English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 February 2003, 23:49   #1
Peter Leyland
 
Posts: n/a
SCSI CD ROM & Squirrel interface

I have just been given a cd rom and squirrel interface. I know they work because they were operational when I was given them.
I have connected them to my A1200 and run the quirrel software floppy. It installs everything it needs to but doesn't appear to be recognising that the CD Rom is there. When I run the SCSI Mounter it just says <no device present>

Please look/click in link below:

http://www.sthelensphotographs.co.uk/DSCF0004.JPG

Can anyone please help, my mind aint fresh and crisp like it used to be, my brain cells are dying off quick.

Pete
St Helens
England
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 February 2003, 00:54   #2
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
a few things to try...

make sure the squirrel is in properly (some need a lot of force to locate properly)

make sure you turn on the cdrom berfore the miggy

check the dosdriver has the correct device and unit set (look in the icon tooltypes as well as they override the script)

you could try removing your fast ram, some ram boards / accelarators arn't compatible (but I think that was only if 8 mb was installed)

make sure you have no other 'drivers' for any pcmcia cards you might have had still lurking on the system...
Severin is offline  
Old 08 February 2003, 14:51   #3
Peter Leyland
 
Posts: n/a
Thanx for the info, It turned out to be a disaster, one of the pins was bent on the motherboard and it broke when I tried to straighten it. I need a A1200 MB.......Anyone know of a good cheap deal?....Pete
 
Old 08 February 2003, 16:31   #4
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Have you terminated the last scsi device in the chain? If you dont nothing connected to the scsi interface will show up. You can either terminate the cdrom (this one being external) with a terminator on the back of the enclosure or by using the terminator jumper on the back of the cdrom itself (next to where you pick the scsi ID)

As far as the motherboard find out if the pin that broke is even used.. dont think they all are.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 08 February 2003, 17:09   #5
Peter Leyland
 
Posts: n/a
Thanx.....The pin thats snapped is the exteme left bottom as you peek down the slot....
 
Old 09 February 2003, 00:45   #6
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
Quote:
Originally posted by Peter Leyland
Thanx.....The pin thats snapped is the exteme left bottom as you peek down the slot....
iirc, that is pin 34 or 35 both of which are ground as is pin 1, so both the left edge pins are ground.

If you can get at it, remove the rest if the pin (bummer of a job) get another straight pin, push it through the connector and solder it to pin 1.

Probably alot easier to get a new motherboard though
Severin is offline  
Old 09 February 2003, 01:53   #7
Peter Leyland
 
Posts: n/a
I think its going to be easier to do away with the cdrom and squirrel and just network my pc with the amiga. To be honest I don't know why the hell I even decided to dig all my old amiga stuff up and blow the dust off it. I suppose its because they bring back some good old nostalgia, the good old miggy kept me out of the pub many a night....I remember 'Gods' and I was hooked on it but the infinite lives 'Never' worked on it, I would love to be able to finish that game with a cheat, and many more of course.
I will have to find the best and easiest method of networking.

I have got that QNX 6.1.0 OS for the Amiga (Amithlon) I've been having a mess about with that, I find it a very attractive desktop and icons, I just aint got round to sussing it all out yet.
If anyone wants a copy they are very welcome if they care to travel up near St. Helens for it. Yours for free.

http://www.sthelensphotographs.co.uk/DSCF0001.JPG

Pete
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Squirrel SCSI CD-Rom & ClassicWB Reido project.ClassicWB 0 26 July 2013 18:01
The scsi interface metc vs squirrel scsi conflict rampartsagain support.Hardware 29 24 June 2012 18:50
Problem with CD-ROM on Squirrel interface ketma support.Hardware 0 28 May 2005 18:31
Amiga Cd-Rom with Squirrel SCSI Interface Big-Byte MarketPlace 2 04 January 2005 12:16
scsi cd rom+surf squirrel interface? backtoskooldaze support.Hardware 4 11 October 2004 00:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18698 seconds with 11 queries