English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 September 2016, 10:37   #41
meynaf
68k wisdom
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon (France)
Age: 44
Posts: 2,155
Total Commander can handle lzh files, including that "DirWork162.lzh" from Aminet.
meynaf is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 September 2016, 10:38   #42
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
Winrar has had lzh support for quite some time as far as I can recall. Are you thinking about lzx instead? Because Winrar doesn't handle those.
Belgarath is offline  
Old 29 September 2016, 12:05   #43
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 161
I think they are lzx compressed with the lha file extension and that is why windows utils are having a hard time. Not sure exactly.

7-zip had decompressed many lha files for me except a few. DirWork was one of the few.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 29 September 2016, 12:30   #44
meynaf
68k wisdom
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon (France)
Age: 44
Posts: 2,155
It's not lzx. It's old lh1 compression.
meynaf is offline  
Old 29 September 2016, 15:33   #45
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney / London
Age: 40
Posts: 7,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belgarath View Post
Are you thinking about lzx instead? Because Winrar doesn't handle those.
Yeah probably Belgo; I was exhausted last night when posting
DamienD is online now  
Old 29 September 2016, 16:52   #46
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,432
WinRAR 4.20 unpacks quietly archives LHA and LZH, to unpack archives LZX on Windows you can use W95unlzx

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 05 October 2016 at 21:04.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 29 September 2016, 17:47   #47
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
WinRAR 4.20 unpacks quietly archives LHA and LZH, to unpack archives LZX on Windows you can use W95unlzx
Most excellent. Will have to give it a try.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 29 September 2016, 17:58   #48
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 16,386
I have been running into some issues with DirWork yesterday after unpacking some files. Seemed to me like the program wouldn't re-allocate used RAM after it was done with depacking, so I'm not sure now about recommendation.

It ate almost 10MB of my Fast RAM in no time! And I had to restart the machine to recover them.
Akira is offline  
Old 29 September 2016, 18:13   #49
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I have been running into some issues with DirWork yesterday after unpacking some files. Seemed to me like the program wouldn't re-allocate used RAM after it was done with depacking, so I'm not sure now about recommendation.

It ate almost 10MB of my Fast RAM in no time! And I had to restart the machine to recover them.
Did you check your ram drive? Possible it ess writing to there. Someone here gave me commands to redirect ram drive to hdd drawer that I use when I run it to those kinds of issues. I can post letter today if you want or someone could beat me to it. It might even exist already in this past someplace.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 29 September 2016, 18:48   #50
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 16,386
I WAS using the RAM drive, but cleared it and the RAM was gone anyway, DW had eaten it and never released it back.
Redirecting RAM disk to a hard drive is pointless. If you are doing it to save RAM, you don't even need to activate it and it will take no memory. Just don't copy files on it. But remember RAM Disk only occupies in RAM as much as you put in it, it's not like a RAD.

Last edited by Akira; 29 September 2016 at 20:04.
Akira is offline  
Old 29 September 2016, 19:01   #51
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 161
I come across some programs that want to decompress to ram first. I only have 1 mb total, less than that once all booted up. So when a program decompress to ram and I run out of ram in the process? I redirect ram to hdd and let it do its thing albeit slowly. When done, I put it back to default. So for me, it isn't pointless.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Player Manager File Error Fiery Phoenix support.Games 23 23 July 2016 15:33
RO (file manager) key radzik request.Apps 19 07 January 2011 01:55
KX Light - Linux Editor destroys config-file!? martinalexander support.OtherUAE 50 09 October 2008 23:00
Bundesliga Manager Pro / The Manager thor HOL data problems 2 17 March 2007 22:45
A4K postage weight? Heavyweight7t6 MarketPlace 2 24 June 2006 04:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27230 seconds with 12 queries