English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 December 2016, 00:36   #1
newoski
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Philadelphia, USA
Posts: 19
CD32 - Too Much RAM?

Hi Guys,

Still getting my sea legs going with Amiga emulation. I have most CD32 games working, but I just ran into an issue with Tower Assault -- it requires 1MB RAM minimum, while most others require 512kb.

Is there a downside to ramping up my RAM for my default CD32 config to 1MB?

That is to say, will any games suffer from having more ram than their base requirements?
newoski is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 December 2016, 00:51   #2
newoski
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Philadelphia, USA
Posts: 19
Hmmmm. Are RAM settings not saved to config files?
newoski is offline  
Old 27 December 2016, 01:24   #3
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by newoski View Post
Hmmmm. Are RAM settings not saved to config files?
any settings will be saved in a config file. you should make a second or third CD32 config.
just change the bit you want and give the Config a new name before you save it.

if you really find some bugs, compare first with another stable/final release.

#1) the cd32 came with 2mb chip mem standard. dunno if it makes sense to change that.
you will be better of giving some z2 fastmem. I did not tested the game myself, i have to say.

#2) when you start emulating a new amiga model, it is adviced to start with the quickstart setup of that machine.
and add things to that basic config as you like - and the model allows.

Last edited by emufan; 27 December 2016 at 01:31.
emufan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CD32 available free ram differences Cobe project.CD32 Conversion 6 16 November 2016 20:39
Current possibilities to get IDE and (more) RAM for a CD32? emuola support.Hardware 4 26 August 2012 17:27
FS: Paravision SX1 for CD32 | 8MB Ram | CF HD possible Jon Hare MarketPlace 1 05 November 2011 06:23
CD32 flash RAM question Lane support.Hardware 3 09 November 2009 19:52
WTB/T: CD32 motherboard / Zip Ram Zetr0 MarketPlace 0 09 December 2007 20:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15005 seconds with 11 queries