgic trip now, will be looking for it in my boxes of floppy's tonight!
ptyerman is offline  
Old 10 March 2017, 23:15   #13
jediknight
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: bolton
Posts: 81
these are cool defo buy one.
jediknight is offline  
Old 11 March 2017, 06:37   #14
ptyerman
Registered User

ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 53
Posts: 940
Is a version of this planned for the A2000? Even a adaptor board that plugs into the CPU slot to accept this card would be great!
ptyerman is offline  
Old 09 May 2017, 12:50   #15
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptyerman View Post
Is a version of this planned for the A2000? Even a adaptor board that plugs into the CPU slot to accept this card would be great!
The Wicher 500i fits in CPU socket of the A2000.
spidi is offline  
Old 09 May 2017, 13:01   #16
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 115
Post

Review progress in work

New batch of the PCB arrived.

Assembly in the A500.
[ Show youtube player ]

First tests of SPI controller with mp3 module VS1003.
[ Show youtube player ]

Plans to support ENC28J60 (ethernet controller) and SDCARD slot
spidi is offline  
Old 09 May 2017, 13:22   #17
BrooksterMax
Registered User
BrooksterMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norfolk UK
Age: 37
Posts: 356
Very nice, will be watching this with interest. Love the Amiga scene developing so much great new hardware.
BrooksterMax is offline  
Old 09 May 2017, 14:12   #18
paul1981
Registered User

paul1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: England
Posts: 121
Brilliant stuff. I'm going to be keeping an eye on this one!
paul1981 is offline  
Old 09 May 2017, 18:05   #19
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,906
Where can one get one of these? How much does it cost?
Can you use it without populating CPU and ram sockets, just as an IDE interface?
Akira is online now  
Old 09 May 2017, 18:24   #20
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Where can one get one of these? How much does it cost?
Can you use it without populating CPU and ram sockets, just as an IDE interface?
As you can see in picture, to install it you need to remove original CPU.
utri007 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wicher 500 - new turbo card for A500 spidi News 43 24 December 2016 12:30
Impossible Mission 2025, WinUAE, A500 and Classic Version problem! BarryB support.Games 18 11 July 2016 18:07
Wanted: 2x internal floppy A500, 1x internal floppy A1000, A500 512kb fastmem high-5 MarketPlace 2 08 January 2010 21:48
Turbo card things Dr. Dude support.Hardware 16 11 August 2004 23:23
Turbo card. Needs a fix Dr. Dude support.Hardware 5 07 July 2004 19:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28791 seconds with 11 queries