English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 September 2016, 17:00   #1
Steve
FreelanceAndroidDeveloper
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 2,103
Getting 'Workbench is not validated' using HDF

I am receiving a checksum error and 'Workbench is not validated' error after booting up my Workbench 3.9 HDF file.

I didn't think it was possible to get checksum errors on HDF files. This has never happened to me before. What do you think has caused the error?

More importantly how can I fix it?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	023.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	94.2 KB
ID:	49861  
Steve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 September 2016, 17:39   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,508
This is file system checksum, not harddisk checksum. Harddisk checksum errors are impossible, file sytem works like always.

DiskSalv should be able to fix it.
thomas is offline  
Old 09 September 2016, 18:54   #3
Steve
FreelanceAndroidDeveloper
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 2,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
This is file system checksum, not harddisk checksum. Harddisk checksum errors are impossible, file sytem works like always.

DiskSalv should be able to fix it.
OK thanks, I'll give it a try.
Steve is offline  
Old 09 September 2016, 18:55   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,528
Take backup of the HDF first. (if something goes wrong)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 09 September 2016, 19:02   #5
Steve
FreelanceAndroidDeveloper
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 2,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Take backup of the HDF first. (if something goes wrong)
Yes I should probably have done that first. Disksalv seemed to fix the problem though. Thanks.

I think it may have been when I was playing Dungeon Master WHDLoad and saved the game. The error seemed to be located in that folder. Is it just one of those things that can't be prevented and happens occasionally?
Steve is offline  
Old 09 September 2016, 19:30   #6
paul1981
Registered User

paul1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: England
Posts: 121
Error could be caused by power loss/ending emulation immediately when writing to the disk as with a real FFS Amiga partition.

Disksalv should be safe to use providing that your partition is 2GB or less, and the partition is with the first 4GB of the drive (or HDF).
paul1981 is offline  
Old 09 September 2016, 19:33   #7
paul1981
Registered User

paul1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: England
Posts: 121
@Steve

Use PFS or SFS, and never worry about invalid partitions again.
paul1981 is offline  
Old 09 September 2016, 19:35   #8
Steve
FreelanceAndroidDeveloper
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 2,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul1981 View Post
Error could be caused by power loss/ending emulation immediately when writing to the disk as with a real FFS Amiga partition.

Disksalv should be safe to use providing that your partition is 2GB or less, and the partition is with the first 4GB of the drive (or HDF).
My Workbench file is 500MB so was safe luckily.

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul1981 View Post
@Steve

Use PFS or SFS, and never worry about invalid partitions again.
Not sure if I dare change the partition type. Could it go wrong? How easy is it?
Steve is offline  
Old 09 September 2016, 20:02   #9
meynaf
68k wisdom
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon (France)
Age: 44
Posts: 2,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
I think it may have been when I was playing Dungeon Master WHDLoad and saved the game. The error seemed to be located in that folder. Is it just one of those things that can't be prevented and happens occasionally?
If it's just Dungeon Master, there are better installs than the whdload one.
meynaf is offline  
Old 09 September 2016, 20:54   #10
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
Not sure if I dare change the partition type. Could it go wrong? How easy is it?
Changing file system makes the partition unformatted. You have to backup all files before the change and restore them afterwards.

But you are in emulated environment. Just make a second HDF with PFS and copy all files from the old to the new one.

But be warned: PFS and SFS are resistant against validation errors. But they can become corrupted, too. And then usually everything is lost. FFS is the best regarding data safety.

Making a backup us most easy with emulation. Just duplicate the HDF and there you are.
thomas is offline  
Old 09 September 2016, 21:38   #11
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,581
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Yep, copying and pasting hdf's is great on windows. I'm always making that to start again when I want to change things.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 10 September 2016, 17:10   #12
Steve
FreelanceAndroidDeveloper
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 2,103
Thanks, I might stick as I am then for now and maybe change to PFS in the near future.
Steve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Volume Games is not Validated? UK-Wobbie support.Other 3 24 November 2011 00:04
Classic Workbench hdf to real Amiga hdd vcheck support.WinUAE 8 18 May 2011 18:00
a1200hd: volume work is not validated jolly11 support.Hardware 2 11 February 2009 06:54
Why HDF for a Workbench setup? Kodoichi project.Green Amiga Alien GUIDES 13 05 August 2007 22:49
System is not validated! FFS (and I dont mean fast file system!) Macca support.Hardware 11 11 June 2007 13:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16270 seconds with 12 queries