English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 January 2017, 11:19   #101
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 2,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olaf Barthel View Post
The DEBUG switch has been around for a while, but please do not expect a lot of useful information to come forth by enabling it. It merely switches the debug flag of the network interface on or off, and the results of that flag being enabled largely affect only how much "debug information" the TCP/IP stack kernel authors wanted to share, back in 1994.
All I ask of the DEBUG switch is to give out exactly the same information as when the NetInterface file contains DEBUG=YES.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olaf Barthel
Yes, but then I probably would have named it "ENABLEDHCPUNICAST", which is a bit longer and doesn't exactly roll off your tongue
I don't think that's necessary, or even styleguide compliant.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olaf Barthel
In my opinion it is easier get a good idea of what effect an option will have which reads as "DHCPUNICAST=ON" than of a single "DHCPUNICAST" keyword. For shell commands you can obtain the necessary context of what the single keyword does by entering "ConfigureNetInterface ?", but the same is not possible with icon tool types. Some people may check the manual, but as a rule, they tend to spend their time elsewhere, probably dissatisfied with the general usability of Roadshow
I see what you mean, but expected behaviour in shell arguments and tooltypes will differ.

Alternatively, DHCPUNICAST could be merged into DHCP as a CONFIGURE parameter. DHCPUNICAST implies DHCP to begin with, so supplying it separately should be unnecessary.

BTW, last night I had troubles getting a lease, until I retyped the DHCPUNICAST line in the interface definition in ALL CAPS. How sensitive is the parser for those files?
idrougge is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 January 2017, 16:16   #102
Estrayk
Registered User

Estrayk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 74
Hello, I post just to say that I've bought roadshow today and Ive installed.
All works like a charm with prism2.device

Vampire 600 V2 + Zyxel PCMCIA Wifi.

Thanks to Olaf for his work.
Estrayk is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Roadshow Shutdown Issue manic23 support.Apps 21 09 May 2016 15:29
Roadshow 68K - Needs your support! mech Amiga scene 90 16 September 2015 01:01
Roadshow Update released AndreasM News 0 11 November 2013 14:44
Trying to run RoadShow Retrofan support.Apps 10 10 May 2013 21:00
The FULL version of Roadshow is NOW available to buy AndreasM News 28 25 January 2013 17:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17669 seconds with 11 queries