English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 October 2016, 23:48   #41
JZon
Registered User
JZon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Savannah / Low Country
Posts: 189
Standby for BoingBag2 WB3.5 results..
JZon is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 October 2016, 01:57   #42
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by JZon View Post
...
Vsync: Neither in AMDVisionEngineControlCenter nor stock Win8 advanced settings. (Remember the KitchenSync?)
Sound: Got it. (Another config for games)
Yes, render time. Good looking. Will report back on that probably on a future post.
I was in hope for some more boost, by those energy-settings of windows and amd config.


those setting you get from Quickstart menu - choosing the model of your choise - are good enough for a start.
even while i technicaly dont understand the impact of most settings:
- full collision you need only for some games. workbench stuff doesnt need this.
- disable "cycle exact full"
- "advanced Chipset" i never touched, allways on "combatible settings"
- RTG buffers - i have here triple buffering, but i have 1GB dedicated graphics ram. but i would guess "double buffering" is enough anyway.
- never ever touched those vram/vsync/blackerthanblack settings, default settings just working here for me.


win8: if you already have win8, you should update to 8.1, makes not much difference, but win8.1 will get updates, while 8 will not.
and yep, getting rid of all the autorun crap is really nasty. :/
emufan is offline  
Old 17 October 2016, 04:57   #43
JZon
Registered User
JZon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Savannah / Low Country
Posts: 189
Getting Onboard

- RTG buffers - i have here triple buffering, but i have 1GB dedicated graphics ram. but i would guess "double buffering" is enough anyway.

You mean "but i have 1GB dedicated graphics ram on your quad pc?"

Or

You mean "but i have 1GB dedicated graphics ram in WinUAE?"

???

Sounds like the former. (if not, how does WinUAE see 1 gb of video ram? Zorro config with a bunch of expansions?)

Yes, I'm in concordance with the above too. (Except where did you find vsync in WinUAE? "- never ever touched those vram/vsync...") Although, truth be told, aren't we a little beyond quickstart at this point? LOL

Well, I've got some good news and some bad news.

Bad news first, I can't seem to find Boing Bags 1 and 2 for WB3.5. Sorry.

Good news, I tried my existing Boing Bags 1 and 2 on 3.9! and got an increase in mhz!

Click image for larger version

Name:	bb.PNG
Views:	28
Size:	29.7 KB
ID:	50494

I think those power adjustments in AMDVisionEngineControlCenter probably made an impact. I hadn't run two separate tests to see. I just used this new recommended tweak on the config and had already de set the AMDVisionEngineControlCenter adjust. (Could've run more tests with and without AMDVisionEngineControlCenter, but I was a little pressed for time.)

Here is the new config..

A4000 WB3.9bb.uae

So, 3.9 is the new king of the block with increased mhz, official BoingBags 1 and 2, and seems to be the pinnacle of Amiga technology for this setup. (at least on this HP2000 machine)

Thank you, thank you for the great suggestions. I still am following up on stuff from this post.

A major thank you to mark_k for looking over my config. It really perked things up. I make special egg (if you can decode)..

httpscolonforwardslashforwardslashwwwdotyoutubedotcomforwardslashwatchquestionmarkvequalsRiJCFrz1ba8

As far as upgrading to Win8.1 and receiving updates, I'm not sure what's being updated as (I thought) they were all updating to 10. (I guess I could start seeing about cleaning up a 10 setup. Sounds like a gigantic task) And yes, but it doesn't end with AutoRuns, I use about 14 other programs in combination to, for securitorizing and trimming down to bare essentials.

Thank you very much! Brother Jzon
JZon is offline  
Old 17 October 2016, 05:08   #44
JZon
Registered User
JZon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Savannah / Low Country
Posts: 189
DinosaurEgg!

Also, big thank you to emufan..

httpscolonforwardslashforwardslashwwwdotyoutubedotcomforwardslashwatchquestionmarkvequals_kWoLfACjA0
JZon is offline  
Old 17 October 2016, 06:24   #45
JZon
Registered User
JZon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Savannah / Low Country
Posts: 189
Kudos

Thank you Amiga System, DamienD, and s specially idrougge too!
JZon is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aladdin 4D New Name / New Ownership Pyromania Amiga scene 0 26 February 2012 21:29
Aladdin 4D zevs request.Apps 8 04 October 2009 22:54
Tell me about Aladdin 4d... Mick_AKA support.Apps 31 22 November 2007 23:36
Aladdin AGA DamienD support.Games 2 02 August 2005 10:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12203 seconds with 12 queries