English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 February 2017, 12:57   #1
szantopeter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Budapest / Hungary
Posts: 3
Pinball on Amiga 1200 does not work

Hi All

I have problem starting Pinball Dreams and Fantasies on my Amiga 1200. I have a stock Amiga 1200 with a CF hard drive installed running workbench and WHDLoad.

Here are the symptoms

Pinball Dreams : object not found on locking pd_data
Pinball Fantasies : The game starts, music plays, it acts on keyboard, but screen is black


My startup sequence is the following :

- pressing both mouse buttons to enter boot menu, disable all drives, but system
- select skip startup sequence.
- I have 166456 Chip ram
- typing addbuffers dh0: -128 gives me 1729800 chip ram

then I go the the game dir and start the game by the

wbrun pinballdreams

command.

When I hooked up the same CF card with WinUAE and 8MB ram then both games worked perfectly. What should I do to run them on a real stock amiga?
szantopeter is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 February 2017, 13:51   #2
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,686
Pinball Dreams

Quote:
Game requires 1.3 MB Chip Mem (+ 2.3 other memory for preload option)
Pinball Fantasies:

Quote:
required Chip Memory 1024 KiB ($100000)
required Expansion Memory 1536 KiB ($180000)
Only chance is to disable the PRELOAD tooltype in the games icon. Then you probably get a black flickering and sound stutter while it's loading but is could work on a stock A1200. Some games really needs fast ram though.


edit: Pinball Fantasies has a normal Amiga DOS installer. So it could work on stock A1200 too. If the WB eats too much ram than maybe booting without startup-sequence helps.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 20 February 2017 at 14:52.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 20 February 2017, 16:14   #3
szantopeter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Budapest / Hungary
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Pinball Dreams
If the WB eats too much ram than maybe booting without startup-sequence helps.
There is no chance to load anything from WB on a stock Amiga. As I wrote above everything was started by skip startup sequence, still it was not enough.
szantopeter is offline  
Old 20 February 2017, 16:18   #4
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,686
Have you actually installed Pinball Fantasies (try both OCS/ECS and AGA) with the official installer from the disks? WHDLoad may not work due to low ram but i would try at least the DOS installer.

For Pinball Dreams: There is a JST version on the EAB File Server = Commodore_Amiga/Retroplay/JST/ folder. This could work.

Quote:
The HD-Patched game will need 2Mb of memory.
It should work on ALL Kickstarts and ALL CPUs (up to '060).
Tested on A1200/68060/16MB and A1200/020/NoFast
Report me any bugs you'll find.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 20 February 2017 at 16:28.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 20 February 2017, 17:54   #5
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,915
I've added a link to JST installs in my WHDLoad thread just now.

Last edited by Retroplay; 05 April 2017 at 13:08. Reason: typo
Retroplay is offline  
Old 20 February 2017, 18:10   #6
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,372
Pinball Dreams install might be this issue: http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=1129114&postcount=2
BarryB is offline  
Old 05 April 2017, 00:28   #7
volvo_0ne
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Sheffield UK
Posts: 241
Doesn't WHDLoad take away 512k RAM even if it's the correct ROM for the machine?

If so then it's reducing the RAM of a stock A1200 by at least a quarter...

Probably best to install from the games proper HD installer?
volvo_0ne is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMIGA 1200 big partition doesn't work on real system opossumita support.Hardware 3 25 April 2016 21:03
CF-card with IDE adapter from A-1200 does not work in SX-32 Overdoc support.Hardware 5 10 June 2013 00:58
pinball fantasies on cd32 doesn't work gjb1985 Amiga scene 3 23 April 2013 22:20
Will 1200 3.1 Roms work on 4000? davideo support.Hardware 5 23 February 2008 22:06
how to make pinball fantasies work??? dante support.Games 1 30 October 2002 10:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12950 seconds with 11 queries