English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 November 2016, 22:19   #1
honx
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 697
new sound problem in old configuration

i have an a600 configuration in winuae for almost four years now. and it was working all the time.
nothing changed since 2013. but today i encounter a strange sound problem in game nicky boum.
sounds like killing monsters, collecting items or blowing bombs are totally muted/missing for a while.
then sounds are back until they go missing again. while music keeps playing as it should.
what could it be and why so suddenly? it used to work for almost four years without problems!
it's the same old configuration, it's the same nicky boum .adf image i always use.

sound settings:
sound emulation active, automatic switch on (whatever this is)
device paula, sound buffer 8 (also don't get what this is )
stereo, 70%, sinc (never understood this interpolation thingamajigs),
44100, always on A500 (also never understood audio filter thingamajigs),
drivers: DirectSound, WASAPI (?) are checked
honx is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 November 2016, 09:05   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,564
Complete config file must be always attached.

No sound setting can have effect on single Amiga channel behavior. Sounds like too fast CPU mode.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 05 November 2016, 09:25   #3
honx
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 697
here i add a600 config file. cpu is set to 68000 (like real amiga 600) and speed a500/cycle exact.
Attached Files
File Type: uae a600.uae (16.5 KB, 26 views)
honx is offline  
Old 05 November 2016, 22:13   #4
honx
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 697
i think, i've found the problem. it seems, joytokey was interfering in winuae emulation.
joytokey is a software i use very often for remapping keyboard keys to joystick/gamepad.
useful if you want to play a game with joystick/gamepad which only supports keyboard.
this soundproblem occurred while joytokey accidently still running although not needed.
now joytokey is not active anymore and this problem seems to have vanished...
honx is offline  
Old 06 November 2016, 20:46   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,564
Sounds like it generated multiple or "too fast" events that confused the game logic.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amithlon / AHI Sound Configuration Guide? dframeli New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 11 September 2009 22:51
Catweasel IV Plus and Winuae configuration problem Rakki support.WinUAE 5 02 September 2009 11:56
Loading configuration files problem in 1.5.0 trackah123 support.WinUAE 4 29 July 2008 17:12
Saving configuration problem NewDeli support.WinUAE 13 10 July 2008 12:50
Optimal sound configuration? Melvein support.WinUAE 0 03 May 2003 12:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11659 seconds with 12 queries