English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 February 2017, 05:53   #1
Signman
Registered User

Signman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 181
Thumbs up Amiga 1000 purchase, what to do?

Just purchased a beat up, possibly working A1000.
Haven't even received it yet and here I am asking for advice.

Even if this boots, I really don't want to run this hardware. My first Amiga was the 1000 so nostalgic for it.

I'm thinking of pulling the MB and installing either a Mist board, Pi,or if it ever comes out, the Replay board. I have a couple of old beige pc keyboards and the look would be close.

What would you do?
Signman is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 February 2017, 07:15   #2
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney
Posts: 223
Just got one myself, I'm hoping to add an accelerator (ACA 500 +, maybe a Vampire). Not very creative, I know. Couldn't bear to pull it apart though...
Marchie is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 07:15   #3
thgill
Registered User

thgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, Ohio / USA
Age: 41
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by Signman View Post
What would you do?
I would smack you across the face for even contemplating gutting it to install a raspberry pi.
thgill is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 07:31   #4
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by thgill View Post
I would smack you across the face for even contemplating gutting it to install a raspberry pi.
I would get behind you in that line. An A1000 is a lovely machine which should not be gutted but brought back to its former glory and thoughtfully upgraded.
demolition is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 12:21   #5
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,020
While I don't agree it's a wonderful machine, there are enough people out there who think so that it's a waste to see it destroyed by someone who doesn't appreciate it.
idrougge is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 13:08   #6
EugeneNine
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Ohio
Posts: 161
You'd have a big empty box with a little tiny Pi inside. At very least carefully disassemble and sell the internals to someone else who can't find any.
EugeneNine is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 13:46   #7
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by thgill View Post
I would smack you across the face for even contemplating gutting it to install a raspberry pi.
Indeed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EugeneNine View Post
You'd have a big empty box with a little tiny Pi inside. At very least carefully disassemble and sell the internals to someone else who can't find any.
Indeed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
While I don't agree it's a wonderful machine, there are enough people out there who think so that it's a waste to see it destroyed by someone who doesn't appreciate it.
Indeed.
Thorham is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 14:37   #8
Signman
Registered User

Signman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 181
Come on, tell me how you really feel

I had the original when some of you were toddlers, trust me I had have a lot of love for this machine but after updating the original a few times it was time to get a 500 with more chipram and expandability. That was around 1990.

Long ago sold those, now have others, including a few 500 and 1200s. Your passion has given me pause to reconsider, not sure I could do it anyways.

Really hoping I can clean the exterior, really bad looking.
Maybe I will post progress.
Signman is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 15:50   #9
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 372
I'd love to get a PAL A1000. Saw one in national adds for NOK 10 000,- (no, I'm not paying that kind of stupid money for it).
Get someone to overhaul it (replace capacitors etc) and get in line for a Vampire.

It _is_ a stunningly beautiful machine. I'd even contemplate getting the C= 128 that it shares its design with.
NorthWay is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 16:02   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Signman View Post
Come on, tell me how you really feel
Why don't you send it my way and I'll give it some proper love. I will not gut it.
Gutting an A1000 to do something stupid with it is, well, sad.
Would I use an A1000? Rarely. But I wouldn't gut it!
Akira is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 18:38   #11
Signman
Registered User

Signman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 181
I am on the list for the vampire 500. I would consider putting it in this if MB is good.
But to what avail? With 512 chipram whdload isn't going to work well.
Signman is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 19:15   #12
Xebec
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Philadelphia, USA
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Signman View Post
I am on the list for the vampire 500. I would consider putting it in this if MB is good.
But to what avail? With 512 chipram whdload isn't going to work well.
This is what has me holding off on ordering one for my NTSC Amiga 500 -- the 512KB chipram problem.

However, I'm going to order an ACA500plus for my 500 because it is able to convert (Without modifying the mainboard) 512KB trapdoor ram expansions into chipram - 1 MB of chip ram, with a mildly faster system (68000 @ 14 mhz default, overclockable to 42 mhz) makes it probably faster than a stock A1200, and 1MB is enough to run quite a lot of OCS things..

I read a few posts about ACA500/ACA500plus working in A1000 but you might want to ask about that and it's ability to work with RAM expansions on the A1000 (which I believe there are several choices for..). Of course the plus gives you fast harddrive storage and extra fast ram of course for a much cheaper than vampire price..
Xebec is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 19:18   #13
EugeneNine
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Ohio
Posts: 161
yea, yea I know what to do, send it to me

I can't recall the 1000 system board, can you solder on the additional ram like the 500?
EugeneNine is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 20:53   #14
mattsoft
Registered User

mattsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 52
Congrats! The A1000 is a classic and one of the most elegant computers ever made.

Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
I would get behind you in that line. An A1000 is a lovely machine which should not be gutted but brought back to its former glory and thoughtfully upgraded.
And I would be 3rd in line to smack you again, and maybe kick you to the ground.

I have 2 A1000s and have done very little to modify them. Everything is pretty much reversible and none of them have compromised the case.

If you want to have a flexible Amiga, go for a 600 or 1200 where you can easily install chip/fast RAM and CF cards. The A1000 is sort of meant to be left alone, in my opinion.
mattsoft is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 20:55   #15
mattsoft
Registered User

mattsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xebec View Post

I read a few posts about ACA500/ACA500plus working in A1000 but you might want to ask about that and it's ability to work with RAM expansions on the A1000 (which I believe there are several choices for..). Of course the plus gives you fast harddrive storage and extra fast ram of course for a much cheaper than vampire price..
I have an ACA500+ and it works on my "rejuvenated Amiga" reliably. This Amiga has the Expert Services Rejuvenator board with the 1MB ECS and 2.04 KS on ROM. On my plain, vanilla 1000, the ACA500+ will not boot. The Vampire might be a better way to go.
mattsoft is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 20:59   #16
Signman
Registered User

Signman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 181
Haven't hooked up to monitor, will do later. Also no keyboard.
I do hear the old floppy click, so hopeful.

Took it apart at work, here is photo of interior. Looks really clean unlike exterior.
Revision A
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	amiga 1000 board.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	309.3 KB
ID:	51996  
Signman is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 23:32   #17
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Signman View Post
Haven't hooked up to monitor, will do later. Also no keyboard.
I do hear the old floppy click, so hopeful.

Took it apart at work, here is photo of interior. Looks really clean unlike exterior.
Revision A
Beautiful! You probably don't need me to tell you, but it's pretty easy to solder an A2000 keyboard adapter to test it out (if you have an A2000 keyboard already of course!).

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattsoft View Post
I have an ACA500+ and it works on my "rejuvenated Amiga" reliably. This Amiga has the Expert Services Rejuvenator board with the 1MB ECS and 2.04 KS on ROM. On my plain, vanilla 1000, the ACA500+ will not boot. The Vampire might be a better way to go.
I wasn't aware you needed a rejuvinator board to get the ACA500+ working, is this the same story for a Vampire? What's the story with the rejuvinator board? What does it do? (as before mentioned, I just acquired an A1000, so still learning).
Marchie is offline  
Old 10 February 2017, 01:42   #18
mattsoft
Registered User

mattsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marchie View Post
I wasn't aware you needed a rejuvinator board to get the ACA500+ working, is this the same story for a Vampire? What's the story with the rejuvinator board? What does it do? (as before mentioned, I just acquired an A1000, so still learning).
I don't know if you need to or not, but that's what I've experienced using these 2 Amigas.

This blog talks about getting an ACA500 (not plus) running on a pretty stock A1000: http://amigax1000.blogspot.com/2016/...miga-1000.html -- he talks about a high miss rate when trying to boot the A1000 with the ACA500. My experience has been a 100% miss rate for booting the ACA500+ on a stock Amiga. However, on the Rejuvenated A1000, it boots pretty much every time.

There is a video of someone with a Vampire 500 in what looks to be a stock A1000 booting just fine: [ Show youtube player ].

Based on the info above, I'm guessing that a Vampire would be a better upgrade than an ACA500 for the A1000. I'm the list for a Vampire 500 and will try it on my stock A1000 if and when Apollo ever contacts me. If someone has a Vampire 500 they want to sell, let me know!
mattsoft is offline  
Old 10 February 2017, 02:13   #19
deladrevoc
Not enough time

deladrevoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: England
Posts: 9
If a Pi or a MIST doesn't seem right in it's own skin, will it feel right in an Amiga's?

You are the custodian of this machine now. Don't take away its heart and soul, cherish it as it stands - as part of your collection.

500s & 1200s were made for upgrading :O)
deladrevoc is offline  
Old 10 February 2017, 02:44   #20
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by Signman View Post
Just purchased a beat up, possibly working A1000.
Haven't even received it yet and here I am asking for advice.

Even if this boots, I really don't want to run this hardware. My first Amiga was the 1000 so nostalgic for it.

I'm thinking of pulling the MB and installing either a Mist board, Pi,or if it ever comes out, the Replay board. I have a couple of old beige pc keyboards and the look would be close.

What would you do?
If the disks didn't come with the A1000 already, you should seek out the Kickstart/Workbench 1.0-1.3 ADFs that are floating somewhere on the Internet and find some way to transfer them onto disk.
B14ck W01f is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ebay Purchase kratam support.Other 21 08 March 2016 01:16
Amiga WB 3.5 and/or 3.9 purchase? eebuckeye Amiga scene 15 02 May 2014 00:49
Amiga 1000 Inboard 1000 by Spirit - help needed amiman99 support.Hardware 0 13 December 2011 04:50
Connecting Amiga 1000 DKB Insider to 1000 without daughterboard huggies support.Hardware 0 05 October 2008 11:10
Purchase a kick up disk Andypoos Amiga scene 14 14 August 2006 21:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23401 seconds with 12 queries