English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 February 2017, 16:22   #21
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,270
<sigh>

You guys clearly don't know when to quit... I'm sooooo bored of reading these posts... You clearly can get along and have different opinions... Thread closed
DamienD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 March 2017, 22:22   #22
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
<sigh>

You guys clearly don't know when to quit... I'm sooooo bored of reading these posts... You clearly can get along and have different opinions... Thread closed
Thanks, Damien!

Thread cleaned up and reopened. Now, let's try again, shall we, guys?

Edit: And moved the thread out of the News forum until it's back on track.
prowler is offline  
Old 01 March 2017, 22:42   #23
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I wonder why they didn't make a 020/030 version, I don't have a 040 and Riva 050 worked with this.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 01 March 2017, 22:48   #24
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
Thanks for reopening prowler. This could be a useful thread.

I have trouble with RiVA v0.52 on my 3000T CSMK3 68060@75MHz with Mediator+Voodoo 4. The AmigaOS 3.9 P96 screen mode is 16 bit 565 "PC" LE. Workbench windows and PIP only give a grey screen but audio plays. I noticed no instability. The verbose fps is much higher than it should be so it acts like it is skipping part of the normal (rendering?) process. Is anyone else having this problem?

I did some benchmarks and (SIMD related) comparisons but had to do more estimating than I would have like in the following thread.

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...8&postcount=22

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
I wonder why they didn't make a 020/030 version, I don't have a 040 and Riva 050 worked with this.
Did you try the new version of RiVA? How does it work on your 020/030 Amiga?

It should be fairly easy to keep it compatible with 68020-68030+6888x (and 68040) if the old version is.

Last edited by matthey; 02 March 2017 at 17:40.
matthey is offline  
Old 02 March 2017, 14:15   #25
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 365
I'd be surprised if there were any FPU-code in RiVA regardless of the version.
grond is offline  
Old 02 March 2017, 14:29   #26
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Ups! Forgive me. I tell you that I tried it yesterday, but I don't know what I did.

Yes, it is working with 030 and without FPU too. Many thanks for the update, I will include it in my next AKReal update if you don't mind, as the author already gave me permission to use Riva time ago.

Edit: What I see is that with the default settings it works perfect, full screen with AGA, but changing to RTG it opens windowed and then I can listen my mpg video but not watch it. If I select, using RTG, the AGA setting it opens full screen perfect. I don't know what setting should I use to watch it using RTG and Picasso drivers, because I've already tried enabling the Picasso setting.

It looks a bit rare with DISPLAY=TRUECOLOR, but it's the only option appart of AGA that seems to work.
I use as monitor a Picasso IV 24bit BGR.


Last edited by Retrofan; 02 March 2017 at 16:13.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 02 March 2017, 17:38   #27
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by grond View Post
I'd be surprised if there were any FPU-code in RiVA regardless of the version.
Yes, it appears to be all integer and probably compatible with 68020-68060 (there were 68040-68060 MOVE16 instructions commented out). I couldn't find any FPU instructions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Edit: What I see is that with the default settings it works perfect, full screen with AGA, but changing to RTG it opens windowed and then I can listen my mpg video but not watch it. If I select, using RTG, the AGA setting it opens full screen perfect. I don't know what setting should I use to watch it using RTG and Picasso drivers, because I've already tried enabling the Picasso setting.
That is what happens with AmigaOS 3.9 P96 RTG here also. Grey screen with no rendering but audio.
matthey is offline  
Old 02 March 2017, 17:48   #28
wawa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: berlin/germany
Posts: 883
@matt

have you tested with the different configs under uae? i dont seem to have an mpeg1 file at hand..
wawa is offline  
Old 02 March 2017, 19:54   #29
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I converted an Amiga Tv ad to mpg and I included it in the Riva-050 drawer on AKReal if you've got it or you can download the full install.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 02 March 2017, 19:54   #30
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by wawa View Post
@matt

have you tested with the different configs under uae? i dont seem to have an mpeg1 file at hand..
No. You should be able to find MPEG 1 files on the web. The file names usually end in .mpg or .mpeg.
matthey is offline  
Old 02 March 2017, 20:43   #31
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,054
Su AFA OS small video MPG1 seen discreetly, not seen instead the videos in MPG2 or other formats.

HERE you can download video test format MPG1
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RiVA Play-MPG1.jpg
Views:	822
Size:	141.9 KB
ID:	52329  
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 02 March 2017, 22:29   #32
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Great AmigaSystem, can you show a screenshot of the icon info or just tell what options did you select to play the videos?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 02 March 2017, 22:38   #33
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,054
You can associate an icon, or use request

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 31 May 2017 at 12:24.
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 02 March 2017, 23:18   #34
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I ask for the options you have selected in the icon-info of Riva-0.52-m68k
Retrofan is offline  
Old 02 March 2017, 23:26   #35
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,054
I left everything as default, see screenshot

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 31 May 2017 at 12:24.
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 03 March 2017, 00:21   #36
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
You are using a UAE monitor instead of Picasso, right?

We were talking about Picasso, "real emulated hardware" .

I mean that it works with AmiKit but not with AKReal as I only try emulated real hardware.

Last edited by Retrofan; 03 March 2017 at 00:40.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 03 March 2017, 00:52   #37
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,054
UAE Zorro III 32Bit = Ok Work
Picasso IV 24Bit = Does Not Work
Picasso IV 8Bit = Ok Work
PAL= Ok Work
Super72= Ok Work
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 03 March 2017, 09:30   #38
buggs
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rostock/Germany
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthey View Post
Thanks for reopening prowler. This could be a useful thread.

I have trouble with RiVA v0.52 on my 3000T CSMK3 68060@75MHz with Mediator+Voodoo 4. The AmigaOS 3.9 P96 screen mode is 16 bit 565 "PC" LE. Workbench windows and PIP only give a grey screen but audio plays. I noticed no instability. The verbose fps is much higher than it should be so it acts like it is skipping part of the normal (rendering?) process. Is anyone else having this problem?

I did some benchmarks and (SIMD related) comparisons but had to do more estimating than I would have like in the following thread.

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...8&postcount=22

Did you try the new version of RiVA? How does it work on your 020/030 Amiga?

It should be fairly easy to keep it compatible with 68020-68030+6888x (and 68040) if the old version is.
My apologies for not getting back into EAB earlier. I've got an idea why the windowed mode does not work in some configurations. Please try a test build: http://bax.comlab.uni-rostock.de/fil...iVA-0.53a0-68k (changed WRENDER_DIRECT to 0) I've experimented with direct drawing to the window and while it worked on my setups as intended, undesired side effects sure are a possibility. Sadly, the much needed PIP is not widely available to Amiga users.

RiVA as released on Aminet does work on 68020/30. Originally, I aligned the framebuffers and re-implemented the zero vector Motion Compensation (16x16 block copy) by Move16, which is 68040+. This got changed back at some point (not by me). As a consequence, it's a small bit slower on 040+ but still supports the older CPUs.

One display mode not available to the current 68k build is RGB24. (BGR24 is supported).
buggs is offline  
Old 03 March 2017, 09:44   #39
buggs
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rostock/Germany
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Su AFA OS small video MPG1 seen discreetly, not seen instead the videos in MPG2 or other formats.

HERE you can download video test format MPG1
Nice screenshot. I actually never tested on AROS. MPEG-2 support is not planned right now. While the video coding is not much different (just minor changes in the bitstream syntax), MPEG-2 brings to points that keep me from implementing it:
a) typical MPEG-2 files have a higher resolution and bitrate than any 68k derivate can handle right now
b) Interlace is a mandatory feature in MPEG-2 towards which I don't have much love.

May I ask a favor? I'd be interested whether PIP mode is operational. If I read correctly, you have a Picasso-IV at your disposal. That card offers two video modes supported by the original RiVA which I could not test, display=accupak and display=pip (as commandline arguments).
buggs is offline  
Old 03 March 2017, 10:11   #40
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs View Post
Nice screenshot. I actually never tested on AROS.
The screenshot was not done on AROS but on AFA OS

My AFA OS
[ Show youtube player ]

With Graphic Card With Picasso IV (32 or 24 Bit) noticed that the window can be resized? Picasso IV 8-bit video can be seen in full screen! UAE Zorro III 32, 24, 16 no resized?

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 31 May 2017 at 12:24.
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RiVa AMMX Benchmarks TuKo Amiga scene 82 26 January 2017 20:59
RIVA (68k MPEG Player) is now free NovaCoder News 7 14 March 2016 11:25
RiVA mpeg player amiga request.Apps 18 25 February 2014 10:32
Never released??? tomcat666 project.aGTW 18 18 January 2010 14:44
riva amiga request.Apps 6 12 May 2008 18:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22448 seconds with 12 queries