English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 July 2017, 01:30   #281
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
Is it emulated on WINUAE? I would like to do games for it, but informations are not so good
You must have clearly missed this thread: Vampire emulation in WinUAE

...Toni has said it numerous times (I'll only quote his most recent post in the above thread):

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Lets see.. (again)

- it is changing all the time. It is becoming less Amiga and more "Amiga compatible".

- it has features and way they are implemented that I don't see the point. I am sure no developers was asked (or was ignored) when those were designed. Whole thing is developer hostile. As I said, it is becoming platform that is also sort of Amiga compatible (at least in some definitions of "compatible"). Perhaps it is the goal. But then there is no point in this thread at all.

- any thread with critical comments gets replied with "you are wrong, we know better", "you are not allowed to comment unless you bought it?" wtf? (or some other reply that makes no sense whatsoever) Guess why I haven't said anything in those threads. I do agree some of those that criticize it!

- why would I help commercial product development by doing something for free? It must work both ways. It also wants to be some sort of competitor for some odd reason. I assume it wants to be competitor with all existing real hardware too when stand alone model is done..

Yes, emulation makes lots of sense when developing (Especially when debugging without MMU is guaranteed to be mega pain in the.. But MMU apparently is useless. Yet another anti-developer feature.) I personally do all the development under emulation, it is so much easier and especially faster, only testing needs real hardware.
...anyway, we are getting way off topic to the original thread.
DamienD is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 July 2017, 09:46   #282
E-Penguin
Banana

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Just develop for "normal" Amiga, and it will work fine with Apollo. Just stay clear of any FPU use.
We don't use the F-word here...
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 09 July 2017, 21:56   #283
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 759
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post

...anyway, we are getting way off topic to the original thread.
So, getting slightly back towards topic, I have the awesome 500+ for a few days. It's amazing. Now, apart from blazing fast Wi-Fi email on an A500 Rev A with WB3.1 (never thought I'd say that), web browsing, and VistaPro landscape generation, what are some other cool things I can try?
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 09 July 2017, 22:25   #284
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,776
you can do some DTP with Pagestream and save your creation as pdf.
extract R8 somewhere and copy content of R9 over it.
emufan is offline  
Old 09 July 2017, 23:03   #285
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 759
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
you can do some DTP with Pagestream and save your creation as pdf.
extract R8 somewhere and copy content of R9 over it.
Nice idea. I could see the Vampire being great at that. It reminds me that I think I used to do DTP on my original accelerated A500 but don't recall Pagestream. Was there another popular program at the time?
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 09 July 2017, 23:15   #286
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,776
there were some good dtp apps, but I prefered Pagestream.
not all pure dtp, but there was ProPage, Finalwriter, Wordworth and some more, i forgot.
you can find them on the ftp.

btw. since the pdf export of Pagestream is not allways perfect.
you can configure a postscript printer in pagestream or any other textwriter,
and output to a file.
this ps file you can convert with Ghostscript (use non fpu for vampire) to a pdf.
a perfect gui for ghostscript: GSGui_68k (needs mui38)


one you should test is HD-Rec midi/audio sequencer
emufan is offline  
Old 09 July 2017, 23:18   #287
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 759
Thanks! I used to use Wordworth. A lot.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 10 July 2017, 00:36   #288
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Getting a bit offtopic like we use to... I remember that the A1200 board was designed for what I remember with an unused place to add/solder an FPU, but I believe to remember that the design wasn't complete and it was needing something else or maybe I'm wrong, but I believe it also couldn't be used by some accelerators.

Could that place be used to include a real working FPU that the Vampire 1200 could use?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 10 July 2017, 01:27   #289
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,776
someone added a 68882 on the a1200 motherboard already some years ago.
while running at 14MHz only, maybe better than fpu-emulation
emufan is offline  
Old 10 July 2017, 01:43   #290
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
someone added a 68882 on the a1200 motherboard already some years ago.

while running at 14MHz only, maybe better than fpu-emulation
LOL... That's why I was asking. I've watched today the Quake no FPU version for Vampire and it really sucks, it's awful. Any 040 runs it much much faster.

And in fact I'm watching right now in life this video where they are comparing some renderings using FPU or not. An A4000 040 Vs Vampirized A600:

[ Show youtube player ]
Retrofan is offline  
Old 10 July 2017, 21:05   #291
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Could that place be used to include a real working FPU that the Vampire 1200 could use?
I don't think so, because that socket is meant to work synchronously with the 68EC020.

But someone that actually knows best will be able to correct my fallacy.
Akira is offline  
Old 10 July 2017, 21:08   #292
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,286
Yes, the FPU that can be put on the 1200 MB will only work at 14MHz together with the original CPU so it is pretty much useless.

I'm certain the current very early non-optimized version SoftFPU running on the Vampire is faster..
demolition is offline  
Old 11 July 2017, 02:04   #293
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 668
HOLYCOW! July 7th it shipped and my Vampire arrived today! That was fast! I'm not ready! LOL. Caught me off guard. I plan to do some before and after videos and such but I really don't want to use dual monitors so I may not even install this until GOLDv3 is available.

Thanks Apollo Team!
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 11 July 2017, 06:32   #294
Mr-Z
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 26
@Sinphaltimus

You might regret that, there is a lot of cool stuff to get into with gold 2
Mr-Z is offline  
Old 11 July 2017, 12:57   #295
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr-Z View Post
@Sinphaltimus

You might regret that, there is a lot of cool stuff to get into with gold 2
And is this "stuff" removed in Gold3?
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 11 July 2017, 13:05   #296
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinphaltimus View Post
And is this "stuff" removed in Gold3?
No, but there is no reason to wait. Just set up WB with RTG and wait with the games through HDMI for now.
demolition is offline  
Old 11 July 2017, 13:13   #297
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 668
That's the issue I'm not prepared to tackle right now. Dual displays. I want expected this thing to arrive for another 3 weeks due to alleged customs hold up which ended up being a nonissue.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 11 July 2017, 13:18   #298
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,286
But you don't need dual displays. They have made a boot disk which boots directly into RTG so you never have to use any ECS modes to set up your system.
demolition is offline  
Old 11 July 2017, 13:38   #299
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
But you don't need dual displays. They have made a boot disk which boots directly into RTG so you never have to use any ECS modes to set up your system.
Oh? I was unaware of this. Source? Instructions? Dl link? Ah... Google.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 11 July 2017, 13:53   #300
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,286
Don't remember where I got it from, but I put the disk in the zone. Of course you need to find a way to write the file to a floppy without RTG.
demolition is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 500 Vampire is alive kipper2k support.Hardware 397 15 June 2017 16:44
Amiga 500 Vampire Signman Amiga scene 50 25 November 2016 12:41
Vampire 500 project started majsta Hardware mods 221 17 August 2016 18:42
How to (Pre)Order a Vampire II tygre support.Hardware 3 25 March 2016 16:18
History of Ocean Book - pre-orders now being taken boyo Retrogaming General Discussion 39 06 February 2014 10:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27962 seconds with 12 queries