English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 August 2016, 01:58   #1
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 421
Stand-alone Quake Engine Games On Amiga

There are seven games that I know of that can be run stand-alone on an Amiga using the Quake engine (Most so called Total Conversions can't).

4D Shooter



Multiplayer only, and only to be found in an obscure section of GameFront.com. Can still be found on Arc.org.

https://web.archive.org/web/20151023.../files/9009663

Alteria (Glitchy)






https://web.archive.org/web/20150215...ria/index.html

BattleMech






http://leileilol.mancubus.net/static/bmech.html

Chapter Honour (Demo)



Warhammer 40k.

https://www.quaddicted.com/files/mir...ragged.com/ch/

Unused monster model, can replace Quake Shambler.

https://web.archive.org/web/20050212...r/carnifex.htm

Extra maps - no longer available.

https://web.archive.org/web/20000517.../firebase.html

Old website.

https://web.archive.org/web/19981212...k.stomped.com/

Hack And Slash



http://hack-and-slash.sourceforge.net/
http://sourceforge.net/projects/hack...sh/2005.04.23/

OpenQuartz

http://openquartz.sourceforge.net/index.html

My updated version.

http://205.196.120.6/download/22dr89...lus_Extras.lha

More details, screenshots and extra downloads.

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=80168

Transfusion (old version)



Fails the registered Quake check, but borrowing gfx/pop.lmp from OpenQuartz solves that.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/bloo...ansfusion/1.0/
Update
http://sourceforge.net/projects/bloo...nsfusion/1.01/

Several of them borrow parts from OpenQuartz but they do not use the entire ID1 drawer, unlike Half-Life/Turok/Left4Quake e.t.c.
If anyone knows of any more please let me know. Will update this with a lot more detail later... maybe.

Last edited by James; 14 September 2016 at 13:20. Reason: More Links
James is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 September 2016, 02:59   #2
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 421
Updated first post with a bit more detail, maybe it will be more useful/interesting to someone now...
James is offline  
Old 14 September 2016, 03:53   #3
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,431
Beautiful screenshots, also nice AFA OS many link do not work, where can I download Open Quartz?

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 14 September 2016 at 11:01.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 14 September 2016, 13:17   #4
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 421
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Beautiful screenshots, also nice AFA OS
Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
many link do not work, where can I download Open Quartz?
Just tried them all and they appear to be working, archive.org can be slow sometimes... Have updated the OpenQuartz section in the first post.
James is offline  
Old 14 September 2016, 14:58   #5
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,431
Ciao James, you can add the link, will my 62 years but I can not find it, thank you.

About AFA OS (I hope an update in the future), i made a nice Video Tutorial shows how to configure WinUAE.

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 14 September 2016, 22:23   #6
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,391
James, how is your knowledge about QII mods that work on Amiga?

Im tempted to do some QII levels with Alien Breed 3d "look" so that I have something interesting to run on the Vamp once the FPU is added. ;-)
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 17 September 2016, 17:40   #7
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 421
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Ciao James, you can add the link, will my 62 years but I can not find it, thank you.
Have you found it now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
About AFA OS (I hope an update in the future), i made a nice Video Tutorial shows how to configure WinUAE.
An update to AfA would be great, but I don't think it is going to happen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
James, how is your knowledge about QII mods that work on Amiga?
Mods need conversion, AFAIK the only Mods that have been converted are available here (you still need the original mods too).

https://web.archive.org/web/20080215.../q2/j_mods.htm

Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Im tempted to do some QII levels with Alien Breed 3d "look" so that I have something interesting to run on the Vamp once the FPU is added. ;-)
That would be nice as long as you are OK with converting it (or do you mean cosmetic changes to maps/models only). It would be great if somebody could make some more levels for the Quake Mod Portal Gun.

http://www.moddb.com/mods/quake-port...portal-gun-v23

Then we could have a full fledged Portal clone on Amiga.
James is offline  
Old 17 September 2016, 17:47   #8
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,431
Quote:
Originally Posted by James View Post
Have you found it now?
Strange, but did not find anything, you can attach some links? thank you

Quote:
An update to AfA would be great, but I don't think it is going to happen.
I hope it happens soon
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 17 September 2016, 18:09   #9
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 421
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Strange, but did not find anything, you can attach some links? thank you
This is the link to my updated version of OpenQuartz for Amiga...

http://205.196.120.6/download/22dr89...lus_Extras.lha

Or are you looking for something else?
James is offline  
Old 17 September 2016, 21:16   #10
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,431
Ok thanks, if there are other engines you use I am happy to test them.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 18 September 2016, 23:01   #11
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by James View Post
Have you found it now?



An update to AfA would be great, but I don't think it is going to happen.



Mods need conversion, AFAIK the only Mods that have been converted are available here (you still need the original mods too).

https://web.archive.org/web/20080215.../q2/j_mods.htm



That would be nice as long as you are OK with converting it (or do you mean cosmetic changes to maps/models only). It would be great if somebody could make some more levels for the Quake Mod Portal Gun.

http://www.moddb.com/mods/quake-port...portal-gun-v23

Then we could have a full fledged Portal clone on Amiga.
My initial though was to simply create a AB3d inspired WAD and start making Maps that look like AB3d but not necessarily be exact recreations.
Step 2, add AB3D like monsters and sound effects.
Then if it would "pick up" it would be great to see someone attempt more advanced modifications. Custom weapons, maybe some level conversion tools etc.
We'll see.. IMO oveclocked 060 +AGA is really too low spec to run Q2 decently so it all depends on the penetration of the Vampire when it gets its long awaited FPU.

Skickat från min HTC One via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 19 September 2016, 02:10   #12
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 421
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Ok thanks, if there are other engines you use I am happy to test them.
It would be useful to test everything with Clickboom Quake to see what does and doesn't work - I think it has the same model limitations as the original DOSQuake so a Quake enhancement package I put together doesn't work with it. Model size limits were increased for GLQuake and WinQuake. GLQuake is also more limited than WinQuake in some ways...

Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
My initial though was to simply create a AB3d inspired WAD and start making Maps that look like AB3d but not necessarily be exact recreations.
Step 2, add AB3D like monsters and sound effects.
Then if it would "pick up" it would be great to see someone attempt more advanced modifications. Custom weapons, maybe some level conversion tools etc.
We'll see.. IMO oveclocked 060 +AGA is really too low spec to run Q2 decently so it all depends on the penetration of the Vampire when it gets its long awaited FPU.

Skickat från min HTC One via Tapatalk
Yes, just replacing graphics/sounds would be much simpler.
James is offline  
Old 19 September 2016, 04:36   #13
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by James View Post
It would be useful to test everything with Clickboom Quake to see what does and doesn't work - I think it has the same model limitations as the original DOSQuake so a Quake enhancement package I put together doesn't work with it. Model size limits were increased for GLQuake and WinQuake. GLQuake is also more limited than WinQuake in some ways..
Amiquake is based on WinQuake so it would be interesting to see how many of those it could run.

Also, if anyone wants to have a serious crack at a AB3D remake on 68K you can use Odamex, apparently it supports all the features you need for a faithful Port.

Last edited by NovaCoder; 19 September 2016 at 11:24.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 19 September 2016, 11:10   #14
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,431
Quote:
Originally Posted by James View Post
This is the link to my updated version of OpenQuartz for Amiga...

http://205.196.120.6/download/22dr89...lus_Extras.lha

Or are you looking for something else?
OK did some tests and I must say that the graphics in all resolutions are satisfactory, for GFX I used Wazp3D,video recording is a bit 'jerky because my older PC, I attach little test video.

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 20 September 2016, 02:51   #15
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post

Also, if anyone wants to have a serious crack at a AB3D remake on 68K you can use Odamex, apparently it supports all the features you need for a faithful Port.
Yes, I've seen the XDelusion work with Odamex. Don't know how that ended up though. But in any case, my primary interest is to work with the Q2 engine as I imagine it is going to run smoothly on the Vamp once we get that elusive FPU.
To make it more Amiga-esque I want to use something familiar and iconic to Amiga users. AB3d fits the bill. ;-)


Skickat från min HTC One via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 21 September 2016, 00:29   #16
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,431
Quote:
Originally Posted by James View Post
It would be useful to test everything with Clickboom Quake to see what does and doesn't work..
.
It seems like Quake Click Boom does not support Screens RTG (only AGA)and your MOD seems that they are not supported. MOD tested with Click Boom it worked "Your Path of Destruction (YPOD)".
GLQuake with the MOD "YPOD"It has a graphics problem on see screenshot weapons (you have an idea how to fix), the same "YPOD" with AwinQuake We see very well, i also tested the MOD "Death Mash and it goes well with both GLQuake that AwinQuake, see scereenshot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Death Mash GLQuake.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	104.2 KB
ID:	50072  

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 08 December 2016 at 01:52.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 21 September 2016, 22:37   #17
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,431
Two more successfully tested mod with AMiGA AFA OS

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 15 March 2017 at 01:43.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 22 September 2016, 22:24   #18
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,431
I'm trying to start the additional MOD also AROS, but I can not find the parameter. The AROS tests and software alone since I'm using a virtual machine "VMWare Player"

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 30 October 2016, 02:25   #19
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 421
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Amiquake is based on WinQuake so it would be interesting to see how many of those it could run.
Envenom works with AwinQuake, but crashes glQuake/WinUAE. It's a horror survival game similar to Resident Evil. Not fully finished but still playable.

https://www.quaddicted.com/files/mods/envenom.rar
[ Show youtube player ]

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
It seems like Quake Click Boom does not support Screens RTG (only AGA)and your MOD seems that they are not supported. MOD tested with Click Boom it worked "Your Path of Destruction (YPOD)".
GLQuake with the MOD "YPOD"It has a graphics problem on see screenshot weapons (you have an idea how to fix), the same "YPOD" with AwinQuake We see very well, i also tested the MOD "Death Mash and it goes well with both GLQuake that AwinQuake, see scereenshot.
I tested OpenQuartz with ClickBoom Quake a while back, it is possible to get it working, and it does support RTG screens.
That graphics problem is caused by a clash between the meshes in id1/glquake and the models in the YPOD progs drawer. To fix it delete the id1/glquake and YPOD/glquake drawers and run YPOD again. The best way to avoid most of these problems is to never run Quake directly from the id1 drawer. Create a Quake/Quake1 drawer and run Quake with the -game Quake1 parameter.
James is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: PC Engine Games shuttlepilot MarketPlace 11 11 November 2013 11:59
Amiga Quake Peter request.Other 71 29 September 2009 16:51
Quake, Quake 2 and Heretic 2 don't run after update to Mediator TX Turrican(AEB) support.Games 14 25 August 2008 22:11
Quake 2 loading problems (save-games) Bamiga2002 support.Games 12 20 March 2005 23:21
The Chaos Engine Games oldpx Nostalgia & memories 41 11 March 2002 20:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.30422 seconds with 12 queries