English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 July 2016, 05:45   #1
Ratteler
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Bronx
Posts: 134
What to do with 2 Intel D201GLY Motherboard Celeron?

So I picked up these 2 Intel D201GLY Motherboard Celeron 1.3 Motherboards for $10. I currently have only 512MB in each, and I'm playing with 32MB CF cards for the OS. They only have one IDE port, and a PCI Connector.

I thought their processors were socketed so swap in a P4 775 chip I had., but the Celery is soldered to the board.

I'm wondering what to do with them?

I'd like to do something Retro with them. Since they have parallel ports I was thinking of running 64HDD and using one as Mass storage device for 8 Bits, but it seems a little wasteful to limit them to that.

I wanted to Amithlon one of them, but I don't have the original CD's and have no clue where to to begin.

I would really like to make them slave machines for my A500 and Commodores.

What ideas do you guys have?

Any cool ideas for turning a PC into a retro peripheral?
Ratteler is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 July 2016, 07:18   #2
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 476
I've written some pretty extensive guides for installing Amithlon.....though you'd need to find the .iso.

The SiS Mirage 1 Video may support VESA modes, but you have a PCI slot so could add a Hardware Accelerated supported graphics card. The AC '97 audio may be supported, not all version are. The network adapter is most likely supported (Broadcom).

Last edited by SnkBitten; 23 July 2016 at 15:43.
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 24 July 2016, 00:16   #3
Ratteler
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Bronx
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnkBitten View Post
I've written some pretty extensive guides for installing Amithlon.....though you'd need to find the .iso.

The SiS Mirage 1 Video may support VESA modes, but you have a PCI slot so could add a Hardware Accelerated supported graphics card. The AC '97 audio may be supported, not all version are. The network adapter is most likely supported (Broadcom).
Cool. I have a PCI nVidia 6200 512MB Graphic card.

Now I just need the ISO.

I friggin HATE AbondonWare.
Ratteler is offline  
Old 24 July 2016, 21:51   #4
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,942
If hardware is supported, adding some 'memory could install a distro AROS as IcarOS, AspireOS o AROS Broadway; at the time the most stable distro is IcarOS Desktop

[ Show youtube player ]

[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 24 July 2016 at 21:57.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 29 July 2016, 17:15   #5
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
So, how is that retro??
Anubis is online now  
Old 20 August 2016, 10:55   #6
Ratteler
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Bronx
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
If hardware is supported, adding some 'memory could install a distro AROS as IcarOS, AspireOS o AROS Broadway; at the time the most stable distro is IcarOS Desktop

[ Show youtube player ]

[ Show youtube player ]
Is this based on a Linux? Can the system run things like GIMP, INKSCAPE, BLENDER?
Ratteler is offline  
Old 20 August 2016, 18:27   #7
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratteler View Post
So I picked up these 2 Intel D201GLY Motherboard Celeron 1.3 Motherboards for $10.

What ideas do you guys have?

Any cool ideas for turning a PC into a retro peripheral?
Yeah, keep it for future in a safe place - probably one of the last x86 safe hardware...

http://blog.invisiblethings.org/2015...6_harmful.html
pandy71 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 Hz output with Intel HD chip ? (NUC) torturedutopian support.FS-UAE 17 06 September 2014 18:14
For Sale: Intel PIII System PowerPie5000 MarketPlace 0 29 January 2010 12:49
Winuae compiled with Intel c/c++ compiler Jgames support.WinUAE 4 29 December 2009 17:41
Intel representative cant do maths alexh Retrogaming General Discussion 5 18 November 2007 23:47
Intel Compilers, anyone ? guest support.WinUAE 0 10 December 2002 13:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13131 seconds with 11 queries