English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 January 2003, 14:21   #1
Tbird
 
Posts: n/a
Basic Question about AmigaOS 3.1

Ok, I have just installed AmigaOS 3.1 by myself and have some basic question, that I hope someone can answer:

1. How do I get a background picture, I have Scalos 1.2b?

2. What is the best dock tool for AmigaOS 3.1, because I tried to use tool manager and when my dock was completed there come up an icon on the desktop and is stuck (Couldnít move it) and I want to have all my docks in one folder called Games?

3. Was it the best program to unpack LHA files?

4. I have downloaded alot of Icon Packages for games, how do I use them?

5. Is Scalos the best Workbench Replacement?

6. How can I make a Startmenu like I have in AIAB and Windows to PC?

7. How do I uninstall a program in AmigaOS 3.1?

Thanks Anyway
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 January 2003, 15:41   #2
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Quote:
4. I have downloaded alot of Icon Packages for games, how do I use them?
Install Icon Image copier

Goto the bottom half of the page (scroll down until you see the title
Using Icon image copier for OS2.0-3.5) at: http://jambo.abime.net/howto.php?view=11

Uncompress your icon package to a temp directory, run Icon Image copier, drag and drop your new icon onto copy on workbench desktop screen, then drag the old icon to change onto paste (also found on workbench desktop screen)
Quote:
5. Is Scalos the best Workbench Replacement?
Yes
Quote:
7. How do I uninstall a program in AmigaOS 3.1?
Not very easily. You have to delete each file by hand and sometimes have to delete a line from the startup-sequence or user startup. I would make a backup of your hdf file or directories from windows (i.e. your workbench.hdf or the root directory such as games) and then try something out. If it goes wrong then delete the hdf file and replace with your backup.

To uninstall a game you installed to a HD-Games directory, goto that directory via windows, open hd-game find the directory with the game name and delete the file named nameofgamedir.info (i.e megaball.info and megaball folder)

Hope this helps

Get back to you on 1, 2, 3 and 6 (after I worked it out) unless someone else steps in and helps. (retro, Akira? )

Last edited by Paul; 22 January 2003 at 15:49.
Paul is offline  
Old 22 January 2003, 16:01   #3
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,959
Re: Basic Question about AmigaOS 3.1

Quote:
Originally posted by Tbird
1. How do I get a background picture, I have Scalos 1.2b?
Scalos has a preferences panel for this. Check out sys:Prefs/Scalos (sys: being the partition where you installed your WB!).
Quote:
2. What is the best dock tool for AmigaOS 3.1, because I tried to use tool manager and when my dock was completed there come up an icon on the desktop and is stuck (Couldnít move it) and I want to have all my docks in one folder called Games?
ToolManager is the best, but I also had problems running it. Dunno about how good are the others, AmiDock might be OK.
Quote:
3. Was it the best program to unpack LHA files?
The commandline LHA is. If you don't like commandlines, you can download WizARC from the Aminet, this is a GUI for LHA and other archivers (you will still need the LHA commandline executable for it to run, and I think it requires MUI). Another archiver GUI that works fine and doesn't need MUI is Archie. I use it in my A600 and it works great.
Quote:
4. I have downloaded alot of Icon Packages for games, how do I use them?
Use Paul's method or use NewIcon's included CopyIcon utility.
Quote:
5. Is Scalos the best Workbench Replacement?
Not sure, I don't use it.
Quote:
6. How can I make a Startmenu like I have in AIAB and Windows to PC?
With programs on the Aminet like AmiStart or something like that. Do a search for start menu and many will pop up (why you want to have this piece of garbage in your amiga is beyond me, though )
Quote:
7. How do I uninstall a program in AmigaOS 3.1?
I disagree with Paul here, for uninstalling an Amiga app is very easy. You just delete the program's dir, delete a startup sequence line (if any exist) and that's all, in most cases. If files are copied to L: or LIBS: or DEVS:, you could delete them too if you know which ones they are. Most programs installed with Installer give you the option to log actions to a file, so just by reading the log you would know what to delete.

Anyway, if you just delete the prog's dir, you won't fuck up anything, like in Windows
Akira is offline  
Old 22 January 2003, 16:34   #4
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Quote:
1. How do I get a background picture, I have Scalos 1.2b?
As Akira said but in more detailÖ

First find your pattern (aminet is best place to look) and copy the file into i.e. sys:Prefs/patterns

If you installed scalos via my guide then

1. Open System then prefs dir. Next double click Scalos pattern.

If not then you will find Scalos pattern where Akira said.

2. Click New Pattern

3. Tick Use GUIGfx

4. move slider to 1 (for desktop screen or slider to 3 if you want a background in all open windows)

5. Set to titled if itís a small graphic you want repeated over the whole area.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pattern.png
Views:	535
Size:	20.4 KB
ID:	4492  
Paul is offline  
Old 22 January 2003, 16:36   #5
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
7. select your file and click ok see pic. Then do all 2 to 7 again but with the slider set to 3.

8. Click save when done.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image2.png
Views:	377
Size:	4.5 KB
ID:	4493  

Last edited by Paul; 22 January 2003 at 17:48.
Paul is offline  
Old 22 January 2003, 16:41   #6
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Re: Re: Basic Question about AmigaOS 3.1

Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
I disagree with Paul here, for uninstalling an Amiga app is very easy. You just delete the program's dir, delete a startup sequence line (if any exist) and that's all, in most cases. If files are copied to L: or LIBS: or DEVS:, you could delete them too if you know which ones they are. Most programs installed with Installer give you the option to log actions to a file, so just by reading the log you would know what to delete.

Anyway, if you just delete the prog's dir, you won't fuck up anything, like in Windows
@Akira

I agree with you on a real Amiga but it's a bit more difficult on emulation.

If you are new to the Amiga OS and just use windows then it's not so easy.

I said to delete via windows to stop the problem of not being able to delete files from within workbench due to windows being a pain.

I suppose if you only used hdf files then you donít have this problem.

Last edited by Paul; 22 January 2003 at 17:44.
Paul is offline  
Old 22 January 2003, 17:41   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,959
Ahh, good points there.. I talk from a "real thing" point of view only

Still, looking at the installer's logs does not hurt, even if deleting through windows (so you can clean the startup sequence )
Akira is offline  
Old 22 January 2003, 18:46   #8
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
Re: Basic Question about AmigaOS 3.1

Quote:
Originally posted by Tbird

5. Is Scalos the best Workbench Replacement?

6. How can I make a Startmenu like I have in AIAB and Windows to PC?

No it's not (personal opinion guys), Dopus Magellan is better, it has built in options for toolmanagers (button banks), startbars, Archive handling (just drag and drop to archive or extract), Icon copying, backdrop pics etc...

There was a version of Dopus 5.5 released on a CU CD, but that version is a bit dodgy, you really want V5.80 or V5.81 for OS 3.1, It can be found on the net if you hunt hard enough
Severin is offline  
Old 22 January 2003, 19:20   #9
Tbird
 
Posts: n/a
ok,can you download Dopus Magellan free from the internet, because then I will try to compare it with Scalos????

Maybe I will try to hunt for it:

Thank you for all the help guys
 
Old 22 January 2003, 19:39   #10
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Dopus Magellan
http://www.gpsoft.com.au/AmigaIndex.html#Products

Ermm, no does not look like it's free
Paul is offline  
Old 22 January 2003, 19:57   #11
Tbird
 
Posts: n/a
ok

I have trouble with background images!!

I follow your guide, but when I press save nothing happens

have tried almost eyerything

Last edited by Tbird; 22 January 2003 at 23:02.
 
Old 22 January 2003, 20:16   #12
Tbird
 
Posts: n/a
Another thing:

I tried to download wizarc from aminet, but there is no installer in it???
can anyone post wizarc to the zone

Last edited by Tbird; 22 January 2003 at 20:28.
 
Old 23 January 2003, 15:15   #13
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Quote:
Originally posted by Tbird
ok

I have trouble with background images!!

I follow your guide, but when I press save nothing happens

have tried almost eyerything
I don't know why it's not working for you. I was actually going through it on my computer as I was writing the instructions for you. It works fine for me. I don't think I can help you further with this, but perhaps someone else can.
Paul is offline  
Old 23 January 2003, 18:42   #14
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
What type of image are you trying to load? Have you got the correct datatypes installed?
Severin is offline  
Old 23 January 2003, 18:52   #15
blackcornflake
Moderator
blackcornflake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cereal box
Posts: 759
Quote:
Originally posted by Severin
What type of image are you trying to load? Have you got the correct datatypes installed?
Tbird and I have discussed this strange problem on IRC, and the picture file is apparently in straightforward .IFF format.

Quite why Scalos won't allow this file to be loaded and displayed is a mystery to me atm.
blackcornflake is offline  
Old 23 January 2003, 20:22   #16
Tbird
 
Posts: n/a
Hey Severin

I use .iff files to be loaded as background!!

Where can I see what datatypes I have installed and what is datatypes?

What datatypes do I need?
 
Old 23 January 2003, 21:59   #17
Korodny
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 657
@Tbird:

Quote:
I use .iff files to be loaded as background!!
If Scalos refuses to load an IFF picture, the problem might be either

1. lack of memory

- how much Chip- and FastRAM do you have installed?
- how big is the picture, how many colours does it have?

2. lack of free pens (shouldn't be an issue, but I don't know how Scalos handles this)

- how many colours does the Scalos screen have?
- try to increase number of colors and retry loading the picture


Quote:
Where can I see what datatypes I have installed and what is datatypes?
Datatypes are a part of AmigaOS. A datatype can recognise and decode a certain file format (e.g. there's a JPEG datatype, a GIF datatype, a WAV datatype etc.). (Nearly) all Amiga applications support datatypes for loading files: e.g. if you have a PNG datatype installed, all your gfx programs will be able to load PNG pictures. Lots of datatypes are available in Aminet's "util/dtype" directory.

Each datatype consists of two parts:

1. The datatype "descriptor": this file contains a description of the file format the actual datatype can decode (e.g. there's a JPEG descriptor that can be used to identify JPEG pictures which will then be decoded by the JPEG datatype). Datatype descriptors are stored in "SYS:Devs/Datatypes/".

2. The datatype: This is the routine that will do the decoding work. These files are called <format>.datatype and are located in "SYS:Classes/Datatypes/"

Quote:
What datatypes do I need?
Your picture is stored in ILBM format, therefore you'll need an ILBM datatype. This should be included with AmigaOS, check if the following files are available:

SYS:Devs/Datatypes/ILBM
SYS:Devs/Datatypes/ILBM.info
SYS:Classes/Datatypes/ilbm.datatype

Additionally, the datatypes.library must be present in "SYS:Libs".
Korodny is offline  
Old 23 January 2003, 23:08   #18
Tbird
 
Posts: n/a
ok thank you for the infomartion about Datatypes

About background picture, I tried to change some of the things you said and now is working, I don't know exactly what I change, but the most important is that it working

Thanks for all the help
 
Old 23 January 2003, 23:31   #19
Tbird
 
Posts: n/a
Hello again

I have two more questions:

1. How do I make my own Game Icons, is it diffecult?

2. I play a old game called Major Motion is from 1988 and it is made for A500, but AmigaOS 3.1 is for A1200. So when I install Major Motion to the HD and play it, then the games goes very fast, is there way so I can slow down some of the old games for A500, that will be cool?

Hope I not asking to much

Thanks anyway
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CLI basic question: wildcards r0ber7 support.Other 2 18 February 2011 19:18
Basic AmigaOS 3.9 questions Kaffeine New to Emulation or Amiga scene 19 22 December 2010 17:35
Elite 2 very basic question need answered dword support.Games 3 19 July 2008 01:41
AmigaOS Noob question Rochabian New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 11 January 2007 14:15
Very basic connection question. Muzkat New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 23 February 2002 12:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28323 seconds with 12 queries