English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 November 2016, 00:06   #101
warfalcon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: London
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigajay View Post
You have labelled it as CD32 but used 030 and fastest settings on winuae to show it off?
Yes, I could not test it on real hardware but on an emulator only. Why would anyone use lower settings on an emulator just to force the game to lag? A video from a real cd32 would be much appreciated.
warfalcon is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 November 2016, 00:12   #102
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by warfalcon View Post
Yes, I could not test it on real hardware but on an emulator only. Why would anyone use lower settings on an emulator just to force the game to lag? A video from a real cd32 would be much appreciated.
Well the point was you labelled it as a cd32 version, if you are using higher settings then it's an Amiga CD version, people will get the wrong impression if they burn a disc expecting that kind of speed on a real cd32 that's all.

Edit : good job on getting music working btw!
Amigajay is offline  
Old 07 November 2016, 00:17   #103
warfalcon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: London
Posts: 67
I see your point, if it was misleading; I apologize. Itīs shot on winuae 68030 settings. I will relabel the desc.
warfalcon is offline  
Old 07 November 2016, 00:21   #104
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,472
I can't use the rope on the stalectite? Youtube Walkthrough for Sega CD version shows you can. Am I doing something wrong or is there a bug here?

ransom1122 is offline  
Old 07 November 2016, 00:25   #105
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,981
Push up before 'shooting' the rope
DamienD is online now  
Old 07 November 2016, 00:30   #106
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by warfalcon View Post
[ Show youtube player ]

<snip>

This release is inofficial, made for fun and only hosted here in the zone.
I hope you like it. Cheers.
Appreciate the efforts warfalcon / Flashtro

...but unfortunately like both myself and honx experienced; your video shows the intro sound out of sync

In WinUAE I had to use a 68040 CPU + Fastest Possible in order to rectify.

Not sure how D.J.M. & earok will get around this when using CD32 hardware but hopefully they have some tricks / optimisations up their sleeves
DamienD is online now  
Old 07 November 2016, 00:31   #107
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,472
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Push up before 'shooting' the rope
Up & Fire Leaps forward into the hole? UP then Fire Doesn't do anything the whip just fizzles blue?

I have tried heaps, no luck I keep seeing this falling screen, I think he's hinting which is a better game


Last edited by ransom1122; 07 November 2016 at 00:38.
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 07 November 2016, 00:45   #108
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,981
LOL

Here's what's in the "HOTA.GUIDE" file so if you are using a joystick with only 1 button then swap to the rope by pressing <space>:

Quote:
Game controls:

- joystick and/or keyboard

Sega uses 3-buttons, one for RUN/FIRE, second for using ROPE and third for JUMP.

Default Amiga keyboard settings:

- MOVE = cursor arrows
- RUN/FIRE = Z key
- ROPE = X key
- JUMP = C key
- BOMB = X+C key or B key
- PASSWORD = SPACE key on continue screen
- JOY BUTTONS SWITCH = SPACE key in game
- PAUSE = P key
- QUIT = ESC key

On original Amiga keyboards does not work combinations of Z,X and C keys, but on my external keyboard with Lyra 2 interface it works fine.

There is possible redefine keyboard in "hota.prefs" file in any text editor or use GUI.

Just replace RAW key-codes with another ones.
(e.g.:Instead of Z,X and C keys to use L.SHIFT($60),L.ALT($64) and L.AMIGA($66) keys.)

If you use 2-button joystick:

- Button 1 = RUN/FIRE
- Button 1 + UP direction = JUMP
- Button 2 = ROPE

If you use 1-button joystick:

- Button 1 = RUN/FIRE/JUMP or ROPE,

where SPACE key in game toggle between RUN/FIRE/JUMP and ROPE function.
Up & Fire (when the rope is selected) works fine here
DamienD is online now  
Old 07 November 2016, 00:50   #109
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,472
Up + X on the keyboard - While using Keyboard Layer B setting in winuae works. Thanks
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 07 November 2016, 02:04   #110
honx
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 697
but if i use keyboard layer b then i can't use joystick...
there must be some way to configure a xbox 360 controller to act like cd32 pad.
honx is offline  
Old 07 November 2016, 03:24   #111
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,472
Quote:
Originally Posted by honx View Post
but if i use keyboard layer b then i can't use joystick...
there must be some way to configure a xbox 360 controller to act like cd32 pad.
I test a Sega Dreamcast Arcade stick with a USB Converter, with this game and it works perfect. WINUAE Detects Standard USB Controller. Button 1 Is Run and Jump. Button 2 is The whip. No Joystick configuring was needed.
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 07 November 2016, 07:48   #112
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 34
Posts: 2,235
They went to all this trouble but didn't even crack it properly? Leaving password entry screens in was acceptable when everyone was rushing for a first release. But now?
Hewitson is offline  
Old 07 November 2016, 09:21   #113
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
They went to all this trouble but didn't even crack it properly? Leaving password entry screens in was acceptable when everyone was rushing for a first release. But now?
You don't need to enter anything to start, its there so you can resume in another part of the game.
Amigajay is offline  
Old 07 November 2016, 13:27   #114
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,482
We're launching the CD32 version as currently is as a BETA. D.J.M has worked massively hard on the project for months on end and would like to retire the project, at least for now.

So what's in this version?
- Akiko optimised rendering, which gives a noticeable gameplay boost on the humble CD32
- Sega CD faithful controls:
- RED: Run
- BLUE: Whip
- GREEN: Jump Forward
- Patch for CD audio playback on a real CD32

We're releasing as BETA because it isn't fully tested and there are known issues (in particular the intro animation lagging behind the music)

As an aside, I've included the original game (US edition: Out of this World) which I've patched to have the password menu accessible from blue button, but is otherwise the same old Amiga edition (it's also based on an old cracked copy, so excuse the copy protection screen - just enter anything). The menu from the Sega CD edition has been ported to cater for selecting the two games. There's also a cover in the download by Steve.

Big round of applause for all of D.J.M's super hard work on this project!



Also thanks to Akira, I've nabbed his WAVs and ported to MP3 (for download size reasons).

EDIT:

I've made another upload, this includes a version with RAW audio. I'm not totally sure but this version might be more reliable, albeit at the cost of audio fidelity and maybe slightly decreased performance.

The upload includes both versions. It might be possible that the freezes are only on real CD32s (in which case the CD music version is preferable under emulation). I have not tested this second build on a real CD32 yet.

Burn the cue file if you want CD Music, otherwise just the ISO called "CD32Game-RAWMusic.iso"

EDIT 2:

I haven't heard from D.J.M in awhile but I've uploaded another version that (for now) I consider the final beta.

It uses CD music and it has a workaround for the freezing issue - when the game freezes, lift the lid for a brief moment and it should come back to life (CD32 will not reboot). I know it's not ideal but it should allow you to (hopefully) play the whole game without needing to reboot. So far as the exact executables go, it's the same as before, just with a utility added to prevent the CD32 from rebooting upon lifting the lid.

https://mega.nz/#!EB5wWYgQ!INhHEHPI4...FWSIEvHv3TstIU

EDIT 3:

EDIT:

There are parts of the game (such as falling down the hole near the start) where the game will freeze with a black screen, and opening the lid will not fix this issue. When this happens, just leave the console running until the current CD track finishes, then it'll resume.

In short, if the game is frozen in the middle of action and the music has stopped playing, lift the lid. If you've got a black screen and the music is still playing, wait for the game to resume. I know it's all very messy but it's the best I can provide for now.

EDIT:

Ugh, I give up. Waiting for the game to resume worked on WinUAE, didn't seem to work on real console..

Last edited by earok; 13 November 2016 at 11:01.
earok is offline  
Old 07 November 2016, 13:37   #115
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,472
Amazing work that's happened with this game. I did not expect it and was very surprised. Well done to all involved.
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 07 November 2016, 13:45   #116
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,336
Whoop! Cheers D.J.M in particular, and anyone else who worked on getting this working! Top job, will try this out later!
Amigajay is offline  
Old 07 November 2016, 13:45   #117
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,981
Thank you kindly earok and D.J.M

Sadly though; I'm unable to mount the .CUE file using Daemon Tools Lite:



I can mount the .ISO file but then of course no audio in the game...
DamienD is online now  
Old 07 November 2016, 13:46   #118
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Thank you kindly earok and D.J.M

Sadly though; I'm unable to mount the .CUE file using Daemon Tools Lite:



I can mount the .ISO file but then of course no audio in the game...
Did you convert the mp3 files back to wav if you dl the version above?
Amigajay is offline  
Old 07 November 2016, 13:47   #119
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Thank you kindly earok and D.J.M

Sadly though; I'm unable to mount the .CUE file using Daemon Tools Lite:



I can mount the .ISO file but then of course no audio in the game...
You shouldn't need to use daemontools? If you're playing with winuae you should be able to drag the cue right into the interface

Edit: I guess you could try Akira's original wav pack, just update the cue by doing a find and replace on .mp3 to .wav
earok is offline  
Old 07 November 2016, 13:53   #120
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 37
Posts: 2,454
Heart Of The Alien Redux Amiga v1.0 - Another World sequel as an Amiga port gets an Amiga CD32 beta release

http://www.indieretronews.com/2016/1...0-another.html
Neil79 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heart of the Alien amigappc support.Games 5 29 June 2013 13:05
Heart of the Alien: How to compile. XDelusion support.Apps 10 28 December 2011 01:54
Brag your heart out! Thorham Retrogaming General Discussion 18 18 June 2008 21:47
amiga open-heart surgery rattus support.Hardware 12 01 March 2003 10:57
Heart of China Exodus Retrogaming General Discussion 3 27 January 2002 02:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24083 seconds with 11 queries