English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 October 2016, 22:13   #1
Dr.Venom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 282
Jim Power slowdown

This one has been a while on my list, but hadn't gotten around to making a good testcase.

There's a certain part in Jim Power that suffers from quite some bad slowdown, regardless of chipset settings.

I finally made a good savestate that makes for an easy test. It's saved just before where the slowdown will happen. The effect in the savestate isn't as bad as it sometimes is during gameplay, but it always happens - the first time - you reach that exact point in level 1.

Just load the savestate and move a bit to the right and you'll immediately notice that it slows down for a bit including the music.

This doesn't happen on a real machine and it also didn't use to happen on WinUAE. I've tested the final 3.3.0 and latest 3.4.0 beta. They both show the same slowdown at that exact point. Note that for some reason it will only occur the very first time that point is reached.

Hopefully it's possible to find what's causing this. I'll also try some older WinUAE's to see where it was introduced.

I've put the savestate in the zone just now.

Edit to add: I'm just noticing the CPU is 68010, hmmm that could be the culprit... Will do a test right away with 68000 and see if the same happens..
Edit2: Nope same slowdown happens with cpu set at 68000 (note that statefile was done with 68010).
Edit 3: slowdown happens back until at least 2.8.0 ... (in 2.4.0 savestate crashes). Strange... can't remember it happening back that far..

PS Still enjoying the hell out of the latest WinUAE beta

Last edited by Dr.Venom; 14 October 2016 at 22:38.
Dr.Venom is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 October 2016, 12:34   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,543
It needs to be 68000. Anything else: ignored.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 15 October 2016, 16:09   #3
Dr.Venom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
It needs to be 68000. Anything else: ignored.
It turns out it's the WHDLoad version of Jim Power that's the culprit. The slowdown happens both with 68000 and 68010 setting.

Could well be that it happens on real hardware also with WHDLoad version on 68000/10. But it's not something I can test (I only have A500 left without HD).

Running the IPF floppy version with 68000 runs perfect. Consider it solved
Dr.Venom is online now  
Old 15 October 2016, 16:32   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,543
Probably the usual "bug": blitter waits added to fix it on 68020+ which also as a side-effect slows down the game on 68000 Amigas.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
About the creators of Jim Power and many more... Shoonay Nostalgia & memories 6 24 March 2017 13:32
Jim Power, which is the best version s2325 Retrogaming General Discussion 63 24 February 2017 03:35
jim power hiscore table ? turrican3 Games images which need to be WHDified 4 02 February 2015 18:34
Sound bug in Jim Power Dr.Venom support.WinUAE 5 26 May 2011 21:46
Jim Power Unregistered support.Games 0 27 July 2002 15:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.10957 seconds with 11 queries