English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 November 2016, 16:06   #1
Dr.Venom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 278
Possibility to "unplug" the keyboard?

Is there a possibility to "unplug" the keyboard in WinUAE? Like we can disable / detach a floppy drive in the floppy panel?

I'm wondering whether the possible speedup from not emulating the keyboard could be useful in certain cases (like many games/demos don't need the keyboard). Or would the speedup be negligible?
Dr.Venom is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 November 2016, 16:15   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,518
It would make no difference. Keyboard sends key codes to Amiga, Amiga can't talk to the keyboard (like PC keyboards can do).

But "Disconnected keyboard" is technically missing emulation feature. A1000 keyboard has normal RJ11 connector.

EDIT: Software can detect if keyboard is connected because keyboard sends special keycode(s) at reset.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 04 November 2016, 16:48   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,518
Now implemented
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 04 November 2016, 17:00   #4
sigma63
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Berlin
Posts: 76
IIRC there was a slight difference between the A1000-Keyboard and the others. I think there was a) a difference in the Response-Codes to Reset and b) the handling of the "Rest-Warning-Handler" (Don't remember the correct name).
Can anybody confirm this?
sigma63 is offline  
Old 04 November 2016, 17:05   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,518
AFAIK it works as documented but reset warning was not for some unknown (and probably very stupid) reason was not supported in all later models (for example A500).
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 28 November 2016, 09:45   #6
Dr.Venom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Now implemented
Nice

I'm not really sure, but there may be a tiny issue.

I have an IPAC 2 (keyboard encoder) connected, with joystick buttons mapped via the IPAC (they go to key "space", "CTRL", etc..)

When I disconnect the emulated keyboard, the keyboard still works for these remapped button keys. So e.g. "space" remains working, not only through the joystick button presses, but also via my attached keyboard (pressing the physical spacebar).

The quick conclusion would be that the keyboard doesn't seem fully disconnected? But I'm not sure how to judge it, since this button remapping isn't really a situation which you would encounter with real hardware..

Log with the remapped keys attached.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog_keyboard_disconnected.txt (13.2 KB, 31 views)
Dr.Venom is offline  
Old 30 November 2016, 19:30   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,518
Fixed. Disconnect did nothing.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 02 December 2016, 16:05   #8
Dr.Venom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Fixed. Disconnect did nothing.
Great, works as expected now.

I noticed one other thing. All keys that are pressed while the keyboard is -not- connected are remembered and fed to the emulated Amiga as soon as the keyboard is re-connected again during the same session.
Dr.Venom is offline  
Old 02 December 2016, 17:31   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,518
That is exactly how real Amiga keyboard works. First comes special key code that tells following key(s) are pressed at powerup, then comes key codes (or none), then comes another special code that signals end of power up pressed keys.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 03 December 2016, 16:04   #10
Dr.Venom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
That is exactly how real Amiga keyboard works. First comes special key code that tells following key(s) are pressed at powerup, then comes key codes (or none), then comes another special code that signals end of power up pressed keys.
Ah cool, I didn't know that.

But shouldn't it then -only- apply to keys that are held down at the time the keyboard is connected (i.e. the emulated Amiga recognizes the keys that are pressed down when keyboard gets connected / powered up)?

Because currently in WinUAE (e.g. when in Amiga shell) I can "disconnect" keyboard, type "Amiga rulez", walk away to get a coffee, come back 5 minutes later, then "connect" keyboard and see magically typed into the screen "Amiga rulez". I guess that shouldn't really be possible, or maybe I'm misunderstanding something?
Dr.Venom is offline  
Old 03 December 2016, 19:15   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,518
One more fix.. Buffer was never read when disconnected (It was supposed to but it was inside wrong "if")

Only currently pressed keys should be returned.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Screech!! v2.41" & "Screech!! [AGA] v2.51" - "HD install" --> "ADFs" DamienD request.Old Rare Games 33 19 August 2017 03:53
"Voices8" 8 Channel Soundtracker "DemoSongI" song - "This is the Amiga with 8 Voices" DemosongIHunter request.Music 40 13 April 2017 05:06
"Reminder "Lincs Amiga User Group aka "LAG" Meet Sat 5th of January 2013" rockape News 4 30 January 2013 00:06
CD32 Image-Name-Bug: "...(bla)[!].zip" -> "...(bla)[" / "...[test].zip" -> "...[tes" cfTrio support.WinUAE 8 18 December 2012 16:31
Problems with "Thespywholovedme", "Flood", "Shinobi" sareks support.Games 12 03 May 2006 14:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16380 seconds with 12 queries