English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 February 2003, 14:08   #1
Puzzle
Registered User
Puzzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 99
Should I buy this A4000?

There's an A4000/040 for sale on a local Norwegian auction-site. It has the following things in it:
  • Oktagon2008 SCSI-adapter
  • Ariadne I ethernet-adapter
  • IOBlix serial/paralell-adaptor
  • CyberVision64/3D graphics-adaptor
  • Plextor 12/4/32 CD-R/RW (SCSI)
  • 2x4.5 GB SCSI harddrives
  • 3-button mouse, and a keyboard
It has Kickstart 3.1, and OS 3.9 installed.

However, there are a few problems, like these:
  • The harddrives should be replaced, as they have some read/write-errors.
  • The keyboard lacks the ESC-button, and has some problems with the contact between the keys and the circuit-board underneath the keys.
  • The hard-drive bracket is partly defective.

How much is this thing worth?
Puzzle is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 February 2003, 14:59   #2
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
Quote:
However, there are a few problems, like these:

The harddrives should be replaced, as they have some read/write-errors.
The keyboard lacks the ESC-button, and has some problems with the contact between the keys and the circuit-board underneath the keys.
The hard-drive bracket is partly defective.
hmmm, duff harddrives...

you basically have 3 choices,

1 if the read/write areas are grouped together just partition around them.

2 replace them with a scsi drive

3 put a large ide drive in it

as for the keyboard, usually just totally stripping it down and cleaning it will cure the contact problems, the ESC key can be replaced if it's just a missing keytop, or get a pc keyboard adaptor...

The harddrive bracket is easy, it's only a rectangle of metal with the top edge bent over and a couple of holes drilled in it, easy enough to make one...

as for a price, I wouldn't pay over 200(uk) for it...
Severin is offline  
Old 08 February 2003, 16:26   #3
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
I guess you have to expect to do some repairs on older equipment. Good thing small scsi hard drives are cheap these days. Any mechanical part will crap out sooner or later especially cheaply built keyboards.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 09 February 2003, 00:49   #4
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
about 200-250 dollars max.

If it has the original C= 040 card think twice about it.
cv643d is offline  
Old 10 February 2003, 02:43   #5
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member

Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally posted by cv643d
about 200-250 dollars max.

If it has the original C= 040 card think twice about it.

just wondering, what was wrong with the original c= 040 cards?
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
Old 10 February 2003, 02:54   #6
Puzzle
Registered User
Puzzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 99
It has the original C= 040-card, or at least I think so. The seller would probably state something else, if there is some sort of accelerator in there.

Anyway, I think I'll turn this one down. A "big-box" Amiga with Ethernet and a graphics-card would be neat, but not for such a high price.

Maybe I should get a "regular" A4000, and one of those PCI-busboards, and a graphics card, and a soundcard, and a Ethernet-adapter, and... and...
Maybe I should win in the national lottery first.
Puzzle is offline  
Old 12 February 2003, 20:47   #7
IanS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nottingham England
Posts: 209
The controller board that Commodore shipped with their 040 machines was designed for the 030, hence the machine was partially crippled. The Warp Engine and Cyberstorm acelerators etc overcame this problem. But hey, an A4000 is an A4000, complete with Zorro 3, IDE and an 040... you have to start somewhere, and Cyberstorms can be added later.
IanS is offline  
Old 14 February 2003, 21:19   #8
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
Quote:
Originally posted by Puzzle
Maybe I should get a "regular" A4000, and one of those PCI-busboards, and a graphics card, and a soundcard, and a Ethernet-adapter, and... and...
Maybe I should win in the national lottery first.
Drop the PCI slots and go oldschool style with Zorro boards
cv643d is offline  
Old 14 February 2003, 22:39   #9
IanS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nottingham England
Posts: 209
I saw some seriously souped up Amigas last year at a big trade fair/computer show at the National Exhibition Centre (Birmingham, England). 060, PPC, Voodoo 3, Soundblasters... the list went on and on. Some were A4000, some A1200, all in trendy towers with clear sides and flourecent lighting. Really cool stuff... but, and it's a BIG but... these things cost over 2500 UKP. Ouch!

I think I could get a G4 Mac AND a fast P4 PC for that price... and probably enough left for my favourite Sony Clie
IanS is offline  
Old 14 February 2003, 22:42   #10
IanS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nottingham England
Posts: 209
When I said cost 2500 UKP, I meant for the owners to build up... not that they were for sale.

It was nice to see what they could pull off on that kind of hardware though. Kinda makes you proud
IanS is offline  
Old 14 February 2003, 22:43   #11
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
And even with all that hardware the amiga would be kind of slow for the money
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 14 February 2003, 22:47   #12
IanS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nottingham England
Posts: 209
Yep. There is definitely a law of diminishing returns on computer hardware, especially the "niche" stuff like the miggy. If money were no object I'd build one up for the sake of it. But then money is a big object at the moment
IanS is offline  
Old 22 February 2003, 17:38   #13
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 53
Posts: 584
If money were no object I'd track down all the transputer zorro II cards ever made and fitt them into a full size 19" rack mount cabinet - real time rendering for VistaPro (on full rez/detail etc...) with enough cards, and they had their own versions of the system libs/commands so full mutithreading on a massivley parallell system... it'd still kick Intel's ass, unless you go for quad xeon running unix... cost a bit steep though.
Syko is offline  
Old 24 February 2003, 20:07   #14
IanS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nottingham England
Posts: 209
Link together all the A600's of this world in to one giant render farm and you average PC would do it faster!

It's so sad when your mobile phone has more processing power than your Amiga.
IanS is offline  
Old 25 February 2003, 17:20   #15
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 53
Posts: 584
Not my retro phone - Motorola 3788 it's a phone not a PDA/game box/modem etc, and it's cost me 120 in the last 2.5 years - including buying it. If I want to talk to my mates I go round their house and talk for free...
Syko is offline  
Old 25 February 2003, 17:46   #16
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,269
Talking about A4000 prices, how about this one?

AMIGA 4000/040 (desktop)
18MB RAM
IDE HD 4GB
GENLOCK GVP G-LOCK
VLAB MOTION 2.0
TOCATTA
CSII-2 board + HD SCSII-2 2GB

All for less than 1000 dollars :P
Akira is offline  
Old 25 February 2003, 18:46   #17
IanS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nottingham England
Posts: 209
Sounds nice, but I wouldn't fork out that much money for an Amiga these days. I can't justify the cost.

If I were to win the lottery though, I'd have one no problem. And a dual processor G4 Mac, and dual Athlon MP's and... it goes on and on. I would love to get a Draco cube.

Hey Syko, glad to hear that I'm not the only one with an old Nokia. A phone is a phone is a phone. As long as you can talk to somebody, who cares hoe many games it has? I bought my girlfriend a new (cheapish) mobile and it does a zillion things and it's still half the size of mine!
IanS is offline  
Old 25 February 2003, 18:47   #18
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 53
Posts: 584
BUY NOW! That's a full PAL/NTSC video editing system! I would add as much RAM to the CSII card as you can get hold of though.

Fair enough you could get a PC that would just do the same job (not the s/w though) but it wouldn't be as nice to use...
Syko is offline  
Old 25 February 2003, 21:10   #19
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,269
I'm not willing to spend 1k dollars on it yet, I have to move first.
After the studio is set up I might nab it. This thing will be there for ages, nobody in its right mind would buy an amiga for 3000 peso today

I'm not right in the mind, yes
Akira is offline  
Old 25 February 2003, 22:50   #20
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
$1000 is kind of alot for a machine that old. how many A4000's were made anyway?
Unknown_K is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want to buy 040 or 060 accelerator for my A4000 Caius MarketPlace 9 28 October 2009 04:52
What should I buy next??? paul773car Amiga scene 8 25 June 2009 22:42
I'm going to buy a new pc nnever2000 support.WinUAE 28 23 December 2004 16:42
Wanted 040 or 060 for A4000 tp buy dmrvf support.Hardware 1 06 June 2003 18:39
A4000T - to buy or not to buy? DPainter MarketPlace 31 31 May 2002 01:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21850 seconds with 11 queries