English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 October 2016, 23:47   #1
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,391
Will the Vampire 500 V2 revive the Atari ST scene?

Its real, apparently... you only need a ton of 68000 Sockets ;-)

https://plus.google.com/u/0/photos/1...72954544042114
eXeler0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 October 2016, 00:01   #2
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 327
Nice. The ST scene is quite healthy.

Maybe one day the Amiga can get cool stuff like this http://joo.kie.sk/?page_id=384 , this http://www.fairlite.co.uk/AtariKit//...r/monster.html and this http://www.lotharek.pl/product.php?pid=94

I'd love a sidecar like ultrasatan with embedded fast ram for the 500! The wider the scene, the lower the prices!
frank_b is offline  
Old 14 October 2016, 00:15   #3
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 262
The Amiga doesnt need something like the CosmosEx, when you can get a Gotek & IDE+FastRAM for half its price.

If you have A600/A1200/A3000/A4000, you already have internal IDE (or SCSI) anyway.
UberFreak is offline  
Old 14 October 2016, 01:24   #4
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberFreak View Post
The Amiga doesnt need something like the CosmosEx, when you can get a Gotek & IDE+FastRAM for half its price.

If you have A600/A1200/A3000/A4000, you already have internal IDE (or SCSI) anyway.
I have IDE + fast ram in my 500. My IDE card needs a boot floppy. The Cosmoex is a different beast from the Gotek.

It has USB joystick support, USB keyboard support, USB mice support all sans needing any drivers. It has an SD card slot plus USB mass storage. It can load floppy images over the network with wifi. It even lets you search for games then goes and fetches them for you over the net! It can map a physical drive to an SMB share with no drivers required. It can decode mp3s too with output going to the audio DMA. Pretty soon it'll be acting like a laser printer which prints over the network. It's also fully open hardware wise. You can build your own. The gotek is neat and cheap but it doesn't compare.

The media is hot swappable too. I'd very much like one of those for the 500. With the ultrasatan you can swap hard disks on SD card like floppies. I'd like that for the 500 too. Cflash on a vertically mounted IDE card is too fragile. No need on the 600 or 1200 where you have PCMCIA -> Cflash. Booting from one needs a boot floppy though Yuck. It would be nice on the 500. There's a stand alone cosmoex for SCSI. One of these days I'll hook it up to a GVP drive and see if I can get it working.

Last edited by frank_b; 14 October 2016 at 02:03.
frank_b is offline  
Old 14 October 2016, 01:48   #5
asm1
Registered User
asm1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 637
I thought entitled asshats had hounded the developer into leaving the scene.
The title of this thread should be "will we ever actually see the Vampire 500?!"
asm1 is offline  
Old 14 October 2016, 01:57   #6
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by asm1 View Post
I thought entitled asshats had hounded the developer into leaving the scene.
The title of this thread should be "will we ever actually see the Vampire 500?!"
If the hardware was open it wouldn't matter! It's not though, is it? If people want an ST compatible which is at least 10x faster than a vampire, just use Aranym. Amiga users can get a screaming fast Amiga with UAE/JIT too. Same code base!

I'd prefer the Natami. It was more interesting in scope. Pity that didn't survive. It was proprietary too
frank_b is offline  
Old 14 October 2016, 04:35   #7
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank_b View Post
I have IDE + fast ram in my 500. My IDE card needs a boot floppy.
Mine (ICD AdIDE) can autoboot with Kickstart 1.3.

As for the other functionality of the CosmosEx, seems like overkill.
I considered buying it for my STE but decided against it due to its price.
Got myself a Gotek & IDE adapter for around 60$ combined, which is enough for me.
UberFreak is offline  
Old 14 October 2016, 08:35   #8
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,268
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by asm1 View Post
I thought entitled asshats had hounded the developer into leaving the scene.
The title of this thread should be "will we ever actually see the Vampire 500?!"
Majsta is still in the scene, Kipper2k announced his departure, he has been helping with the manufacture.
Jope is offline  
Old 14 October 2016, 13:33   #9
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by asm1 View Post
I thought entitled asshats had hounded the developer into leaving the scene.
You think so because you don't read what the developer writes, instead basing your opinion on rumours instigated by people who don't read what the developer writes.
idrougge is offline  
Old 14 October 2016, 17:46   #10
paul1981
Registered User

paul1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: England
Posts: 121
Standard 600/1200 can boot from PCMCIA (drive CC0 via carddisk.device in rom).
paul1981 is offline  
Old 14 October 2016, 19:20   #11
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul1981 View Post
Standard 600/1200 can boot from PCMCIA (drive CC0 via carddisk.device in rom).
I've only ever used Cflash to PCMIA for transfers. It's pretty hit and miss if the cards can even format on the Amiga. It won't work with an older ROM and PIO mode 0 isn't exactly rocket fast either. Wouldn't it be nicer to have hot swappable Sdcard SCSI devices with 8 meg of fast RAM instead? Take my money!
frank_b is offline  
Old 14 October 2016, 19:20   #12
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
You think so because you don't read what the developer writes, instead basing your opinion on rumours instigated by people who don't read what the developer writes.
What happens if majesta quits too?
frank_b is offline  
Old 14 October 2016, 20:20   #13
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank_b View Post
What happens if majesta quits too?
Neither has quit.
idrougge is offline  
Old 14 October 2016, 20:40   #14
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by asm1 View Post
I thought entitled asshats had hounded the developer into leaving the scene.
The title of this thread should be "will we ever actually see the Vampire 500?!"
The title of the thread is what it is. If you feel you need to discuss other aspects of the Vampire 500 then maybe you're looking in the wrong place, ey?

Skickat från min LG-H850 via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 14 October 2016, 20:58   #15
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Neither has quit.
Can you please point me to something which verifies Kipper hasn't quit the project? The facebook post I saw indicated he had. If he hasn't it would be good to see evidence of it.
frank_b is offline  
Old 14 October 2016, 21:08   #16
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,020
It's in one of those never-ending Vampire threads. If eXeler0 doesn't find it for you, try a search for all of Kipper2k's posts and sort by date.
idrougge is offline  
Old 14 October 2016, 21:10   #17
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
It's in one of those never-ending Vampire threads. If eXeler0 doesn't find it for you, try a search for all of Kipper2k's posts and sort by date.
Thanks. I'll have a trawl. I'm more interested in his RAM and IDE boards to be honest.
frank_b is offline  
Old 14 October 2016, 21:16   #18
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank_b View Post
What happens if majesta quits too?
Its Majsta not Majesta ;-)

Don't think he has a lot of reason to "quit", but the threat of ppl leaving the scene is always present, it would be a shame but its ultimately pointless to worry about.

What if Jens quits Amiga etc... In the end, whatever happens, happens.
And if things get boring or meaningless, users "quit" too which ultimately transforms the community and everything around it.


Skickat från min LG-H850 via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 14 October 2016, 22:55   #19
majsta
www.majsta.com
majsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Banjaluka/Republic of Srpska
Age: 36
Posts: 424
No one is quitting anything, we are working more than ever with more projects to come. We just don't write much on the forums like before for known reasons. Right now few more models are in production. Regarding Atari, like I was saying if there is interest from their side we are open to all options
majsta is offline  
Old 14 October 2016, 23:33   #20
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by majsta View Post
No one is quitting anything, we are working more than ever with more projects to come. We just don't write much on the forums like before for known reasons. Right now few more models are in production. Regarding Atari, like I was saying if there is interest from their side we are open to all options
good news, i'm happy to hear that
emufan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga scene vs. c64 scene? Lucidphreak Amiga scene 30 18 June 2016 18:11
Amiga 500 Atari SC 1224 rfancella support.Hardware 15 29 October 2015 17:05
Need Help to Revive an A2000 .... Pioneer500 support.Hardware 13 25 April 2013 12:37
An A2000 and an A4000 to revive? jman support.Hardware 64 16 July 2011 20:11
More like Atari Scene kamelito Amiga scene 0 07 February 2010 01:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29576 seconds with 11 queries