English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 January 2017, 17:55   #1
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 440
Quick way of updating all config files?

I couldn't help noticing that my config files have become outdated since my move from 3.3.0 to 3.4.0. Using Diff Checker, I see that some old settings have been removed and some new ones added.

Is there a quick way for me to update my six config files, or is it simply down to selecting each one in Configurations (or Host) and then selecting Load and then Save? Do I have to quit and restart WinUAE each time?
Foebane is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 January 2017, 18:18   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,982
I've mentioned in one of your other threads that NotePad++ is awesome for changing lines in multiple configuration files

...but seriously, you only have 6 configuration files (I have 1600+, one for each game) so I would say in your case just load each and then save. You don't need to quit WinUAE after updating each one.

Just for reference, I still use configuration files from WinUAE v1.0.0 and these still work perfectly in any WinUAE version
DamienD is online now  
Old 23 January 2017, 18:45   #3
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 440
Yes, WinUAE is one of those cases where the developers strive to maintain compatibility with previous versions, and that is to be applauded.

It's just that other emulators I've used have totally transformed their way of saving configurations: VICE's latest version, as an example, in which my old configuration file for that actually causes problems, so I had to set everything up from scratch and create a new one, simply because the developers wanted to save just the differences from the default settings instead of all settings, like VICE used to.

I just like my settings to be kept up to date, as a personal preference.
Foebane is offline  
Old 23 January 2017, 20:07   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,524
Saving config with newer version automatically drops obsoleted config entries and it may also fix possible known problems (but this happens rarely).
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
import winuae config files turrican3 support.FS-UAE 0 23 March 2015 04:13
WinUAE Config Files MrTwister New to Emulation or Amiga scene 17 27 December 2008 12:47
Better (perhaps) config files management NewDeli request.UAE Wishlist 7 24 June 2008 15:43
editing of config files Marcuz request.UAE Wishlist 4 04 May 2004 13:32
Config files marguitar New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 21 November 2001 19:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18962 seconds with 11 queries