English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 October 2016, 19:07   #1
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 442
What is the purpose of "QuickStartCompatibility"?

A long time ago I posted here and asked why, on a clean install of WinUAE on a new install of Windows, did some of my demos not run properly? There would be things like glitches, missing elements to a sequence or the demo remaining stuck on one part.

Well, I found the cause when I made WinUAE portable, so removing all the Registry entries for it and moving them to an .ini file in the WinUAE root.

When I did that, I had to set up everything again, like Host Configuration and Paths and everything, and the problem manifested itself again. In the past, I would solve the problem by running one particular demo on totally the wrong model of Amiga (intended for A1200 but running on the fastest A4000) and from then on the problem was solved and everything was working properly.

I did that just now and compared the two .ini files, and one of the differences between them was the term "QuickStartCompatibility", which before was 1 and now was 0.

So what is this? How does it control emulation? Is it needed for certain situations? Because I find that it works best for me when it is 0.
Foebane is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 October 2016, 22:50   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,543
It stores Best compatibility <> Low compatibility slider position.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 23 October 2016, 12:19   #3
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 442
As far as I can tell, there was only one way software would run on any particular REAL Amiga, and if by "CPU Power" you mean the PC's CPU, then surely that's irrelevant these days, as even modest desktops and laptops have MORE than enough power to run WinUAE?

In any case, I can't believe the cause for the problem I had was staring me in the face all this time - I didn't even NOTICE that slider!
Foebane is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Screech!! v2.41" & "Screech!! [AGA] v2.51" - "HD install" --> "ADFs" DamienD request.Old Rare Games 33 19 August 2017 03:53
"Voices8" 8 Channel Soundtracker "DemoSongI" song - "This is the Amiga with 8 Voices" DemosongIHunter request.Music 40 13 April 2017 05:06
"Reminder "Lincs Amiga User Group aka "LAG" Meet Sat 5th of January 2013" rockape News 4 30 January 2013 00:06
CD32 Image-Name-Bug: "...(bla)[!].zip" -> "...(bla)[" / "...[test].zip" -> "...[tes" cfTrio support.WinUAE 8 18 December 2012 16:31
Problems with "Thespywholovedme", "Flood", "Shinobi" sareks support.Games 12 03 May 2006 14:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.10951 seconds with 11 queries