English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 November 2016, 03:34   #41
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
Sorry for the ignorance but does this go in the user-startup?
No.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2
As to my other issue, what TCP stack do you recommend?
I use AmiTCP since I managed to configure it in the 90s. Anything should go, really. Roadshow is most up to date, though.
idrougge is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 November 2016, 05:08   #42
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 759
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuMan View Post
Oh dear... Now off for some master-8-bitting....
Edit: To solve the https encryption issue, I'm trying accessing asciipr0n.com via a proxy, that converts it to regular http

Last edited by Starglider 2; 23 November 2016 at 06:36.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 20 November 2016, 09:12   #43
Gzegzolka
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Warszawa / Polska
Posts: 971
Back in old days I was playing a lot of games and playing with deluxe paint. Later when I discover winuae I play even more games and enjoy tweaking workbench to look as I want.
Gzegzolka is offline  
Old 22 November 2016, 06:45   #44
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 759
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuMan View Post
All my Miggies are in storage, as my man-cave has been converted into a nursery...

But, when it was in full swing, I had my A1200T and A600HD permanently set up. I'd play the good old stuff on the A600, and the FPS-type stuff on the A1200T. Breathless is just wonderful, but I do keep heading back to Doom, too. It flies like hell with my 603e PPC
Nobody got Doom going on an A500+ yet did they?

Thanks!!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 22 November 2016, 07:19   #45
TroyWilkins
Registered User

TroyWilkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
Nobody got Doom going on an A500+ yet did they?

Thanks!!
Not a stock 500+, not that I'm aware of anyway
TroyWilkins is offline  
Old 23 November 2016, 07:20   #46
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 759
Success! Check out those @reolas! 😉



To get around the A500 https incompatibility it occurred to me to use a proxy server that converts https to http. End result, pr0n websites on the A500 👌



Now if you'll excuse me...

Thanks!!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 23 November 2016, 11:04   #47
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
Success! Check out those @reolas! 😉

To get around the A500 https incompatibility it occurred to me to use a proxy server that converts https to http. End result, pr0n websites on the A500 👌
cool idea, thanks for that hint

Quote:
Now if you'll excuse me...

Thanks!!
haha, I dont comment on that
emufan is offline  
Old 23 November 2016, 12:03   #48
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
Nobody got Doom going on an A500+ yet did they?

Thanks!!
There's another thread about the best FPS that runs on unexpanded A500. I think the best so far was a Polish indie game. Forget the name, but search the forums for the topic...

Edit:
Here's the thread:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=79506

Someone ported Doom to C64 with Super CPU. It's almost playable with certain compromises ;-)
I'm not saying A500 is *absolutely* impossible... but it *almost certainly* is :-)

Skickat från min LG-H850 via Tapatalk

Last edited by eXeler0; 23 November 2016 at 14:49.
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 24 November 2016, 00:07   #49
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 759
Quote:
Originally Posted by Locutus View Post
Enjoying the finest of ASCII art pr0n in Topaz/8
Update: I persuaded the owner of asciipr0n to make an unencrypted version that works natively on the A500: http://cleartext.asciipr0n.com

Enjoy!

Thanks!!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 30 November 2016, 23:01   #50
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
i found two ascii art anims. use more in cli/shell and then press "space" to animate.
the above is not very impressive, maybe the wrong text viewer.
there were more impressive anims which uses special ESC-sequences in the text file.
does anyone know where to find them and which textviewer wwe have to use?
i found a cool tool: HyperANSI v1.08 (Mike O. Nelson) (1994).dms ( in the zone)
you can use it do watch those asci/ansi anims too - just change the DisplaySpeed in Edit --> Load Parameters.

there are some ansi art packs on aminet

#1) PlusED 2.1 on aminet can play those asci/ansi anims too

Last edited by emufan; 30 November 2016 at 23:34.
emufan is offline  
Old 30 November 2016, 23:58   #51
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 759
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
i found a cool tool: HyperANSI v1.08 (Mike O. Nelson) (1994).dms ( in the zone)
you can use it do watch those asci/ansi anims too - just change the DisplaySpeed in Edit --> Load Parameters.

there are some ansi art packs on aminet

#1) PlusED 2.1 on aminet can play those asci/ansi anims too
Nice, thanks for sharing!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 01 December 2016, 00:22   #52
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,593
I have a 68k A600 with just 2mb Chip Ram.

I use it just for games. Nothing else. But of all my retro systems that I own just for this, I think my A600 is the one I spend more time. I do have some "retrogaming meetings" at my home once a month... people never bothered with the Amiga , but the last 2 meetings the younger kids (19-22 years old) really got into it... its the guys around my age (early-mid 30s) that don't give a damn about it.

I'd like to have more free time to code for it. I made a few small prototypes of games, nothing else.

I hope 2017 will be better regarding this.
Shatterhand is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19512 seconds with 11 queries