English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 August 2016, 18:20   #21
Tsak
Registered User

Tsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Athens
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobe View Post
Yeah I noticed that difference. But read.me on ADF says that jumping is possible with second fire button.
No, this is mentioned at the Read me in the HDD version. The Read me inside the Main Game .adf does not claim this.
Tsak is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 August 2016, 18:23   #22
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 36
Posts: 16,945
[ Show youtube player ]
s2325 is online now  
Old 08 August 2016, 18:32   #23
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 37
Posts: 2,225
Thanks for featuring our video s2325
Neil79 is offline  
Old 08 August 2016, 18:47   #24
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 34
Posts: 431
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsak View Post
No, this is mentioned at the Read me in the HDD version. The Read me inside the Main Game .adf does not claim this.
Take a look
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	readgse.png
Views:	84
Size:	11.2 KB
ID:	49339  
Cobe is offline  
Old 08 August 2016, 18:52   #25
Tsak
Registered User

Tsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Athens
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by hipoonios View Post
I'm confused. Is this a new hack or is this the final version of the hack earok started with for some time ago?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil79 View Post
A bit of both But far improved beyond its original announcement
As Neil said
Basically this is indeed the final version of what Earok started but the project has signifficantly changed in scope, size and ambition!

The original plan was just to update a few gfx pieces with ported gfx from the DS version. Instead, we got to remake from scratch the COMPLETE gfx assets of the game with either new designs, remastered originals or DS inspired ones (such as Giana herself and some enemies). On top of that a ton of other stuff and feats were added (like new logo and splash screens, intro, new palettes, new sounds, various fixes e.t.c. e.t.c.).
Tsak is offline  
Old 08 August 2016, 18:53   #26
Tsak
Registered User

Tsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Athens
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobe View Post
Take a look
Thanks man! You're right. My mistake
I'll fix this asap!
Tsak is offline  
Old 08 August 2016, 18:57   #27
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney / London
Age: 40
Posts: 7,513
Cheers for the detailed information Tsak
DamienD is online now  
Old 08 August 2016, 21:02   #28
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney / London
Age: 40
Posts: 7,513
One slight issues I had with the HD install is the icons...

All is good if you are using a Classic WB 3.1 installation (as it had "NewIcons" or "GlowIcons" installed) so looks awesome like this:



If however, you are using just a standard WB 3.1 installation the icons look like this:



Anyway, I've used thomas's great little tool "oldlikenew" (http://thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online...oldlikenew.lha) to convert the icons to standard ones so they now look like this in a standard WB 3.1 installation instead of dots:



I've attached these for anyone else who wants them

You just do the following:

... Extract the usual "Giana_Sisters_SE.lha" to your HD install.
... From inside the attached "Giana_StandardIcons.lha" do the following:

1) Copy "Giana Sisters SE.info" to outside the folder.
2) From "InsideFolder" copy "Giana Sisters SE.info" to inside the folder.
Attached Files
File Type: lha Giana_StandardIcons.lha (17.5 KB, 20 views)
DamienD is online now  
Old 08 August 2016, 21:05   #29
Tsak
Registered User

Tsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Athens
Posts: 131
Thanks DamienD!
Tsak is offline  
Old 08 August 2016, 21:50   #30
viddi
Moderator

viddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 37
Posts: 3,344
Fantastic! Thank you VERY much, guys.
viddi is offline  
Old 08 August 2016, 22:16   #31
bubbob42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Aachen, Germany
Posts: 312
The game looks gorgeous now - great job!
bubbob42 is offline  
Old 08 August 2016, 22:18   #32
liviux76
Registered User

liviux76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: BO/Italy
Posts: 496
Hello and thanks for the game!

Unfortunately I just tried it (twice... the hdd version) and the game froze just after the intro when it shows the "reimagine games" logo.

Am I the only one that had this issue so far?

I am using a "customized" CW3.9 on real Amiga with Blizzard 1260/66, FastATA and Indivision AGA (plus some more things).

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!
liviux76 is offline  
Old 08 August 2016, 22:28   #33
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney / London
Age: 40
Posts: 7,513
Quote:
Originally Posted by liviux76 View Post
Hello and thanks for the game!

Unfortunately I just tried it (twice... the hdd version) and the game froze just after the intro when it shows the "reimagine games" logo.

Am I the only one that had this issue so far?

I am using a "customized" CW3.9 on real Amiga with Blizzard 1260/66, FastATA and Indivision AGA (plus some more things).

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!
Assuming you haven't done so already, when you see the "reimagine games" logo just press your fire button and it should continue

...mind you, I've only tested in WinUAE (using an "A1200 - 2MB Chip & 4MB Fast RAM" configuration) with a Classic Workbench 3.1 install & a standard Workbench 3.1 install.
DamienD is online now  
Old 08 August 2016, 22:29   #34
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Sykes View Post
Thanks. Had it for my C64 and never played the Amiga version during my childhood.
This refurbished version gives me a good reason to try it on the Miggy.
Same here actually. The Amiga version was only slightly better looking than the C64 version which I played to death back in the day.
Never felt the need to play it on the Amiga... Until now ;-)

Skickat frn min HTC One via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 08 August 2016, 23:17   #35
PARALAX
Registered User

PARALAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wuppertal / Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 23
Send a message via ICQ to PARALAX
Wonderful graphical conversation of the Nintendo DS port. No need of any additional fast RAM when playing the disk version. And the intro reminds me to the fantastic DS-Version as well.

Only the Cracktro is a bit strange for me, even because it's a free game. An additional Trainer would have been very nice there. Maybe there will be a new version with new main title, in-game music and AGA enhanced in-game graphics as well?

This game will be playable on the forthcoming Gamescom 2016 on the Radio PARALAX stand in the Retrogaming area in Cologne as well. I'm currently copying it on my A1200 for the visitors.
PARALAX is offline  
Old 08 August 2016, 23:31   #36
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 905
the whdload version crash after intro here
can anyone confirm?
Sandro is offline  
Old 08 August 2016, 23:32   #37
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 6,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by PARALAX View Post
Wonderful graphical conversation of the Nintendo DS port. No need of any additional fast RAM when playing the disk version. And the intro reminds me to the fantastic DS-Version as well.

Only the Cracktro is a bit strange for me, even because it's a free game. An additional Trainer would have been very nice there. Maybe there will be a new version with new main title, in-game music and AGA enhanced in-game graphics as well?

This game will be playable on the forthcoming Gamescom 2016 on the Radio PARALAX stand in the Retrogaming area in Cologne as well. I'm currently copying it on my A1200 for the visitors.
It has a cracktro as it had to be cracked
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 08 August 2016, 23:57   #38
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney / London
Age: 40
Posts: 7,513
The only other very small gripe with this most excellent release is as follow... In the original:

a) Giana has a purple bow in her hair and after powering up has yellow / purple punk hair.
b) Maria has a green bow in her hair and after powering up has yellow / green punk hair.

This makes it easy to differentiate if it's PL1 or PL2 playing from a quick glance (not that you would really forget)

In this SE edition both players look exactly the same...
DamienD is online now  
Old 09 August 2016, 00:20   #39
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 58
Posts: 3,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
One slight issues I had with the HD install is the icons...

All is good if you are using a Classic WB 3.1 installation (as it had "NewIcons" or "GlowIcons" installed) so looks awesome like this:



If however, you are using just a standard WB 3.1 installation the icons look like this:



Anyway, I've used thomas's great little tool "oldlikenew" (http://thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online...oldlikenew.lha) to convert the icons to standard ones so they now look like this in a standard WB 3.1 installation instead of dots:



I've attached these for anyone else who wants them

You just do the following:

... Extract the usual "Giana_Sisters_SE.lha" to your HD install.
... From inside the attached "Giana_StandardIcons.lha" do the following:

1) Copy "Giana Sisters SE.info" to outside the folder.
2) From "InsideFolder" copy "Giana Sisters SE.info" to inside the folder.
(Your PM box is full so I'll post this here)

WOWSER!! Cool, I thought this was still being worked on

What about PeterK's icon.library, would that work with these icons?

Nice work though, you are definitely on a roll (Downhill assisted by the looks of it)
Arnie is offline  
Old 09 August 2016, 00:23   #40
Gzegzolka
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Warszawa / Polska
Posts: 796
I have just finished the HD version, both HD and CD32 works fine in winuae
Gzegzolka is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Giana Sisters: Special Edition - Enhanced edition for the Amiga Neil79 project.CD32 Conversion 14 09 August 2016 00:55
Hi there, can someone please have a look @ my Giana Sisters ? Thank you ! UrokoSakanabito Nostalgia & memories 12 15 August 2012 22:34
amiga 1200 giana sisters problem draganklep support.Games 7 09 March 2012 21:43
The Giana Sisters v1.0 and v1.1 mr.vince HOL data problems 0 07 January 2010 15:01
WTB: Giana Sisters C-64/Amiga martin-flash MarketPlace 1 22 February 2008 06:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24794 seconds with 12 queries