English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 December 2016, 15:08   #41
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Well, except the sound problem, there might be one more problem present !? (maybe not - see EDIT below)

For example, in Atari ST version (on the emu) the main character moves faster and on Amiga emu slower.
(of course, this should be tested on a real Amiga too)


I noticed, if enable the "Immediate Blitter" in latest WinUAE the character will move faster.
(now not sure is that speed correct as too lazy to test/compare it with my real A500)



EDIT: But I found an video where it compares different versions! (seems it was done on a real computers)

Let's Compare: Mission Elevator (C64/CPC/Spectrum/ST/Amiga) -> [ Show youtube player ]

Playlist:
00:13 - Commodore C64
07:07 - Amstrad/Schneider CPC
15:25 - Sinclair ZX Spectrum
22:31 - Atari ST/STe
30:25 - Commodore Amiga

On the video, the Amiga versions also run slower than ST version and what is interesting the sound bug appeared too at 32:06 in video !?

I am a little confused now; if that is done on a real Amiga and the sound problem appeared, is there any problem with this game at all in the WinUAE ?
(except that in the WinUAE the sound problem appears quite often)

Last edited by amilo3438; 15 December 2016 at 15:53.
amilo3438 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 January 2017, 21:18   #42
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Does beta series of WinUAE 2.3.1 still exist somewhere because download links (in above) does not work anymore ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Finding last working beta is the next step.
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
WinUAE 2.3.0 (2010.09.24) = last working official !
WinUAE 2.3.1 (2011.02.26) = 1st problematic official !

To fast locate the sound problem is enough at the 1st flour to walk between the lift and the chair several times ! (or until the sound problem appears)
For now only 1st problematic "official" was possible to find.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
There is still, possibly only 1-2 cycle, timing difference.
We will never know until find in what beta it starts to happen !

Edit: It could happen that the problem is not in the cycle timing difference, but somewhere else !

Also, it is possible to notice that the movement is not so smooth after the winuae 2.3.0 version!

Last edited by amilo3438; 10 January 2017 at 12:19.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 10 January 2017, 15:33   #43
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,542
I deleted all old betas to save space. They are not coming back to new site but if there is some other place.

btw, no guessed without real hardware tests! Something looking or feeling wrong means nothing without proof!
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 10 January 2017, 15:37   #44
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,985
I thought you said in post #41 that it seems to happen on a real Amiga too?

Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
I am a little confused now; if that is done on a real Amiga and the sound problem appeared, is there any problem with this game at all in the WinUAE ?
(except that in the WinUAE the sound problem appears quite often)
So this seems like a game issue... Asman said he needed to patch quite a lot in the WHDLoad version to get this working.

If you're using WinUAE just use the WHDLoad version and I now am
DamienD is offline  
Old 10 January 2017, 16:31   #45
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I thought you said in post #41 that it seems to happen on a real Amiga too?


So this seems like a game issue... Asman said he needed to patch quite a lot in the WHDLoad version to get this working.

If you're using WinUAE just use the WHDLoad version and I now am
I thought you said in post #7 that it happened in WinUAE 2.3.0 too, hmm, but I have tested it a lot on that version and it never happened. (so, it could be more similar to the mentioned video in the post #41 than next versions)

Btw. the solution is not to use WHDLoad, because if so, there would never be a need to make a winuae better (read more accurate) as all WHDLoad stuffs already worked well on older versions of winuae.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 10 January 2017, 16:47   #46
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I deleted all old betas to save space. They are not coming back to new site but if there is some other place.

btw, no guessed without real hardware tests! Something looking or feeling wrong means nothing without proof!
Hmm, I am a little surprised that you're sounds not interested to find and see what changes in one of winuae2.3.1 betas produces that problem !?

(But if you find a way to send me those betas, I can find the problematic beta for you.)

I agree it needs also testing on a real hardware, but as it behaves now is probably not close, as it happens more often.

Edit:
Fast and simple test for winuae and on a real hardware would be:
At the 1st flour walk between the lift and the chair several times !

If the sound problem happens frequently same on both, winuae and a real hardware, no problem.

Last edited by amilo3438; 10 January 2017 at 17:01.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 10 January 2017, 17:00   #47
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
I thought you said in post #7 that it happened in WinUAE 2.3.0 too, hmm, but I have tested it a lot on that version and it never happened.
Yes, happened for me with v2.3.0 from memory.

Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
(so, it could be more similar to the mentioned video in the post #41 than next versions)
Isn't the YouTube video you linked to a recording of somebody playing the game on a real Amiga?

Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Btw. the solution is not to use WHDLoad, because if so, there would never be a need to make a winuae better (read more accurate) as all WHDLoad stuffs already worked well on older versions of winuae.
Not really sure what you're getting at with this comment...

WHDLoad is a tool to play games from a hard drive, also on later Amiga models these original floppy disks wouldn't work. Corrections to any bugs in the original floppy disks are also patched thanks to the slave coders.
DamienD is offline  
Old 10 January 2017, 17:11   #48
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Yes, happened for me with v2.3.0 from memory.


Isn't the YouTube video you linked to a recording of somebody playing the game on a real Amiga?


Not really sure what you're getting at with this comment...

WHDLoad is a tool to play games from a hard drive, also on later Amiga models these original floppy disks wouldn't work. Corrections to any bugs in the original floppy disks are also patched thanks to the slave coders.
So, it happened with v 2.3.0 then, but now it doesn't?

Yeah, it seems very clearly that yt-video is made on a real hardware.
(I don't know if there exist a such nice filter for winuae. )

IMHO, beside of a tool to play from a hard drive, there is a lots of patches applied into every WHDLoad to make thinks work. (that's what I meant, or in other words it can't help to improve winuae accuracy)
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 10 January 2017, 17:22   #49
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
So, it happened with v 2.3.0 then, but now it doesn't?
Ok, just re-read all posts in this thread.

Yes back when I tested, the issue occurred for me using v2.3.0.

Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
IMHO, beside of a tool to play from a hard drive, there is a lots of patches applied into every WHDLoad to make thinks work. (that's what I meant, or in other words it can't help to improve winuae accuracy)
It's not about improving WinUAE's accuracy; if there's an issue with the original game on floppy disk and it also occurs on a real Amiga (as per your linked video) then it's not a WinUAE issue...

Anyway, obviously I cannot post the small self-booting WHDLoad .HDF on EAB as it contains a Kickstart ROM.

I will however upload and send you a link so that you can try it

...use a Quickstart "A1200 - 4MB Fast RAM expanded configuration".
DamienD is offline  
Old 10 January 2017, 17:34   #50
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
It's not about improving WinUAE's accuracy; if there's an issue with the original game on floppy disk and it also occurs on a real Amiga (as per your linked video) then it's not a WinUAE issue...

Anyway, obviously I cannot post the small self-booting WHDLoad .HDF on EAB as it contains a Kickstart ROM.

I will however upload and send you a link so that you can try it

...use a Quickstart "A1200 - 4MB Fast RAM expanded configuration".
Yeah, but the problem happens so frequently in versions after v2.3.0, and that is the point. (Even I didn't managed to repeat it on v2.3.0 ever, but you said it happened.)

Thanks for hd version, but that is also not the point. (v2.3.0 already works fine for me)
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 10 January 2017, 19:14   #51
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,542
I am going to analyze this (again) more carefully sometime in the future. It happens far too commonly. (But game sound code is bad, it just accidentally works..)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 10 January 2017, 19:35   #52
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
(But game sound code is bad, it just accidentally works..)
Totally agree Toni, as has been proven from the "real" Amiga video
DamienD is offline  
Old 10 January 2017, 19:50   #53
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I am going to analyze this (again) more carefully sometime in the future. It happens far too commonly. (But game sound code is bad, it just accidentally works..)
"Sometime in the future" sounds so promising!

Also, without finding problematic v2.3.1 beta (if still exist somewhere) there are not much hope. (but OK, as you wish)
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 10 January 2017, 20:08   #54
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
"Sometime in the future" sounds so promising!
Seriously man, Toni has said he will investigate... That should be enough to make anyone happy (and usually is).

...except maybe you!!! No need to be a twat about it; be patient

You have other alternatives available that definitely work 100% but yet you still press Toni constantly... You haven't even been bothered to opened my PM with the link to the self booting WHDLoad .HDF that I created which will solve all your issues (as it did mine)

We are very lucky that Toni is sooooo devoted and here on EAB constantly to help / assist / debug / improve. Most emulator authors would totally ignore your post (especially when very negative / sarcastic).
DamienD is offline  
Old 10 January 2017, 20:23   #55
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Seriously man, I don't understand how you thinking, but there must be some big misunderstanding from your side.

Btw. I didn't open the pm yet because I am momentary on tablet and not on PC.

Also,there are no need to pressurize no one, so take your time as needed Toni. (that was my message)
Hope its now a little bit clearer.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 10 January 2017, 20:58   #56
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Seriously man, I don't understand how you thinking, but there must be some big misunderstanding from your side.
If I've misunderstood then I apologise, let's move on
DamienD is offline  
Old 11 January 2017, 00:49   #57
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
"Sometime in the future" sounds so promising!

Also, without finding problematic v2.3.1 beta (if still exist somewhere) there are not much hope. (but OK, as you wish)
I can upload the WinUAE 2.3.1 beta series 1-13 for you tomorrow if you really want to test them.
prowler is offline  
Old 11 January 2017, 11:11   #58
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
I can upload the WinUAE 2.3.1 beta series 1-13 for you tomorrow if you really want to test them.
Yes, I would like to test them.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 11 January 2017, 12:10   #59
Asman
68k

Asman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 627
I think that we need a real hardware test with this game. Perhaps ZEUSDAZ can check this game for his New "Sh*t Game Time" video
Asman is offline  
Old 11 January 2017, 12:32   #60
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Yeah, I agree, but we already have that in #41 post yt-video!

What we need is to make a test on a real hardware to be similar to test on a winuae!

My proposal is to test it on the way I tested it as it's fast and simple:
At the 1st flour walk between the lift and the chair several times ! (or until the problem appears) (EDIT: At least two minutes !)

Last edited by amilo3438; 11 January 2017 at 19:05.
amilo3438 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mission Elevator plasmatron support.WinUAE 5 07 December 2016 19:38
Mission Elevator DamienD support.Games 5 06 November 2015 18:19
FS: Unreal, Super Cars 2, Mission Elevator, Beach Volley mr.vince MarketPlace 0 31 May 2011 21:16
Mixture: Racing/Shooting/Mission Elevator Rick Dangerous Looking for a game name ? 7 07 April 2006 00:02
Mission Elevator VermillioN request.Old Rare Games 33 03 November 2002 02:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25717 seconds with 12 queries