English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 January 2003, 10:09   #1
Perseid
 
Posts: n/a
New versions of WinUAE crash WinXP

I've been away for a while, and I just discovered that all versions above 0.8.22R1 crash for me upon running them.

AppName: winuae.exe AppVer: 0.8.22.2 ModName: ntdll.dll
ModVer: 5.1.2600.0 Offset: 00017f26

I have:
WinXP Pro (no service pack)
Athlon XP 1500
512Mb RAM
VisionTek Xtasy GeForce4 MX440-64MB
SB Audigy
DirectX 9.0

0.8.22R1 works fine and none of the more recent ones do.
 
AdSense AdSense  




Old 23 January 2003, 11:12   #2
Bobbin
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 49
It runs great on my WinXP, it could be related to DirectX9.0. Try uninstalling it with DX9 Uninstaller - http://www.3dcenter.de/downloads/dir...installer.php. It's not needed anyways for any game or app right now and causes more troubles than benefits.
Bobbin is offline  
Old 23 January 2003, 12:34   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 14,232
I have had DX9 since rc0 and I never had any problems with it..

Quote:
I've been away for a while, and I just discovered that all versions above 0.8.22R1 crash for me upon running them.
When does it crash?

Delete configurations/default.uae and run with default configuration. Does it still crash?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 January 2003, 12:46   #4
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
Is the newest winUAE optimized for DX9? In that case I guess I should go ahead and install DX9 see if that resolves the occational 1 minute hang before emulation start issue I'm having.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 23 January 2003, 12:54   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 14,232
Quote:
Is the newest winUAE optimized for DX9
No.Graphics uses DirectDraw 7 features and input handling needs DirectInput 8.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 January 2003, 13:04   #6
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
Ok then, no emergency upgrades needed.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 23 January 2003, 15:50   #7
Perseid
 
Posts: n/a
Well, I figured out exactly what it was that was crashing me. Apparently there is a newly imposed limit on how long a config file description can be. I don't know what the limit is(I bet it's 128), but all I know for sure is that a 140 character description in a .UAE caused the program to crash.
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 1.2.0 on WinXP SP 2 seems to constantly lose the hard drive. VectorPope support.WinUAE 3 25 April 2006 01:13
Adding disks to WinUAE on a running PC with WinXP Shoonay support.WinUAE 6 02 February 2006 21:40
Does WinUAE always need ASPI on WinXP ? thomas support.WinUAE 1 19 May 2004 17:38
Printing in WINUAE (in WInXP) necromia support.WinUAE 0 20 July 2003 20:13
WinUAE Crashes on WinXP Doozy support.WinUAE 1 08 December 2001 17:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11039 seconds with 11 queries