English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 August 2016, 14:49   #1
Excelle
Junior Member
Excelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Wolverhampton/UK
Age: 36
Posts: 108
Black screen on F12 menu

I recently upgraded to Windows 10 and a new graphics card. Now whenever I hit F12 to bring up the menu, I just get a black screen, and it's quite hard to get back into the emulation.

Do I need to reconfigure something or do I have a problem? Let me know if you need more information!
Excelle is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 August 2016, 14:54   #2
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,335
Yeah i had that too, but for full screen mode, i just used CNTR-ALT-DEL to close the program.
Amigajay is offline  
Old 17 August 2016, 15:25   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,531
Crappy display driver most likely. Also don't use DirectDraw in fullscreen, it is usually very badly supported in later Windows/driver versions.

EDIT: pre-emptive answer: yes, you need to install DX9. Yes, even if you have Windows 10. (Unless you haven't already installed some game that installs it automatically)

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 17 August 2016 at 16:48.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 17 August 2016, 23:25   #4
Excelle
Junior Member
Excelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Wolverhampton/UK
Age: 36
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Crappy display driver most likely. Also don't use DirectDraw in fullscreen, it is usually very badly supported in later Windows/driver versions.

EDIT: pre-emptive answer: yes, you need to install DX9. Yes, even if you have Windows 10. (Unless you haven't already installed some game that installs it automatically)
I'm pretty sure I had DX9 already, but I downloaded the runtimes and reinstalled it regardless, as well as updating to the latest nVidia drivers. Same result sadly.

I've attached a dxdiag and a winuaelog.txt if that helps.
Attached Files
File Type: 7z DxDiag.7z (17.1 KB, 19 views)
Excelle is offline  
Old 18 August 2016, 00:30   #5
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 38
Posts: 623
Try to set from 50Hz to 60Hz or default in display panel if possible.

Had some trouble with a black screen in fullscreen 50Hz with a few older nvidia drivers.
Not really the same error. When it changed from pal during boot to P96 (50->60) the screen got black.
After setting it to default in uae and changing the monitor refreshrate in windows to 50Hz it worked for some strange reason in 50Hz without a black screen. Even if the monitor reports 60Hz in fullscreen P96 modes.

ATM it runs just fine no matter whats set in windows or the emu.But who knows for how long...^^
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 18 August 2016, 01:38   #6
Excelle
Junior Member
Excelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Wolverhampton/UK
Age: 36
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Sykes View Post
Try to set from 50Hz to 60Hz or default in display panel if possible.

Had some trouble with a black screen in fullscreen 50Hz with a few older nvidia drivers.
Not really the same error. When it changed from pal during boot to P96 (50->60) the screen got black.
After setting it to default in uae and changing the monitor refreshrate in windows to 50Hz it worked for some strange reason in 50Hz without a black screen. Even if the monitor reports 60Hz in fullscreen P96 modes.

ATM it runs just fine no matter whats set in windows or the emu.But who knows for how long...^^
Spot on! I switched it up to 144Hz and it worked fine from that point onward. Thanks a lot!
Excelle is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Full-screen mode black screen with Default refresh rate mark_k support.WinUAE 4 16 February 2016 20:29
[FOUND: PHANTASIE III!] 2D RPG game with map screen, "black background combat screen" Artifex 28 Looking for a game name ? 1 22 May 2014 17:42
F12 menu appears even if WinUAE is not in focus thomas support.WinUAE 9 14 August 2010 23:44
Early Startup menu screen -A600 kipper2k support.Hardware 11 28 June 2009 18:02
Unreal, music from credits/menu screen s2325 request.Modules 3 15 July 2008 00:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14677 seconds with 12 queries