English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 December 2016, 14:27   #1
Robbie
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Southbourne
Posts: 63
ACA2000 Progress?

I was in two minds whether to create a new thread or not, didn't want to hijack the ACA500 thread.

Is there any chance of an update on the progress of the ACA2000?

I've read elsewhere that the project was still going ahead as recently as August, so i'm hopeful!
Robbie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 December 2016, 01:18   #2
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney
Posts: 223
Didn't even know there was such a thing in progress, sounds really cool if so!
Marchie is offline  
Old 15 December 2016, 02:48   #3
puppypc
Registered User

puppypc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Greensboro, NC USA
Age: 25
Posts: 63
Jens is definitely working on an ACA 1000 model, and has posted about it in the past year on a1k.org, but it's not at the top of his list.
If I remember right then the 2000 model is probably even further away since it's more complicated than the 500->1000.
puppypc is offline  
Old 15 December 2016, 05:49   #4
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 43
Posts: 717
I'm not sure if the A2000 ACA would be more complicated compared to A500/A1000 version. The A500 expansion slot is "95%" pin compatible with the Zorro slot. I have an expansion port adapter for A500 that you can use A2000 Zorro cards on Amiga 500.
I'm not sure which pins are missing.

Also, A1000 exp port is 180deg flipped compared to A500. So, ACA500 should "theoretically" work on A1000
amiman99 is offline  
Old 15 December 2016, 08:01   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,282
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
I'm not sure if the A2000 ACA would be more complicated compared to A500/A1000 version. The A500 expansion slot is "95%" pin compatible with the Zorro slot. I have an expansion port adapter for A500 that you can use A2000 Zorro cards on Amiga 500.
I'm not sure which pins are missing.
The A2000 CPU slot is electrically (and pinout wise) very close to the A500 Amiga bus connector, so it is the best candidate for an ACA2000 to live in.

Quote:
Also, A1000 exp port is 180deg flipped compared to A500. So, ACA500 should "theoretically" work on A1000
Let's say it sits on the other side of the computer, but not flipped. More like rotated. :-) A500 expansions plug in with their rear end facing you, but not upside down.
Jope is offline  
Old 15 December 2016, 11:14   #6
Robbie
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Southbourne
Posts: 63
I read on a German forum that it wasn't far from completion. That was posted in August. Apparently the ACA2000 will serve more as an adaptor with an A1200 expansion slot/ compact flash interface. I don't think it has the same level of features as the ACA500 plus, so with that in mind it should be a simpler design?
Robbie is offline  
Old 15 December 2016, 12:17   #7
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,020
An ACA2000 is potentially much more difficult because while the ACA500 occupies the only available expansion slot on the A500, every Amiga 2000 houses a unique combination of Zorro cards with which the ACA must coexist peacefully.
idrougge is offline  
Old 17 December 2016, 19:11   #8
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 43
Posts: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Let's say it sits on the other side of the computer, but not flipped. More like rotated. :-) A500 expansions plug in with their rear end facing you, but not upside down.
That what I meant, I was close.
amiman99 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where can I get the Progress.gadget from? Tony Landais request.Apps 6 16 December 2015 19:16
Work in progress. Cowcat Coders. General 7 18 February 2014 22:33
My A500+ progress so far. Mogsy Hardware pics 16 02 March 2013 09:20
My A1200 progress ck1200 Hardware mods 19 07 October 2010 18:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25721 seconds with 11 queries