English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 December 2016, 06:01   #1
chocsplease
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: london
Posts: 148
Advice please best way to get usb drives onto an A1200

Hi,

I am looking into a way to read and write usb pen drives on an a1200. There used to be a number using the clock port, but both still in existence appear out of stock at amiganet (subway usb and rappidroad).

Im wondering if there are any other solutions? Can the Gotec floppy emulator read and write files from a pen drive or us it just limited to booting adfs?

I know you can get ide to compact flash and sd card adaptors but cant find one that goes from ide to usb, I guess because usb is too generic, you can plug so much more than drives into it.

Anyone any sugestions?

Thanks in advance, and sorry if this is the wrong forum to post in, the hardware one looked like it was more for active projects.

Last edited by chocsplease; 26 December 2016 at 06:02. Reason: spelling
chocsplease is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 December 2016, 06:07   #2
puppypc
Registered User

puppypc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Greensboro, NC USA
Age: 25
Posts: 63
The Rapidroad is for sale on Jens's personal website: https://icomp.de/shop-icomp/en/shop/...droad-usb.html

It's a little pricey, but it's the price of adding USB ports to such old hardware!

What exactly do you want to do? Is there a reason why you can't just use a CF or SD card, or network transfer?
puppypc is offline  
Old 26 December 2016, 12:04   #3
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 425
You could get a mediator and spider usb card if the 1200 is in a tower.
-Acid- is offline  
Old 26 December 2016, 14:52   #4
chocsplease
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: london
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by puppypc View Post
The Rapidroad is for sale on Jens's personal website: https://icomp.de/shop-icomp/en/shop/...droad-usb.html

It's a little pricey, but it's the price of adding USB ports to such old hardware!

What exactly do you want to do? Is there a reason why you can't just use a CF or SD card, or network transfer?
Thanks for the reply.
Basically its for file transfer between PC and Amiga. I have an eidie to compact flash adaptor in my towered A1200 but getting a removable CF or SD solution into the A1200 desktop is proving problematic. Yes I can get an internal solution but that would mean me opening the case every time I want to add a new file. Not fun.

I used to have a null modem connection when the PC and Amigas where in the same room, now they arn't I'm rather stuck.

I'm not sure what network solutions are available (other than one I'll come to in a second). It would have to be wireless as the Amigas are upstairs and the router is downstairs. I seem to remember that the A1200 had some kind of reset bug in its PCMCIA slot that stops a lot of cards working.

There has been success getting the Amiga and Raspberry Pi talking to each other via a null modem rs232 cable but this is limited to 19200 (BPS/KBPS? not sure) by the Amiga's serial port I think. There is also a problem with the PI 3B (which is the model I have) as the UART is now used for the bluetooth and has been removed from the GPIO pins, you can get it back but but it is a huge faf and then you loose wifi (?not sure on the last part) which is the whole point of doing this for me. I did see a Youtube video where a usb to rs232 adaptor had been used but the poster mentioned that some of these just don't work with a PI/Amiga combination.

So all in all I need some advice.

Has anyone managed to get their amiga online using a PI?
Has anyone seen a CF or SD adaptor I could use to mount the card externally and nicely (so no dangling wires please) in an A1200 desktop.

And if anyone has any other ideas.

While I'm about it a belated Seasons Greetings to you all.

<Edit>
Sorry forgot to mention the A1200 desktop is currently stock only, no memory or accelerator card installed. I thought about waiting for the Vampire but the latest specs I saw suggested that the devs might be going the wrong way, Why a 68060 and not a 68040 like the A500 and A600 versions, why a GPU - is there any sw that can use it? And the guessed (?) price point. I thought the idea was to keep the price low so as to compete with the available 68030 cards, ho hum.

Last edited by chocsplease; 26 December 2016 at 15:16. Reason: More info on A1200 specs
chocsplease is offline  
Old 26 December 2016, 15:05   #5
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 408
I used to use a pcmcia wired network card and and cheap power line adapters. Still works for my second a 1200 in the summerhouse. I then use miami and amitradecentre to move files to and from a shared folder on my nas.

Sent from my S7 Edge
crazyc is offline  
Old 26 December 2016, 15:08   #6
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 408
Amiga kit do a kit to make the internal Ide to cf fit in the expansion port at the back under the floppy so it can be accessed without opening the case on a desktop a 1200. I use that on my a 1200 in the summerhouse also.

Sent from my S7 Edge
crazyc is offline  
Old 26 December 2016, 21:43   #7
HelloBeautiful
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Helsinki
Posts: 52
Why not go the PCMCIA CF card route? Easy and cheap.
HelloBeautiful is offline  
Old 27 December 2016, 01:40   #8
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,020
Just use a PCMCIA to CF adapter. It's easier than going via USB.
idrougge is offline  
Old 27 December 2016, 01:45   #9
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,777
for the network based filetransfer you could try a PlipBox, PCMCIA Ethernet Card or PCMCIA Wifi Card.

#1) where did you saw new specs for the Vampire 1200? 68060? a GPU is included with the V500 and V600 already.
you will enjoy a fast workbench and those office programs can make use of it too.
3d peecee games and ScummVM ported to the amiga will benefit from that aswell.

Last edited by emufan; 27 December 2016 at 16:28.
emufan is offline  
Old 27 December 2016, 04:20   #10
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by chocsplease View Post
Has anyone seen a CF or SD adaptor I could use to mount the card externally and nicely (so no dangling wires please) in an A1200 desktop.
Forget all that crap get one of these drive bays here

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/190368771301

Then buy a 40 pin IDE to CF adapter to put in it and you're done.

I've got 2 in my A1200 tower and 2 in my A4000 tower and 1 in my PC. You can set up all your cards in the PC, transfer all the files you need and then pull the tray out and put in any of your Amiga's. When you need to add files just pull it back out of the Amiga and back into the PC and load up WinUAE.
-Acid- is offline  
Old 27 December 2016, 13:18   #11
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,020
I've also got a PCMCIA to SD adapter, but that one only works with older non-SDHC cards (or Memory Stick).
idrougge is offline  
Old 27 December 2016, 15:36   #12
jayminer
Registered User

jayminer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Umeň / Sweden
Posts: 162
I have a Raspberry Pi inside my A600, with a Wifi-adapter so I can transfer files wirelessly over serial. Not the speediest solution but it works fine, I even made a video about it some time ago:
[ Show youtube player ]
jayminer is offline  
Old 27 December 2016, 17:01   #13
Franchute13
Registered User
Franchute13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Argentina
Posts: 227
Maybe this ?
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=76866

I use a pcmcia card with sd card support.
Franchute13 is offline  
Old 30 December 2016, 21:03   #14
jarp
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Posts: 165
RapidRoad USB is worth of every penny. I have one in my Amiga 600. It's not only the USB sticks (there are other ways to transfer files like mentioned), but also USB keyboard and USB mouse works so much better than when using USB-Gameport adapter or USB-Keyboard adapter. I have those as well.

But in any case, USB sticks are so handy that I really would give up my RapidRoad USB (or equivalent). Only problem was cutting A600 enclosure to fit the ports but for A1200 there's rear trapdoor adapter available I think?
jarp is offline  
Old 31 December 2016, 00:45   #15
Anakirob
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tasmania
Age: 35
Posts: 858
It's a pity there's no way to use one of those cheap PCMCIA USB hubs readily available on Ebay.
Anakirob is offline  
Old 31 December 2016, 00:50   #16
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarp View Post
But in any case, USB sticks are so handy that I really would give up my RapidRoad USB (or equivalent). Only problem was cutting A600 enclosure to fit the ports but for A1200 there's rear trapdoor adapter available I think?
I also like having RR USB in my A600. So much that I removed the parallel port from the motherboard and put the USB ports in there instead. I would rather do that than cut the case.
demolition is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oops, I did it again... (USB drives on Amiga) ferix Hardware mods 108 08 October 2017 02:18
Using USB Floppy drives with Amiga whitebird support.Hardware 3 22 February 2015 10:06
PC 1.44 MB USB floppy drives PopoCop support.Other 12 22 April 2011 18:23
USB Keyboard on A1200 Tower Using PS/2 to USB Adaptor? roberthazelby support.Hardware 3 15 October 2010 22:57
Advice needed regarding hard drives and uae! ElectroBlaster support.WinUAE 4 11 October 2005 08:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22792 seconds with 11 queries