English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 August 2016, 10:06   #1
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
Sample Sounds with emulated Amiga OS3.9

hi there,

I wonder, if there is a solution, to use tools like "Techno Turbo Sound", to sample some sound in an emulated environment, without special hardware (besides a simple microphone)

Did somebody found a way to do it?

Which software/hardware? is recommended?

Cheers!
elowan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 August 2016, 15:17   #2
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
hmmmm, is this too crazy, even for the EAB ;P ???
elowan is offline  
Old 09 August 2016, 16:26   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,682
winuae has (crap quality, someday I'll fix it) default audio in to Amiga sound sampler emulation.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 10 August 2016, 09:41   #4
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
Oh, that“s bad so quality will be worse, than it has been on original amiga, right?

How can I test/use the "Amiga sound sampler emulation"?


best regards
elowan is offline  
Old 10 August 2016, 10:08   #5
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,777
in winuae you find it under: IO Ports --> Sampler (Parallel Port)
for fs-uae you can try the winuae variables ( as seen with the clipboard):

win32.samplersoundcard=0
win32.samplersoundcardname=Primary Sound Capture Driver
win32.samplersoundcardname.utf8=Primary Sound Capture Driver

or:

uae_win32.samplersoundcard=0
uae_win32.samplersoundcardname=Primary Sound Capture Driver
uae_win32.samplersoundcardname.utf8=Primary Sound Capture Driver

no idea if this will work.
emufan is offline  
Old 10 August 2016, 10:24   #6
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
hey, thanks a lot - will have a look later, when I“m at home
elowan is offline  
Old 10 August 2016, 14:34   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,682
Crap quality = outside world vs emulated world audio timing will drift, snaps and pops etc..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 10 August 2016, 14:39   #8
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
oh - I think then it won“t be usable for sample tunes for use in a tracker... thanks anyway!
elowan is offline  
Old 10 August 2016, 19:03   #9
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 38
Posts: 623
I know its not the same thing.
But you could still emulate a Toccata and use that to record sound on the amiga side.
Worked for me but records only in 8bit(mono/stereo) and 16bit(µLaw) @ 48KHz. Anything else failed on playback.
BUT, no snaps no Pops, and not a big deal as there are many tools to convert it to something tracker friendly.

All you have to do is setup a source like the "what I hear"(wave source) in Windows.
Start a music player with sounds to sample.
Now start the Workbench, install the toccata software and record whatever you like.
As record source for Toccata I selected MIX.

Use the mediakeys on the keyboard to controll the windows player from within the emu.
You could even record the Amiga sound itself, as long as whatever you play is not messing with the multitasking.
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 11 August 2016, 08:49   #10
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
hey, thank you very much!

I try to comprehend, what you posted...

What tool should I use to convert s sample (maybe from windows software) into something tracker friendly?

What format does "Protracker" or "Soundtracker" support?


cheers
elowan is offline  
Old 11 August 2016, 15:44   #11
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,725
There is at least on threat that treats converting 16bit wav samples to 8bit on a pc.
Quote:
What format does "Protracker" or "Soundtracker" support?
8svx mono in the range of about 4kHz to 28kHz. RAW should also work but I wouldn`t recommend it.
daxb is offline  
Old 11 August 2016, 15:59   #12
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 38
Posts: 623
Ok...
1.
Once you have the Toccata and AHI up and running there shoud be a tool called "Toccata Record"
I did set it to µLaw - 48000Hz to record sound.
Record something and see if it works. Maybe you have to find the right windows sound source.
Dont forget to unmute it. ;-)

2.
Once you hear someting if you playback the recording(from within Tocc.Rec.) download "SoundBox"(from aminet).
Load the Sample you saved and change it from singed to unsinged(Amiga+f).
It will sound like crap without that treatment.
Now save it as IFF/mono/8bit.

3.
Download "Samplemanager" (also on aminet).
Load the IFF sample you saved in SoundBox and resample it to 22050 by pressing Amiga+r or select it from the menu. Save the file as 8svx,mono,22050Hz...
Output-format can be set in Prefs menu.

The resulting file should work as a sample in Protracker.
I did a quick test with MLine editor wich also loads PT mods and the file I created played fine as I replaced a sample in some random mod.

Sorry if thats a bit complicated. But these are the tools I had on my HDD.

PS: I bet you can google for "free windows sound converter" on your own. ^^
If not here is some help. http://bfy.tw/7AYv

But dont save it as 8SVX on the Amiga side if you want to load it in a Windows enviroment.
"Samplemanager" does also save(and load) in WAV or even MP3. An easy way to swap samples between PC and Amiga...

Last edited by Michael Sykes; 11 August 2016 at 16:18.
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 11 August 2016, 16:10   #13
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Sykes View Post
Ok...
1.
Once you have the Toccata and AHI up and running there shoud be a tool called "Toccata Record"
I did set it to µLaw - 48000Hz to record sound.
Record something and see if it works. Maybe you have to find the right windows sound source.
Dont forget to unmute it. ;-)

2.
Once you hear someting if you playback the recording(from within Tocc.Rec.) download "SoundBox"(from aminet).
Load the Sample you saved and change it from singed to unsinged(Amiga+f).
It will sound like crap without that treatment.
Now save it as IFF/mono/8bit.

3.
Download "Samplemanager" (also on aminet).
Load the IFF sample you saved in SoundBox and resample it to 22050 by pressing Amiga+r or select it from the menu. Save the file as 8svx,mono,22050Hz...
Output-format can be set in Prefs menu.

The resulting file should work as a sample in Protracker.
I did a quick test with MLine editor wich also loads PT mods and the file I created played fine as I replaced a sample in some random mod.

Sorry if thats a bit complicated. But these are the tools I had on my HDD.

PS: I bet you can google for "free windows sound converter" on your own. ^^
If not here is some help. http://bfy.tw/7AYv

But dont save it as 8SVX on the Amiga side if you want to load it in a Windows enviroment.
"Samplemanager" does also save in WAV or even MP3.
wow, this is explained very well - I“ll give it a shot!


Last edited by elowan; 12 August 2016 at 08:46.
elowan is offline  
Old 11 August 2016, 16:42   #14
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 38
Posts: 623
One last thing. Here I got a working Toccata library. Just in case the one you find/have doesn't work.
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=994619&postcount=11

Anything else is from the normal Toccata driver disk(i think it was zoned or on the eab ftp maybe here http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/toccata) .
And AHI can be downloaded from aminet, of course.

Edit: why not just use samplemanager to load the mp3 and cut the sample there? We are both nuts. Me for thinking about it and you for confirming to try it....

Last edited by Michael Sykes; 11 August 2016 at 19:20. Reason: Forgot a period.
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 12 August 2016, 08:49   #15
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
hehehehe

ok so... record samplpe on host (win) and copy mp3 to client (amiga). then cut and convert to 8SVX with soundmanager for use in protracker.

seems like a good solution to me
elowan is offline  
Old 12 August 2016, 14:42   #16
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 38
Posts: 623
Yup. Thats the easy way.
But not the proper way to emulate recording on real HW. (it has not really answered the initial question)
Why criple the file by using MP3?
Just use WAV. Memory is not a problem if emulators are used.

To get back to the topic...
The emulated sampler in WinUAE is ok for short samples. But the soundquality is realy not that good. And most software is imo not very intuitive.

Last edited by Michael Sykes; 12 August 2016 at 14:55.
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 12 August 2016, 15:22   #17
elowan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany
Age: 43
Posts: 324
Thanks again, Michael !

Yes, i think, you“re right about that. I think I will record my stuff in windows, transfer to emulated Amiga and work with Samplemaster and Protracker
elowan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quitting FS-UAE from within the emulated Amiga environment pipe support.FS-UAE 3 27 May 2016 22:10
Drive sounds other than the Amiga 500's? B14ck W01f request.UAE Wishlist 0 13 February 2015 03:17
Emulated Amiga Systems fatboy Retrogaming General Discussion 5 15 November 2013 10:01
Emulated Amiga 500 too slow absence support.WinUAE 10 31 May 2010 14:29
What do I need to do to get my emulated Amiga 'online'? Peanutuk support.Apps 2 06 July 2004 18:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.33265 seconds with 11 queries