English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 November 2016, 14:52   #1
riverajl
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: sao paulo / brasil
Posts: 14
message Could not open Janus.Library emulating BridgeBoard

I am trying to use the A2088 expansion emulated in the winuae.

I used the A2088 BIOS 3.4 380788-04.bin as the rom for it as well as the others.

I starated the machine with the kickstart 1.3.

Frist af all, I created a boot hd (a folder hd).
Then I copied all wb3.1 to it. Eject the floppy and boot from the hd.

After that, I used the image CBM-PCInstall-334.dms to install the bridgeboard. It created a PC directory in the HD.

I tried to start PCPrefs but it didn't started.

Then I used the Amiga_Janus_2.1.adf image to install Janus.

The instalation proccess did not recognized the bridgeboard. It was set manually.

After installed Janus (it created a virtual hd in the amiga hd) I tried again to use PCPrefs and PCMono withou success.

I am getting the message Could not open Janus.Library when I open pcprefs or even pcmono.

Can anyone help me?
riverajl is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 November 2016, 16:11   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
Could not open = board is not found or x86 CPU is not running (for example missing or bad bios)

Attach your config and log file (Paths GUI panel -> tick debugging checkbox before starting emulation, boot, exit, attach winuaelog.txt)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 17 November 2016, 16:13   #3
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,650
download this Janus2.1.zip (EAB's ftp) - the included Janus2.1.DMS has a janus.library in the bridge folder.
copy it to your libs: folder. i'm not sure if it works with the 2088 bridgeboard (emulation) but worth a try.
emufan is offline  
Old 18 January 2017, 10:42   #4
fordav1
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Could not open = board is not found or x86 CPU is not running (for example missing or bad bios)
That's not entirely accurate.
I have all of the bridgeboards that were produced (including the GoldenGate). I have a A2088 Bridgeboard that is seen by the Amiga in the early startup menu and also is seen and identified correctly by SysInfo's Board lister.
The CPU resets correctly (pin 21 goes from high to low) and the data lines on the 8088 are actively pulsing. Pin 19 has a 4.77MHz clock. The BIOS was read with an EPROM programmer and verified good.
In other words it is running code.
When I click PCMono or PCColor is simply says "could not open Janus.Library". If I simply swap out the A2088 for a A2286 it works so the software is installed correctly.
If the PCMono or PCColor program is run without a Bridgeboard plugged in it does nothing or crashes the Amiga.
So the presence of the board or CPU not running is not a factor of the "could not open Janus.Library" error.
If the 128k dual port RAM is changed for good RAM it doesn't make any difference. If the on-board (PC-side) 512k RAM is changed it doesn't make any difference. Even if ALL of the RAM is removed the Amiga still sees the board in the early startup screen and in the SysInfo board screen. Meaning the absense or presence of any on-board RAM does not affect whether the Amiga sees the Bridgeboard or Janus library or not. and no, changing caps does not help... in fact it does not help with most old PCBs as caps are mainly used to filter power and even if they are removed it will still work.... caps are more important in power supplies and monitors and mostly unimportant on old PCBs.
It's really a pity no one has any concrete knowledge of how the Bridgeboards work as this error appears a lot with a google search and there's not one person with accurate troubleshooting knowledge.
fordav1 is offline  
Old 18 January 2017, 10:49   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
That reply was obviously from emulation point of view. Those two are the only possibilities under emulation, it does not attempt to emulate hardware faults

EDIT: janus simply starts the PC side CPU, then it waits for bios rom to do its init phase, it sets some variable in shared ram that janus polls. If poll timeouts, it returns "could not open..". (=there are million possible fault conditions, nearly everything needs to work on PC side)

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 18 January 2017 at 11:24.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cannot open rtg.library AGS support.WinUAE 6 02 April 2015 18:41
Open-source graphics library Don_Adan Coders. System 32 15 January 2013 22:15
dos.library Open() hangs MrD Coders. Asm / Hardware 15 24 July 2012 19:55
unable to open reqtools.library RabidRabbit support.WinUAE 6 31 March 2009 13:43
Can't open version 36 of graphics.library Lambizkit support.Apps 1 07 November 2007 08:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21358 seconds with 11 queries