English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 January 2017, 13:26   #61
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,559
It needs to be proper test, not something that I can immediately criticize for not proving practically anything useful at all.

Because game bug is stupid way of starting the audio and waiting for audio interrupt (start audio, do something, clear interrupt, poll for wait interrupt. When correct way is clear the interrupt request before starting anything that can cause interrupts), it is very timing sensitive (was bitplane dma active between start and clear, or other audio channel, or sprite, or copper, or was cpu executing other interrupt exception at that time and so on..). It can look like working perfectly when in reality it can still happen with extremely low probability. (when exactly right combination of DMA channels and CPU state happens)

Also game "version" needs to included and matched. chipset (a1000 or OCS or ECS all of them can have minor differences in cycle usage if program does weird things).
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 January 2017, 13:45   #62
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
It needs to be proper test, not something that I can immediately criticize for not proving practically anything useful at all.
I wonder how the "proper test" should look like ?
(At least, I am not sure how it should be done.)

What I wonder, for the beginning, does the same happens on a real machine with the test I am using? If yes, then we could close these thread imedeitly, and if not there must be something wrong in the versions after the winuae v2.3.0! (as the same also does not happen in the v2.3.0, at least I could not provoke it)
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 11 January 2017, 13:50   #63
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
I wonder how the "proper test" should look like ?
(At least, I am not sure how it should be done.)
Well, since this is an old game, the floppy disk version only runs with:

Chipset = OCS
Kickstart = 1.2
RAM = 512KB Chip

Someone with a real Amiga who has the above specs needs to test
DamienD is online now  
Old 11 January 2017, 18:43   #64
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Existing game versions:

Mission Elevator (1987)(Softgold).adf (CRC 027280B0)
Mission Elevator (1987)(Softgold)[a].adf (CRC 671147C4)
Mission Elevator (1987)(Softgold)[a2].adf (CRC D0E5E378)
(sps1282)missionelevator.ipf (CRC A7372BE2)


Working on WinUAE quickstart configurations:

A500, OCS Agnus, KS1.2, 512KB Chip RAM
A500, OCS Agnus, KS1.3, 512KB Chip RAM
A500, ECS Agnus, KS1.3, 512KB Chip RAM
A500, ECS Agnus, KS1.3, 1MB Chip RAM (Note: or with KS2.04 / KS3.1) (EDIT: and NOT A500+)


Game tested to work on A500 WinUAE quickstart configurations by using simple test explained in post #60 !
(works "fine" on v2.3.0 and starts with "the sound problem" from v2.3.1)


Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Someone with a real Amiga who has the above specs needs to test

Last edited by amilo3438; 11 January 2017 at 18:55.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 11 January 2017, 22:32   #65
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
I can upload the WinUAE 2.3.1 beta series 1-13 for you tomorrow if you really want to test them.
Yes, I would like to test them.
You can download them here.
prowler is offline  
Old 11 January 2017, 23:39   #66
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
You can download them here.
Thanks for betas!


Game version used: Mission Elevator (1987)(Softgold).adf (CRC 027280B0)
WinUAE quickstart configurations used: A500, OCS Agnus, KS1.2, 512KB Chip RAM

Test results: (by using simple test explained in post #60)

winuae231b1 = the problem appeared 1x in 5 min
winuae231b6 = the problem appeared 1x in 5 min
winuae231b7 = the problem appeared 0x in 5 min (pure luck I guess)
winuae231b8 = the problem appeared 3x in 1 min -> http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=723330&postcount=55
winuae231b9 = the problem appeared 3x in 1 min
winuae231b13 = the problem appeared 3x in 1 min

Obviously the problem starts to appear quite often from the beta 8 version! (winuae problem !?)

Also, beta 1 and beta 6 shows us that the game problem still exists, but it doest appear often.
(I guess this is similar as on a real hardware, i.e. see yt-video on post #41)


EDIT: Several observations that may or may not be helpful:

Regarding the beta 7:

(1) If CPU Frequency is changed from 7MHz (A500) to 14MHz (A1200) or 28MHz (2x) the problem still does not appear in beta 7 !
(but if emu is started in "cycle-exact=disabled" mode the problem will appear very soon !)

(2) If emu is started with "sound=disabled" the game will stop after the title screen !
(and will not continue when the sound is enabled again... it also stops the game if sound is disabled during game play)


Regarding the beta 8:

(1) Changing the CPU Frequency does not change anything - the problem is still there !

(2) Same as on beta 7 !

Last edited by amilo3438; 12 January 2017 at 15:31. Reason: The post #41 (was #61) !
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 13 January 2017, 20:14   #67
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,559
I did some logic analyzer checks and found new undocumented feature: audio DMA start interrupt (possibly other audio interrupts too) is delayed by 2 cycles. (for example, audio channel 1 DMA position is $13, INTREQR read access at cycle $14: request bit is not set. Cycle $15: interrupt request bit is finally set)

Extra 2 cycles seems to be _exactly_ enough to "fix" the sound problem.

EDIT: It seems to be fix the problem, 5 minute test game worked fine.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 13 January 2017 at 20:27.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 13 January 2017, 21:36   #68
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Great news, thanks for the effort!


EDIT:

I was tested the game again on a few days older WinUAE 3.4.1 (Public Beta 0, 2017.01.10):

@1st testing = the problem appeared 3x in 1 min
(so, no need for more testing on this version)


And on the todays fresh WinUAE 3.4.1 (Public Beta 0, 2017.01.13):

@1st testing = the problem appeared 3x in 5 min
@2nd testing = the problem appeared 1x in 5 min
@3rd testing = the problem appeared 1x in 5 min

Obviously, it behaves now much better than before!
Also, there still exist probability that the problem might happen (but now not too often), what seems close to before mentioned yt-video (where it also happened).
Therefore, it would not be good if is not happening ! (IMHO)

Does the problem appear same frequently on a real hardware, cant tell, didnt test it yet, maybe one day.
(because my A500 is packed in a box, and replaced with WinUAE)

EDIT 2:
Above results refers to test done according to post #60 !
During the gameplay the problem appeared only once in some 15 min and 20 min of playing !

Last edited by amilo3438; 14 January 2017 at 01:43.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 14 January 2017, 15:26   #69
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,559
Some more tweaks done.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 14 January 2017, 16:33   #70
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Some more tweaks done.
In todays WinUAE 3.4.1 (Public Beta 0, 2017.01.14) it works even better !
During the game testing the problem does not appeared, not in my (simple & fast) test nor in the gameplay! (at least I didnt manage to provoke it)

amilo3438 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mission Elevator plasmatron support.WinUAE 5 07 December 2016 19:38
Mission Elevator DamienD support.Games 5 06 November 2015 18:19
FS: Unreal, Super Cars 2, Mission Elevator, Beach Volley mr.vince MarketPlace 0 31 May 2011 21:16
Mixture: Racing/Shooting/Mission Elevator Rick Dangerous Looking for a game name ? 7 07 April 2006 00:02
Mission Elevator VermillioN request.Old Rare Games 33 03 November 2002 02:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26821 seconds with 12 queries