English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 February 2017, 16:17   #1
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 442
Trying to downgrade an A4000 to an A1200/030

A long time ago I set up a configuration, I think based on an A4000/030 Quickstart and downgraded it to an A1200/030 with the CPU properties of a stock A1200, but I'm just wondering if I got the balance right, if there's nothing contradictory. I just wasn't sure how else I could emulate an A1200/030.

The configuration is attached, if you'd like a look at it.
Attached Files
File Type: uae Foebane A1200-030 (3W).uae (11.6 KB, 16 views)
Foebane is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 February 2017, 06:29   #2
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 442
Well, it works, anyway.
Foebane is offline  
Old 03 February 2017, 08:52   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
There is no balance. I repeat: don't attempt to match speeds if 68030 or higher. It is useless, it is not guaranteed, it has and will change between versions.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 03 February 2017, 11:07   #4
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I repeat: don't attempt to match speeds if 68030 or higher.
I wasn't trying to match speeds, but have an A1200 with an 030. Maybe just select A1200 Quickstart and upgrade to 030 with extra memory will work?

Last edited by Foebane; 03 February 2017 at 11:17.
Foebane is offline  
Old 03 February 2017, 14:09   #5
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 476
Just create your own configuration. I've never used a Quickstart config, I've chosen the proper Kickstart and Model type, and then configured additional add-ons as needed.
SnkBitten is online now  
Old 03 February 2017, 15:02   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
Yes, easieast way is to start with A1200 Quickstart as a base config and then change CPU/add RAM.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 03 February 2017, 17:21   #7
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 442
I was also thinking about changing "Cycle-exact CPU Emulation Speed" from "4x (A1200)" to "8x" - does that cause any problems?

EDIT: No response from anyone, so I'm assuming no problems with this.

Last edited by Foebane; 03 February 2017 at 22:19.
Foebane is offline  
Old 04 February 2017, 11:41   #8
Tomislav
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Zagreb / Croatia
Posts: 74
Sometimes when I want to create configuration that is like old but with changes like yours I open 2 instances of WinUAE. In one I load old config and in second create new from quickstart and add from old what I want. Of course you would not put something that is specific only for A4000 in A1200 config. For example by default A4000 config have 8MB of "Motherboard Fast RAM" that does not exist on A1200 (which you can't add with A1200 quickstart anyway).

Last edited by Tomislav; 04 February 2017 at 11:50.
Tomislav is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Downgrade Disk for A4000 IvanEBC Retrogaming General Discussion 5 12 June 2016 07:28
A1200 030/40mhz faster than A2000 030 50mhz? desantii support.Hardware 24 28 July 2011 23:50
rom kicker för 030 a4000? poppe support.Apps 3 29 January 2006 10:49
Adding A3640 to A4000 EC/030 Pacer238 support.Hardware 7 24 December 2005 09:49
[FA] A4000/030 Desktop Case scan_x MarketPlace 0 13 March 2004 17:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13286 seconds with 12 queries