English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 December 2016, 10:25   #1
Harry_norway
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Skudeneshavn / Norway
Posts: 3
What to add to an Amiga 2000

Hello.

I have several Amigaīs (Amiga CD32, 500, 1000, 1200, 4000) but I recently bought an Amiga 2000. Never had one before. It has a stock configuration (apart from kickstart 3.1) with no extra memory or expansion cards.

My question is. What kind of extra goodies can I install, apart from the usual old cardīs that cost an fortune on Ebay?

I was thinking of an Gotek in the second floppy drive slot. A zip drive (Scsi) in the 5 1/4 drive slot. Do I need an extra expansion card for the scsi interface?

I would like som more memory and a hard drive option. Preferably with a modern card.

Any suggestions?

PS! If you have a "pimped" Amiga 2000, leave a picture or youtube link. I would love to see it for inspiration.
Harry_norway is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 December 2016, 02:49   #2
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
I have a GVP Impact A2000-HC+8 Series II Revision 4 in mine. 18.2gb SCSI drive, 8MB fast. Lovely card and can be picked up quite cheaply.

http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/impact2000hc8
Hewitson is offline  
Old 04 December 2016, 03:23   #3
EugeneNine
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Ohio
Posts: 161
why a zip drive, those were terrible.
EugeneNine is offline  
Old 04 December 2016, 09:20   #4
Harry_norway
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Skudeneshavn / Norway
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
I have a GVP Impact A2000-HC+8 Series II Revision 4 in mine. 18.2gb SCSI drive, 8MB fast. Lovely card and can be picked up quite cheaply.

http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/impact2000hc8
Looks nice. I will look for it on Ebay. Tried searching youtube for it, but it hasīnt received much coverage yet.
Harry_norway is offline  
Old 04 December 2016, 09:21   #5
Harry_norway
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Skudeneshavn / Norway
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by EugeneNine View Post
why a zip drive, those were terrible.
Typical reason. Had an external one when I was young. Pure nostalgia :-)
Harry_norway is offline  
Old 05 December 2016, 14:06   #6
EugeneNine
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Ohio
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry_norway View Post
Typical reason. Had an external one when I was young. Pure nostalgia :-)
I worked for a PC shop and the local college required use of zip drives. So many students would come in mad because the zip drive lost their data. Over and over again, some mad and yelling or claiming they would sue us for lost work. We just sold what they asked for.

Put in a SCSI scrom drive or something, anything but a zip drive.

If you haven't already remove the battery.

Last edited by EugeneNine; 05 December 2016 at 14:14.
EugeneNine is offline  
Old 06 December 2016, 09:32   #7
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry_norway View Post
Looks nice. I will look for it on Ebay. Tried searching youtube for it, but it hasīnt received much coverage yet.
It's unlikely to receive any more than it already has. This board was released 26 years ago.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 12 December 2016, 02:59   #8
LuigiThirty
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry_norway View Post
PS! If you have a "pimped" Amiga 2000, leave a picture or youtube link. I would love to see it for inspiration.
I've got in mine:

GVP G-Force 030 40MHz 68030 accelerator/SCSI host/32-bit RAM card with 12MB
SCSI2SD with 4GB SD card
An old Matsushita SCSI CD burner
Indivision ECS for VGA output
ASDG dual serial board for 115200bps serial capability
SupraRAM 2000 with 6MB fast RAM just in case 12MB isn't enough
And as soon as it arrives, an X-Surf 100 NIC.
LuigiThirty is offline  
Old 12 December 2016, 05:39   #9
snoopy77
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuigiThirty View Post
I've got in mine:

GVP G-Force 030 40MHz 68030 accelerator/SCSI host/32-bit RAM card with 12MB
SCSI2SD with 4GB SD card
An old Matsushita SCSI CD burner
Indivision ECS for VGA output
ASDG dual serial board for 115200bps serial capability
SupraRAM 2000 with 6MB fast RAM just in case 12MB isn't enough
And as soon as it arrives, an X-Surf 100 NIC.
Nice...mhzzz
snoopy77 is offline  
Old 12 December 2016, 06:45   #10
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney
Posts: 223
In my opinion you want anything to differentiate it from just being an A500 in a big box (which, of course, a stock A2000 is). So: RAM, SCSI, accellerator (doesn't have to be huge - just anything but a 68k.) All three on the same card will avoid RAM conflicts.

If you're into video and want something the A2000 is famous for, Video Toaster cards are fun (although admittedly, I'm still struggling to get mine working!).
Marchie is offline  
Old 12 December 2016, 10:40   #11
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 730
Toaster is NTSC, and equipment for that aint very common here in Europe...

FWIW: A2630, A2065, A2091 combo is what i would look for.
Locutus is offline  
Old 12 December 2016, 13:16   #12
EugeneNine
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Ohio
Posts: 161
I was looking at prices a bit over the weekend and the bare pcb's with the connector (ISA or one that will fit the zorro slots) have gotten more expensive.

One of the reasons I always wanted a 2000 and was hacking the zorro slots onto the side of my 500 was so I could do some hardware interfacing. Going to cot more this time around.
EugeneNine is offline  
Old 13 December 2016, 23:15   #13
tin
eezeenow!

 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: chester
Posts: 407
You could turn it into one of these? [ Show youtube player ]

tin is offline  
Old 14 December 2016, 13:37   #14
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
I would avoid adding an accelerator (however I would recommend a 68010).

The best thing about the 2000 is you can expand it quite a lot whilst keeping it almost fully A500 compatible.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 07 February 2017, 04:23   #15
Shadowfire
Registered User
Shadowfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 533
The A2630 accelerator allows you to turn off the 68030 by holding down both mouse buttons on powerup, then choosing "68000 on AmigaDOS".
Shadowfire is offline  
Old 07 February 2017, 05:22   #16
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by tin View Post
You could turn it into one of these? [ Show youtube player ]
An A1200 with 50mhz 68030 can probably do that (video is uncompressed, of course).
Thorham is offline  
Old 16 March 2017, 22:58   #17
fordav1
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 75
the Vampire2 500 (or whatever it's called) might be a better way to go. Have you tried buying an A2630 lately? ;-)
For HDD+RAM, the kipper2k CF IDE add-on board with 8M would also be a good one to add. http://www.kipper2k.com/a500fastmem.html
fordav1 is offline  
Old 20 March 2017, 13:36   #18
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 314
the best addon for A1200 is:
CD-Room
HD 3,5"
68030/68882 at 50 Mhz
16 MB

the best configuration to play to any games and also softwares
Seiya is offline  
Old 20 March 2017, 18:45   #19
mrmightyfine
Registered User
mrmightyfine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Harleston, Norfolk
Posts: 12
Send a message via Skype™ to mrmightyfine
My 2000 has a GVP 2030 combo, 4.3gb hd, 50mhz and 16mb ram, Gotek in spare floppy bay, X-Surf 2 network card, Tandem IDE card and CD drive and on order is a MNT V2000 Graphics card
mrmightyfine is offline  
Old 28 March 2017, 05:16   #20
LuigiThirty
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowfire View Post
The A2630 accelerator allows you to turn off the 68030 by holding down both mouse buttons on powerup, then choosing "68000 on AmigaDOS".
The GVP accelerator lets you do the same thing by running a 68000 Mode icon but it also disables the SCSI and 32-bit RAM. Good for running old scene ADF files of questionable virusicity though since it means your HD won't get erased...
LuigiThirty is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1500 case add-on for Amiga 500 Hauke Nostalgia & memories 12 24 May 2016 14:41
How to add ECS Agnus to a Amiga 2000? Tempest 2084 support.Hardware 31 04 September 2012 21:15
New to Amiga - want to add hard drive Ballisticbrian New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 04 July 2010 23:37
How do I add new WHDLoad games to extras in GB Amiga jamespstevenson support.WinUAE 12 31 March 2010 11:40
CDTV Amiga 570 Add-On Value? 3DO Bro MarketPlace 3 19 April 2008 13:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22668 seconds with 11 queries