English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 January 2017, 16:44   #1
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 915
Making my own 16 color icons

I felt the icons around are not for my taste and i decided to draw my own set of 16 color icons just for fun and maybe they will be usable later by someone:

-with minimum dithering
-colorful
-faithful to Amiga look
-32x32 unified style
-avoid wide icons



Download what is done until now:

version 0.5
https://www.dropbox.com/s/qr3692dpee...icons.lha?dl=0

For the moment you must install the icons manually, until and if someone comes with an installer.

You need:
Set Workbench to 640x512 mode, 16 colors.
a program like icon installer http://aminet.net/util/wb/IconInstaller.lha
Full Palette http://aminet.net/util/wb/FullPalette22.lha
Additionally VisualPrefs http://aminet.net/util/wb/VisualPrefs.lha (gui) settings are included in the folder "prefs".
Also some program to remove icon borders http://aminet.net/util/wb/noiconborder.lha would be fine. Place noiconborder file to wbstartup.

Install "icon installer" and "full palette" then load the full palette prefs file that is included in the archive (db16), to set the palette. Then you can see the icons in normal colors. Then open icon installer to drag n' drop icons to the desired positions.
Have fun.

Last edited by nobody; 18 January 2017 at 20:36.
nobody is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 January 2017, 17:46   #2
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,963
Not bad at all
Thorham is offline  
Old 06 January 2017, 08:24   #3
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 915
Check the difference with other icons around (16 colors). Completely washed out, like you don't have drivers installed in video card

nobody is offline  
Old 06 January 2017, 11:07   #4
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 915
updated with more icons


Last edited by nobody; 06 January 2017 at 11:33.
nobody is offline  
Old 07 January 2017, 08:14   #5
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 915
I managed to convert to .info icons but i cannot install them to folders etc with "icon instaler" or another program. When i drag n' drop my icon to the "new image" window then Workbench stops rendering everything inside windows :P
What is wrong here? Anyone has an idea?

Last edited by nobody; 07 January 2017 at 09:20.
nobody is offline  
Old 07 January 2017, 09:19   #6
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 915
Never mind i found the solution, now it displays perfect (almost) if i set icon type to "project"

nobody is offline  
Old 07 January 2017, 10:20   #7
jeff b00toNic
Registered User

jeff b00toNic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Arnsberg Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 139
Nice set of icons.
jeff b00toNic is offline  
Old 07 January 2017, 11:34   #8
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 915
hd icons, ram disk, prefs,devs, utitlities folders done

nobody is offline  
Old 07 January 2017, 12:05   #9
twenty90seven
twenty90seven
twenty90seven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 108
Wow these look great! They look much more vivid than the old dithered icons.
twenty90seven is offline  
Old 07 January 2017, 12:21   #10
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Why don't you keep the transparency of your images? Make the icons with "Join" using AfAOS as OS.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 07 January 2017, 12:34   #11
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 915
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Why don't you keep the transparency of your images? Make the icons with "Join" using AfAOS as OS.
"if it works don't touch it"
nobody is offline  
Old 07 January 2017, 16:47   #12
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I haven't used IconInstaller, but I guess that maybe it also can retain transparency if you use AfAOS, and later that transparency will be retained even in the 3.5 format.

If you let me two pngs of an icon (normal/selected) that could use transparency I can take a look.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 07 January 2017, 17:29   #13
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 915
In the zone as icons.zip for your test
nobody is offline  
Old 07 January 2017, 18:15   #14
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Thanks. Unfortunately you should have had to save those png's with the transparency. Maybe that's the only problem why you don't have transparency.

Or you painted all of the image, so it doesn't have any transparency.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 07 January 2017, 18:24   #15
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 915
uploaded again with transparency saved.
nobody is offline  
Old 07 January 2017, 19:02   #16
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Thanks. Usign AfAOS and Join I've seen that the icon was looking right, but not if you change to Workbench, as the images were used as "Old" images. I'm not sure what I did wrong there.

But if you use IconEdit on Workbench, you can obtain the icon attached.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Icon.zip (578 Bytes, 17 views)
Retrofan is offline  
Old 07 January 2017, 19:23   #17
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 915
it is not visible. Probably saved as a different format, newicon or something.
nobody is offline  
Old 08 January 2017, 10:05   #18
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 915
Updated 1st post with links to download what is done until now.

here they are in a fresh WB3.1 installation with Fullpalette installed and loaded db16 palette.


Last edited by nobody; 08 January 2017 at 13:22.
nobody is offline  
Old 10 January 2017, 10:57   #19
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 915
Updated
Improved some icons, added other ones. I have to transfer these to .info icons now which will happen soon

nobody is offline  
Old 10 January 2017, 14:53   #20
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,254
Looking good nobody
DamienD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Color Saturation and Color Tint/Hue Retro-Nerd support.WinUAE 19 28 August 2017 09:06
Printing in color with WinUAE on color laser source support.Apps 7 14 April 2013 00:32
ISO true color to 256 color algorithm Lord Riton Coders. General 19 15 April 2011 17:49
Problem making ham8 icons. Thorham support.Apps 0 12 March 2008 22:30
Help making icons. remmah request.Other 2 21 August 2006 19:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.43048 seconds with 12 queries