English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 November 2016, 08:58   #1
wXR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 552
ACA1260 - is it really happening?

I am right now shopping for an Amiga 1200 aceclerator, and rumors abound that Jens may be coming out with a new 060 ACA card. Do we actually know if it is the case or not? And if it is apparently true, what are the specs supposed to be?
wXR is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 November 2016, 09:29   #2
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
@wXR

I am sorry to say that I have not heard /read of Jens / Individual Computers releasing or proposing anything within the 040/060 class of accelerators.

Might I ask where you heard these rumours ?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 03 November 2016, 10:39   #3
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,295
In the past, he has mentioned that such cards would be way too expensive and the market too small for it to make sense. But I have heard rumors about him doing an accelerator using an FPGA CPU, perhaps 040 compatible. Not Apollo/68080, but another slower one which has working FPU.
demolition is offline  
Old 03 November 2016, 11:09   #4
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,397
If you consider the first thing Jens explains to everyone who thinks price should only reflect the hardware cost.. Do you really see him put in the development hours to do a full 040 in FPGA? Compared to actual 040 cost..? Which isn't even remotely as absurd as rev 060s.
(At one point he actually mentioned he was in contact with the Apollo team about manufacturing the V1200 as he has the proper tooling to easily manufacture the otherwise elusive edge connectors. But I don't think that is happening any more..)

What Jens also DID say is that he could do a card IF he could find a good and reliable source for the CPUs. (Including reasonable pricing).
He even mentioned he would be interested in buying any stock of CPUs the new Phake5 guy might have found.

Long story short..and this would be my personal advice - If you need a high end accelerator in the *near* future, waiting for a product from Jens will likely lead to frustration ;-)
Get an upgradable Apollo 1240 and pay someone to upgrade it with earlier rev060 + 64MB RAM hack. Should be much cheaper than Blizzard 1260.
Or wait a bit longer for more Vampire 1200 news.




Skickat från min LG-H850 via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 03 November 2016, 11:30   #5
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by wXR View Post
ACA1260 - is it really happening?
Short answer: no.
Predseda is offline  
Old 03 November 2016, 17:10   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,959
"Rumor" originated here:
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=109
Akira is offline  
Old 03 November 2016, 19:34   #7
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 787
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post

Long story short..and this would be my personal advice - If you need a high
Get an upgradable Apollo 1240 and pay someone to upgrade it with earlier rev060 + 64MB RAM hack. Should be much cheaper than Blizzard 1260.
Or wait a bit longer for more Vampire 1200
Agreed. Finding a 'cheap' Blizzard 1240 and getting someone like Stan to upgrade it is the most cost effective way to getting 060 power in an A1200 at the moment, at least until the Vamp arrives.
trixster is offline  
Old 03 November 2016, 20:40   #8
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 1,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Sounds like he could release an 060 card tomorrow if he had a decent supply of chips, I wouldn't call that a rumour!
mihcael is offline  
Old 03 November 2016, 21:16   #9
Spacemonkey
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Rochdale
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihcael View Post
Sounds like he could release an 060 card tomorrow if he had a decent supply of chips, I wouldn't call that a rumour!
I was under the impression that rocking horse sh!$ was easier to find, and hence no ACA1260 boards.
Spacemonkey is offline  
Old 03 November 2016, 21:17   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihcael View Post
I wouldn't call that a rumour!
Hence my use of quotes
Akira is offline  
Old 03 November 2016, 22:34   #11
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 262
No.
UberFreak is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is happening with Aminet? gulliver Amiga scene 7 26 May 2014 15:01
What's happening with a4000t.com and Mech? ptyerman Amiga scene 2 12 February 2014 16:09
What is happening? alexh support.Hardware 40 12 May 2009 00:24
What's happening with EaglePlayer? mr_a500 Amiga scene 1 11 March 2005 00:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15423 seconds with 11 queries