English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 February 2017, 16:49   #1
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,091
burning cds within emulation

have to burn/copy a lot of audio cds this weekend.
these are normal audio cds without any copy protection.
so nothing special which could cause problems somehow.
would like to be able to burn them on amiga workbench.
possible to burn cds from within winuae? would be great!
and which software should i use? can't take makecd.
demo version of this tool does 10 audio tracks only.
honx is offline  
Old 03 February 2017, 17:02   #2
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,477
Have you checked what's on the EAB file server?
zipper is offline  
Old 03 February 2017, 17:06   #3
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,477
Btw, Amiga Future has in downloads "The fullversion of MakeCD"
zipper is offline  
Old 03 February 2017, 17:37   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,121
CD burning should work if you switch Misc panel SCSI Mode to SPTI. (But really? Whats the point? )
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 03 February 2017, 17:44   #5
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by zipper View Post
Btw, Amiga Future has in downloads "The fullversion of MakeCD"
i tried the version from amigafuture, but it says:
Quote:
Can't open library >>PROGDIR:Modules/makecdromfs.module<<,
minimum version required is 0!
and indeed, this file makecdromfs.module is nowhere to be found.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zipper View Post
Have you checked what's on the EAB file server?
haven't looked on eab file server yet for makecd.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
CD burning should work if you switch Misc panel SCSI Mode to SPTI. (But really? Whats the point? )
i like doing things on good old workbench!
with amiga interface and everything!

Last edited by honx; 03 February 2017 at 17:50.
honx is offline  
Old 03 February 2017, 21:35   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,732
MakeCD is available for free from the author's web site: http://www.estamos.de/makecd/
thomas is offline  
Old 03 February 2017, 21:35   #7
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,091
is there any other way configuring makecd?
it doesn't let me change any settings based on cycle-menues.
so i can't change "track at once" to "disk at once" or similar.
i also can't change writemode from "test mode" to "write after test".
this means: i can test burning a cd but i can't burn it for real.

or is there other cd burning software which doesn't have problems?
honx is offline  
Old 03 February 2017, 22:58   #8
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,905
I used it on my A4000 MasterISO excellent program to burn, you can see it in this old movie

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 03 February 2017, 23:22   #9
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,091
unfortunately i can't follow, i don't understand anything.
honx is offline  
Old 04 February 2017, 02:41   #10
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,091
finally i got makecd working. burning second disk right now.
had to disable quickhelp for changing cycle based gadgets.

did not install latest beta of makecd, only "stable" v3.2c.
from triton gui i only copied required triton.library into libs:,
a bit sceptical about installing yet another gui enhancer...

in terms of copying audio cds:
makecd seems to do a better job than windows media player.
cds which i copy have tracks kind of fading into the next one.
windows media player puts way too long pause between tracks.
after burning with makecd these gaps are short, almost perfect!

only downside: makecd in emulated amigaos only burns 4x speed.
this makes the process of copying 52 cds in total very slow...
but as mentioned above, outcome is much better than with wmp!
so i guess, i finally found the point (the use) of this, @toni.
i stick to makecd for these 52 disks, even though it takes longer.
honx is offline  
Old 04 February 2017, 02:58   #11
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,905
The CD Audio it is preferable to burn at low speed
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 04 February 2017, 15:17   #12
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,091
another downside is: if makecd crashes for what ever reason,
then drive is locked and a have to reboot not only amigaos.
have to reboot the pc to be able to open the drive again.
and of course a blank cd is gone as well...
but it's okay, it only happened once by now...
honx is offline  
Old 17 February 2017, 02:21   #13
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: DigitalCorruption/iNT
Posts: 242
I, too, love Workbench and doing things from Amiga still. However, I've not been able to get MakeCD from within WinUAE (AmigaOS 3.5) to burn as it does with my real Amiga 4000T with a DVD-ROM.

I've changed the settings in Misc, and am currently using WinUAE 3.4.1.0, but I've also used 3.3.0.0, 3.2.2.0. If I don't use uaescsi.device then MakeCD gives errors. I've also switched SPTI; basically multiple attempts. Hmm!! With my Amiga 4000T the GUI doesn't update and there is a work-around for it but I haven't bothered to apply it since most of my burns aren't an entire CD. BUT if I do burn almost a complete CD then it's about 60 minutes of the GUI not updating and the CD is burned well.
However, with WinUAE...the DVD drive will spin for about 15 or so minutes and then it's done. The light just blinks. My Blu-ray drive does the same thing. Oh, that drink that only blinks...is an IDE DVD/CD optical.

SCSI Emulation, SPTI, SPTI + SCSI SCAN with uaescsi.device...nada.
I've also used CDFS automount CD/DVD drives. Next thing is to disable CyberstromPPC SCSI 0 and check that. All if this suggests it should work, but...yep, it junk hung..CD has stopped.

Anyone have any ideas while I continue to investigate it? I have an i7 930 with 18GB RAM and it's slightly overclocked. It runs great. So, no speed challenges here.

As for Audio CDs, I suggest a program for Windows called Easy CD-DA Extractor. I bought a license for it years ago, before they switched the the most recently ugly interface. But it burns very well, and with most newer hardware, burn speed doesn't really matter like it used to.

Last edited by AC/DC HACKER!; 17 February 2017 at 02:25. Reason: Updating Hardaware info.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 17 February 2017, 12:15   #14
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,091
for me makecd works: using uaescsi.device as exec device, unit 1, CDR_SCSI3_ATAPI as driver.
at least for low burning speeds. about cdda extractor, i'll have a look if i can still get it somewhere...
honx is offline  
Old 17 February 2017, 18:59   #15
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: DigitalCorruption/iNT
Posts: 242
Using uaescsi.device and unit 1 with SCSI3_ATAPI isn't enough info for me. But a new moment, and day, I'm now testing with Unit 1. More investigating...
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 17 February 2017, 23:01   #16
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: DigitalCorruption/iNT
Posts: 242
Download the last version. Didn't install, not any need to do that since the program is ready "out of the box". Pasted code, and using Basic settings. Kept CSPPC's Unit 0, and it started actually updating the GUI.. CD finished burning, but when the close process was done the CD light went out BUT never returned "done" signal to MakeCD. So stuck on the "In about 3 minutes it'll be finished." Hmm... Well, that's further.

Then I attempted with changing CPU to A500/1200 speed from Fastest Possible. Didn't really make any difference. I'm wondering if its the CD. Next is to use a different kind of CD. Well, different CD didn't matter. Now I'll change speeds. None of that is it.

I found it! It doesn't function correctly with my Sony DVD/CD Burner with an IDE connection for some reason. Hangs after complete burn and "fix". However, it does function totally now with my ASUS BW-12B1ST Blu-ray Burner at full speeds, data and audio. Ahhh, now I'm able to burn CDs back and forth if need be. Sweet! So, some drives might be limited....or, the program modules for MakeCD are limited. Anyway, I hope this helps someone else.

I'm using SPTI in the Misic/SCSI area. Along with uaescsi.device and mapping the drive letter to Accelerator0. CSPPC SCSI 0 set to Mount CDs.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 24 August 2018, 09:36   #17
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,091
i wanted to copy a cd again, using good old workbench like i did early 2017 successfully for 52 cds.
for whatever reason winuae (version 4.0.1) doesn't automount cds anymore if set to scsi to spti.
if i select drive letter in cd rom options manually, cd is finally mounted and visible on workbench.
now burning (or simply reading cd for image) doesnt't work anymore. error: screenshot attached.
and if i try to play audio cd with spti enabled in miscellaneous tab, also playback is mute.
same with spti + scsi scan. i have nothing changed since i last copied cds back in february 2017.
there is only one icon "cd1:unlesbar" and no icon for audio cd.
so, what has changed? does anyone know? and why does unit change from cd0 to cd1?

//edit: only winuae versions have changed a few times between february 2017 and today.
but i don't want to roll back, just for making two copies of one audio cd.
and i don't even know anymore, which version of winuae i was using back in february 2017.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	makecd_error.PNG
Views:	55
Size:	244.0 KB
ID:	59481  

Last edited by honx; 05 September 2018 at 19:49.
honx is offline  
Old 24 August 2018, 11:06   #18
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,905
From Tools Menu Change Unit Settings Add 0 (Drive Read/Write)

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 13 September 2018 at 19:54.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 24 August 2018, 14:44   #19
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,091
thx, this one worked in combination with manually selecting drive letter in cd rom options.
honx is offline  
Old 30 August 2018, 22:54   #20
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,905
Yes this is very important on AmigaOS, tried to Burn a CD? I unfortunately can not test because my CD/DVD Burner is not supported by MakeCD.

On WinUAE I used MasterISO to create Bootable CDs for my CD32, the ISOs created then burned them on PC with Nero Burning.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Burning Rubber DamienD support.Games 5 15 November 2015 02:33
Amiga CD32 Burning CDs AmigaBoingBall support.WinUAE 4 05 June 2009 23:11
Best Solution, Burning CD Loedown support.Hardware 17 22 March 2009 13:12
cd32 cd burning help Gordon support.Hardware 4 20 February 2007 22:03
Img Burning delag support.Other 3 11 July 2006 07:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08948 seconds with 13 queries