English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 January 2017, 22:00   #1
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 442
Question about configuration file names

If you give a configuration a filename and save it in WinUAE, does it store the filename within the lines of the .uae file or not? The thing is, I'd like to be able to freely rename the filenames of the .uae files with no issues - can this be done?
Foebane is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 January 2017, 22:22   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,992
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
If you give a configuration a filename and save it in WinUAE, does it store the filename within the lines of the .uae file or not? The thing is, I'd like to be able to freely rename the filenames of the .uae files with no issues - can this be done?
Yes, when you save a configuration file ".uae" gets added automatically (even if not specified in the "Name" field).

Of course you can rename anything before the ".UAE" extension to whatever you like

i.e. "Another World.uae" --> "Another World - Test.uae" and it will still work as it contains all the essential information within.

If you are talking about removing ".uae" all together from the filename then this won't work or show up in WinUAE or do anything when double-clicked...
DamienD is online now  
Old 19 January 2017, 22:51   #3
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,992
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
does it store the filename within the lines of the .uae file or not?
I missed part of what you said...

No, the filename is not stored within the .UAE file. You can open the .UAE file with Notepad to take a look for yourself
DamienD is online now  
Old 19 January 2017, 23:31   #4
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 442
Thank you, DamienD. Just wanted to make sure.
Foebane is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Relative files paths in a WinUAE configuration file Vollldo support.WinUAE 9 29 March 2016 23:27
FS-UAE 2.2.2 can't reach configuration file Marskilla support.FS-UAE 8 25 June 2013 21:13
error parsing global configuration file line 16 DDNI project.WHDLoad 7 21 March 2011 13:09
associate disk image(s) to configuration file Toni Wilen request.UAE Wishlist 32 21 October 2009 08:22
long file names in PC to Amiga SeeD32 support.Apps 9 19 October 2002 22:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.10818 seconds with 11 queries